• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food Finder Cornwall Food and Drink Newquay Fish Festival Choose Cornish

Restaurant Reviews in St. Mawes

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Watch House Restaurant, St. Mawes
Review by Alyson Earle on 25 June 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

I have been purchasing fish and chips from the takeaway of this restaurant for the last month. In the beginning the meal was excellent, however each week the food has become progressively worse, and the chips this week were disgusting, soggy and of an unappealing colour and the service is diabolical, every week there are different staff on duty, none of whom seem to have any idea what they are doing. The £7 charge is therefore not value for money, and in addition to all these facts, the takeaway does not have the correct packaging, which means the food very quickly becomes cold.

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by carole mcguire on 19 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent value for money, friendly and attentive staff with lovely specials of local fish. All found in a lovely setting by the harbour.

Victory Inn, St. Mawes
Review by Victoria Nowell on 8 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Before I go on to recommend this restaurant if you go you must have the sticky toffee pudding - out of this world, the best ever!! Anyway, the restaurant was lovely (and busy when we went). Good menu choice. We had their cloudy cider to drink which is delicious (and flat not fizzy). I have to confess I can't remember what I ate because all the food was eclipsed by my partners amazing pudding - not for the faint hearted! Service was friendly and the waitress wasn't afraid to make recommendations which was really helpful. Would definately go again but would recommend booking as it was busy both in the pub and upstairs where we ate (and we went mid-week slightly out of holiday season).

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by Sue Walker on 3 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have eaten at the Old Watch House over many years and never been disappointed. The menu covers something for all the family. You can have a quick one course inexpensive supper or really push the boat with a 3-course dinner and not feel that you have been ripped off. The food quality is consistently high, the atmosphere friendly and relaxed and the staff cheerful and always accommodating - even dogs are welcome! They also do a marvellous takeaway service too.

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by ewan turner on 2 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent restaurant!! friendly service! fantastic food!!! will be eating here again!

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by M Guillou on 2 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I use this website very often to read reviews of restaurants and have now decided to write one myself. My wife and I have just come back from a tour of Cornwall and were lucky enough to visit St Mawes. While there we ate at the restaurant above. I have to say for value for money this place could not be beaten. I had steak and my wife had the fish and the meal was absolutely divine. It was very busy but we were seated straight away and offered a drink while we looked at the menu. The food was served quickly and with a smile. We also noted that we had a break between courses to allow the food to digest. What a refreshing change from so many restaurants where they like to get you in and out asap. The staff were friendly and knowledgable of the local area. We will definitely make a point of visiting this restaurant again.

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by Mrs M Humphrey on 2 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visit St Mawes at various times throughout the year and always make a point of visiting this restaurant each time we stay. The food is excellent quality and the choice is second to none, whether you are calling in for just a coffee / tea, breakfast, afternoon tea or an evening meal. The Chicken St Lucia is something everyone should try. The service is excellent whether it is just the two of us or when we are with a large group of friends. The staff are always friendly and helpful and if you should be lucky enough to visit St Mawes then a visit to this restaurant is a must. Don't be misled by the unassuming frontage, this restaurant is one not to be missed.

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by Mrs M Humphrey on 2 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visit St Mawes at various times throughout the year and always make a point of visiting this restaurant each time we stay. The food is excellent quality and the choice is second to none, whether you are calling in for just a coffee / tea, breakfast, afternoon tea or an evening meal. The Chicken St Lucia is something everyone should try. The service is excellent whether it is just the two of us or when we are with a large group of friends. The staff are always friendly and helpful and if you should be lucky enough to visit St Mawes then a visit to this restaurant is a must. Don't be misled by the unassuming frontage, this restaurant is one not to be missed.

Old Watch House Restaurant and Jolly Sailor, St. M
Review by Harry and Joey Park from South Africa on 9 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a wonderful lunch at The Old Watch House restaurant on two occasions. Both times the service was impeccable and friendly. The food was superb and we really enjoyed the Cornish Sole and Scallops Mornay-so fresh and well prepared! We also squeezed in one of the famous Ice Cream Sundaes- The Watch House with orange sorbet and mandarin segments.Great Value as well-We would highly recommend a meal here when visiting ST Mawes.

Victory Inn, St. Mawes
Review by Colin Glover on 2 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very friendly service backed by very good seafood. the Crab Rissotto was superb

Victory Inn, St. Mawes
Review by Chris Jones on 6 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a transformation.Totally refurbished and now a much more comfortable pub and restaurant.WE booked for the lobster night 2 of our party had lobster which was perfectly cooked.All the meals were fantastic ( we all had fishy things).Ross is an excellent host.

Idle Rocks Hotel and Restaurant, St. Mawes
Review by James Mitchell on 8 March 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I can honestly say that this was the finest meal I have had in Cornwall, the service was un-parralelled the staff were polite efficent and courteous without being over the top and the cuisene was an incredible modern/french affair which while being adventurous managed to maintain the classic elegance.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook