• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Taste Southeast Cornwall Choose Cornish Cornwall Food and Drink Newquay Fish Festival Porthleven Food and Drink Festival St Ives Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food Finder

Restaurant Reviews in St. Ives

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Pedn-Olva Hotel and 'Lookout' Restaurant., St. Ive
Review by Michael Barr on 7 June 2013
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

Thought the service was awful. The receptionist was having a long conversation with her works assistant before acknowledging we were waiting for service, the food was expensive for what it was (5 chunky chips on a plate with an unmeaty burger), the bedroom was OK but would recommend finding somewhere cheaper, the money they charge is just not worth it.

New World Chinese Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by andy chen on 11 May 2013
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

this testaurant food very good,just the pice not thatgood.

New World Chinese Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Cathy Collison on 25 August 2012
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

This has to be the worst restaruant I have ever had the misfortune of eating in. Definately one to be avoided. The food was over priced and in short uneatable. When the taxi driver asked us where we had been that evening on the way home he laughed and said that the locals never ate there and it was blatantly clear why. Restaurants like these cash in on the holiday makers and couldn't care what rubbish they serve as there is always other people to fill the place,if only once!! At short please avoid this restaurant and save yourself a lot of money!

Lifeboat Inn, St. Ives
Review by kellie white on 28 July 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

lovely food the best in the town just 1 problem the childrens meal chicken strips and chips just was not enough 2 strips and about 8 chips my son left wanting more other than that a very nice place and a great menu

Badger Inn and Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Kerenza Jelbert on 8 July 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Service was slightly slow, as there was a large party also going on, but other than that, it was perfect...gorgeous food and lovely hosts! Will definitely return!

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Karl Radune on 31 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My wife and I chose The Loft for our second (and last) night in St. Ives. It was a special experience and we wish we had found it the first night.
The service was excellent, as was the selection and quality of the food. The atmosphere was very relaxed, with no feeling of needing to hurry to make way for others. We also enjoyed watching the antics of the seagulls on the nearby rooftops, and the view of the harbor as the sun was setting.
We are from the US, and cannot get to The Loft again very soon. We wish we could!

Lifeboat Inn, St. Ives
Review by Channing Major on 29 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Loved the food, loved the atmosphere. We always return to here when on our hols in cornwall :)

The Gurnard's Head Hotel Inn and Restaurant, St. I
Review by Penny Gould on 29 March 2012
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

We enjoyed some innovative and interesting flavours with alexanders soup & an oyster rissole, but the portions were meagre in relation to the prices, luckily our friends saw the funny side and we made a joke of looking for the promised elements of each dish. The passionfuit mousse was lovely but on our second visit inside a week we were advised that it was not suitable for vegetarians, having already ordered and eaten it once. I was disappointed by the acidic white wine; not good value as I didn't finish my glass - a first I think. Fine selection of rum though. Real ale was very average.

Blas Burgerworks, St. Ives
Review by Rachel Coles on 3 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fabulous, fast food the way it should be, all prepared using local Cornish produce. Very good choice of vegatarian burgers, I wanted to try them all so will have to visit again soon. I have wanted to visit here for ages but would always time it wrong as you can't book and it has always been busy or just about to close. Definately worth the trip to St Ives for!

St Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by D Evans on 1 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Sensational food, delightful service and charming decor make St Andrews Street an absolute must for any visitor to St Ives. The food is utterly scrumptious and the menu varied. A real treat and we can't wait to go back next week! Thank you!

St Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Mark H on 22 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fantastic. If you only eat out once in St Ives, make it here. Great food, service and atmosphere. Simply fantastic evening.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Linda Edward on 6 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had the best meal of our whole two weeks here, and a comfortable stay too, with our dog. Breakfast was also outstanding, but it is the dinner we shall remember for a long time. We shall return, hopefully.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by Norma Clark on 27 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The best vegetarian meal I have ever had I would go there every night if I lived in St Ives :) The meals were beautifully presented and the taste wow ! You were very well looked after by the friendly staff , a lovely atmosphere.

St Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Vicki Jelbert on 26 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Have had a superb meal this evening. We were welcomed warmly by the friendly host (who has recently taken over), given a good table by the window (we ate very early with our 3 yr old and had our pick). Our drinks were served promptly & once we had ordered a lovely plate of fresh poppy seed bread with pesto dip was presented. My meal of salmon gravalax, followed by scallop risotto with preserved lemons, and my hubby's meal of fillet steak was superb. Excellent fresh local food with well crafted flavours by the new chef, they catered brilliantly for my dairy intolerance & made my little one also feel very welcome. I had a good wine & my hubby draught peroni. The quirky interior and top notch food is well worth a visit and now one of my favourite places to eat in St Ives - I look forward to our next visit.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Colin and Karen Stribley on 19 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We have visited the Mex on more than 30 occasions, both by ourselves and with parties of friends. We both love the feel of the place, the friendly staff and the piping hot tasty food. The one problem we always find is only choosing one main course, when we like nearly all of them! We usually start with the sharing platter which is a selection of some of the starters complete with three dips. The spicy meatballs on it are a real treat as are the ribs. The service at The Mex is first class and they always have a smile on their faces. Don't miss out, drop in for a meal if you are visiting beautiful St. Ives.

Seagrass Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Bruce Richardson on 15 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Attractive range of appetising dishes on offered - especially the seafood. Excellent cuisine and attentive service. Not cheap dining but very good value for a first-class dining experience. Thank you.

Porthmeor Cafe Bar & Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by MARIAN FARMER on 3 May 2011
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

We ate here on Saturday night, 30th April. What a place. The food was lovely, the scenery was great, and a novelty to use buckets from the beach as wine coolers. It was nice to sit a watch the ocean. (Could have done without the large table letting their kids run riot.) Not the restaurants fault. Made a lasting impression. Will go again when in Cornwall.

Seafood Cafe, St. Ives
Review by clive laws on 18 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

delicious fresh fish cooked to perfection. Splendid wines to complement the excellent menu. Wonderfully friendly, and helpful staff.... however busy & whatever month we have been....and we have eaten here dozens of times. A winner!
Don't miss it!

Alba Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Neville Turner on 17 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We discovered this restaurant in the 2011 Michelin Guide and it didn't disappoint. The food was absolutely superb and incredibly reasonably priced given the quality. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the views from the upstairs window tables well worth requesting when booking. Incidentally, the desserts are well worth having - I don't normally bother but I am glad that I did at the Alba.

Parking in St Ives is challenging though... it may be worth considering a taxi if possible.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by jan greenfield on 29 December 2010
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

we went to the mermaid with friends and had the set christmas menu
the food and the service were very good and it was excellent value for money

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by jan greenfield on 29 December 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we went to the loft for our christmas night out from work
the food was excellent
the service was really good
we had a lovely night out our only complaint was that it was a bit cold

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by JACKIE DAVENPORT on 6 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My family visited your restaurant in August whilst on holiday,the service,atmosphere and food were brilliant so much so that we ate here once a week for the3 weeks that we were on holiday.
The food is really delicious and well worth the money,will definitely be back in 2 years time when we visit Cornwall again.`

review by Andrea Milner
Review by Andrea Milner on 3 October 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A great restaurant in a fantastic location. The food was excellent, the menu varied and original. The staff were very friendly and it had a warm, seaside atmosphere. The squid was divine and it was a wonderful place to celebrate our Cornish Holiday. I would highly recommend but book early as the best tables are snapped up quickly, according to our waiter they are booked months in advance.

St.Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Kim Potter on 15 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Been to this Bistro a few times the service, atmophere and food was the best, so when we got married down here at the end of June we held our wedding breakfast here, and yet again they did us proud, Thank you so much xxxx

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Steve on 30 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I love Mexican food. So I went there with my Family last month. We each had a different dish and everyone was spot on. The spare ribs were amongst the best I’ve eaten in the UK. And the prices were very good. You got large portions for your money. It has a nice cosy feel and I suspect family run as the staff really seemed to care.
The only fault was they do not sell Frozen Margaritas, A Tex Mex without Frozen Margaritas!. However the food was so good I would go back.

Alfresco Cafe Bar Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Dr Catherine Moloney on 23 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I had a very enjoyable evening at this restaurant on a recent trip to St Ives. Service and food were as outstanding as I remembered from a previous visit in 2009. Staff were warm and friendly, yet unobtrusive, and the ambience cosily relaxed. I had lamb - succulent, subtly flavoured and imaginatively presented. My partner had tagliatelle, and reported that it was bursting with flavour. Starters of scallops and goats cheese were excellent and the puddings memorable. The perfect end to our holiday. I strongly recommend Alfresco.

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Sara on 15 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had friends visiting the first week in august and with five young children between us wondered where was best to eat. We made absolutely the right choice in The Loft, the food was fabulous (including a thoughtful child menu!) and the staff couldn't do enough. My 3 year old loved the mussels so much she still talks about them! Really lovely experience thanks x

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Michelle Butcher on 1 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Hello my husband and i vistited your restaurant on wednesday 28th july and may i just say that the meal was just perfect,the waitress's were very friendly,we found the whole night totally enjoyable and we will recommend 100% to our friends,we have now been here twice and on both occasions the evening has been PERFECT.
Thank you for a really great eveing and we will see you next year.:]

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Michelle Butcher on 1 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Hello my husband and i vistited your restaurant on wednesday 28th july and may i just say that the meal was just perfect,the waitress's were very friendly,we found the whole night totally enjoyable and we will recommend 100% to our friends,we have now been here twice and on both occasions the evening has been PERFECT.
Thank you for a really great eveing and we will see you next year.:]

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Sonia Bird on 11 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Loft is a little gem in St Ives, devine food, wonderful atmosphere and very friendly staff even for four legged friends! We first walked in after seeing their chalk board outside saying that dogs were welcome on The Terrace, a perfect find if you want to eat fresh local quality produce and not leave your pet dog home alone. Bella assured me that her fresh water was first class! We first went for lunch and can't rave enough about the crayfish sandwiches, sooo good! We went for dinner another night and tried some Cornish fizz, it was excellent, albeit a little explosive to start with! Would recommend this place to everyone, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Happy first birthday, here's to many more. Son, Daz and Bella the Beagle

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by ian dodd on 6 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic location, fantastic food, open all year and very friendly staff who are very helpful. We have been using On Shore on a regular basis for 6 years or more and one of their best Pizzas is the Duck Pizza with an oriental flavour. Last Saturday, there must have been a different chef working as the Duck Pizza arrived tasting of tomato rather than Hoisin sauce which completely changed the taste. The staff kindly produced another which was the same and then a third which was back to normal, so a big thanks as my trip to St ives would not have been complete without the experience. Thanks to the staff, once again.

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by L&G on 28 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had dinner on the terrace at the Loft on a gorgeous sunny evening, the food was amazing along with the service and staff, can't fault this restaurant and will definitely make it a regular haunt in future. Can't wait to go back!

Porthminster Beach Cafe, St. Ives
Review by Nigel Whitaker on 8 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had lunch with some Chinese friends from GuangDong Province, with whom I work in China. They had never eat at such a restaurant with such beautiful views and setting, and tried virtually every local type of food and several local drinks, including Cider and Camel Valley wine. The next time I went to China my friends had sent their revue of the resaurant to the whole GuangDer Corporation !!!! What a fabulous accolade! It is our favourite place to eat, and now is known throughout China !!!!

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by zoe timms on 7 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely gorgeous food, had the carvery and would recommend, meat cooked to perfection and good value for money

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Katie Wilson on 31 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a find! Gorgeous building and interior, delicious menu, and lovely staff. As an Aussie having lived in London for a little while, this was one of the best food evenings I've had in a long time!

Sloop Inn, St. Ives
Review by ian Dodd on 19 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic good value home cooked food every time. Try the two course filet steak meal for two with a bottle of wine for just over £26 it is great value food.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by M. Forse on 16 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

WOW.fantastic carvery, main menu and desserts.All beuitifuly cooked and served piping hot.The service was very good and reasonably priced. I strongly recommend a visit to this establishment.

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Antony Russell on 15 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Being a midlander i don't get much chance to eat a lot of fresh fish,so whilst looking around st ives me,my wife and two year old son came across the beach restaurant.Everything from the friendly welcome,excellent fresh food and quality service was 5 star. The owners/managers must be very proud of this esablishment and staff who were also very welcoming toward my son.

Porthmeor Cafe Bar & Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Nic Dagnall on 3 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This cafe is wonderful. It is a rare occasion when the location, food, wines, service and atmosphere combine to make a memorable eating experience. The food is excellent, innovative, interesting. It's true to its setting; it has Cornish ingredients, beach friendly vibe and relaxed yet contemporary feel and menu.
A visit complements a day spent on Porthmeor beach or a visit to the Tate. The quality and innovativeness of the food matches the view. The cafe is locally and family run and this resonant through the experience. Each detail has been well thought through and this all adds to a wonderful experience.
The cafes real success is in its wide appeal for all. I have enjoy a drink at sunset on the terrace overlooking the Atlantic sea; a coffee part way through a coastal walk; a fun family meal; and grabbed a smoothie for breakfast on the way into the surf!
The sun, sea, sand, food, wine and service – all make for a fantastic experience.

Peppers, St. Ives
Review by Sarah Santon on 2 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is the first time I have been to St Ives and we were just staying for one night. The restaurant was fully booked but we were able to get a table later in the evening. My partner and myself had a mackeral pate starter and pizza for the main meal. There was a delay on the starter being served but the waitress gave us complimentary glasses of wine and the restaurant was very busy. We both thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the customer service was excellent.

Sloop Inn, St. Ives
Review by Sarah from Somerset on 18 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good Food, Service and Value
for Money, will come again.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Sarah from Somerset on 18 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Two meals out in one week.
Thorougly recomend the Mussels.
Great Service, Friendly Staff.

Balnoon Inn, St. Ives
Review by Alan on 8 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great meal, enjoyed the carvery with friendly staff and wicked desserts

Blas Burgerworks, St. Ives
Review by darren bottrill on 18 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Yummy comfort food served in a unique and friendly setting. fantastic!

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by gina and darren on 3 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we both love our food and we love this restaurant,we travel from worcs to st ives at least once a year sometimes twice,for a short break holiday.the main reason we do this is because of this wounderfull restaurant.if your visiting st ives this place is a must. we have been for around seven years.

Alfresco Cafe Bar Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by June on 2 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Perfect. Meal and service cannot be beaten and situation suberb.The best vegetarian meal ever enjoyed. My partner who non veggie enjoyed the what he would describe the best.Would recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting St Ives.

Alfresco Cafe Bar Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by June on 2 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Perfect. Meal and service cannot be beaten and situation suberb.The best vegetarian meal ever enjoyed. My partner who non veggie enjoyed the what he would describe the best.Would recommend this resaurant to everyone visiting St Ives.

Raj Poot Indian Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by C Turner on 12 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a very friendly, attentive restaurant with excellent food and good wine! It is small and cosy and although they were busy they gave us plenty of time between courses.

Porthgwidden Beach Cafe, St. Ives
Review by ken wilson on 17 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A party of 9 adults and 3 young children had lunch on New Year's day at this superbly positioned reataurant. We were greeted by the very friendly staff who wished us all a very Happy New Year. All the staff were anxious to make sure that we had a great time. There was no waiting as our orders were taken quickly. Particular attention was given to the children. Our meals came promptly and were all of a very high standard.We were all able to eat our starters and main courses in a leisurely manner without pressure to move out for anyone else.We would all recommend this restaurant to anyone both for the quality of service and the superb food. Families who are looking to eat out in St.Ives need look no further than this restaurant.

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Rob Holliday on 1 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We are regular visitor to St Ives and are always looking for good places to eat rather than what can be the norm i.e. typical mediocre 'tourist food' delivered with indifferent service by seasonal staff.
We have found what we have been looking for at The Loft.
We ate at the loft on a wet Saturday evening at the end of October so a quite time, the look of the place had set our expectations high as the appearance leads you to believe this place knows it's business.
We were not dissapointed, from the moment we walked in we were looked after to the best standard and served food of the highest quality by staff that had real 'interest' in the job at hand.
The meal we had with friends that night was one of the best I have had in St Ives.

Well done to all at The Loft, keep up the good work, we will eat with you again.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by mack on 30 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited the Badger on Sunday for lunch.Probably the best value Carvery in the district. Plus deserts to die for.

Tinners Arms, St. Ives
Review by Laura Dawe on 21 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff and the food was heavenly. I had the Terras farm duck breast which was cooked to perfection, my partner ate stuffed lamb breast best he'd ever had! Followed it off with a whisky from the extensive range of malts.Yum!

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Dan Broom on 20 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant has to be the best that I visited in St Ives. A window table on the first floor had lovely views over the harbour. The service was friendly and the menu was full of local fresh fish and seafood. I had squid with Chilli and my partner had mussels. Beautifully presented and well cooked. For main monkfish in parma ham and sea bass. Again both dishes were perfectly cooked and well presented. Would definately recommend this restaurant for price, food and location as well as friendly staff.

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Andy Smith on 11 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We chose The Loft as the venue for our wedding reception and we couldn't have asked for a better evening. Tony & Louise have worked very hard to create a fantastic restaurant where it's hard to choose which is better: the views or the food.

Prior to the event Louise showed that nothing was too much trouble, our numbers changed a couple of times as did our requirements and all of this was dealt with immaculately and the attention to detail we had on the night was second to none. At times where I popped in to ask some questions you could see, in dealing with parties of 2 or 3 that the same level of care and helpfulness was given.

Tony created a special menu for us and this allowed him to show his skills to the full. I can honestly say i've not tasted food so good for a long time. My main of sole fillets stuffed with crayfish tails was fantastic: the combination of flavours was a taste sensation.

The restaurant, while not on the seafront, is in an excellent location being a very short walk from both the harbour (go through the sloop craft market) and porthmeor beach. It's also just a couple of minutes away from the Tate. The terrace offers fantastic views across the bay.

I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Glenn Martin on 28 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Initialy we tried the early evening special which was excellent value with no compromise on quality. We returned later in the week to sample the full menu. Lovely interesting surrounding and excellent service.

Lifeboat Inn, St. Ives
Review by T Higgins on 27 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited the Lifeboat Inn for lunch when seeing the sights in St Ives. Attracted by the wide variety on the menu, especially childrens choices as I had my one year old with us. Great to see childrens options without chips! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone with children, the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even though nearly every table was taken. The staff definitely left a lasting impression, and made our visit to St Ives all the more enjoyable!

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by Tracey Cutts on 1 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The food is full of flavour and is healthy and wholesome. I have eaten here several times and each time have thoroughly enjoyed myself. Not only is the food fantastic but the setting and staff are friendly and relaxed- the perfect combination for a good night out.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Claire Norton on 26 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Amazing food, good service, very good waitress who was very helpful as i have food intolerances. Definately recommend the creamy pepper chicken

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Kelly Grove on 25 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Whenever we find ourselves in a new place, we make sure to ask our taxi driver to recommend somewhere to eat. In St. Ives, we wanted to see if there was anywhere beyond the obvious fish and chip restaurants in the harbour. Without hesitation, our cabbie recommended The Loft and we weren't disappointed.

I'm not a big seafood eater so didn't really know what to order from the menu that would suit my fish palatte that up until now only knew cod, haddock and tuna. There were non fish and vegetarian options but as we are by the sea, it had to be done! I explained this to the waitress and she was very helpful in recommending dishes that wouldn't freak me out by having shells and heads still attached!

For starters I had a lovely warm, whole, cornish goats cheese with roasted vegetables and honey glaze while the partner had roasted red pepper and butternut squash soup. Both were excellent. The goats cheese was so creamy and really worked well with the vegetables. The soup was nice and peppery and quite a parge portion for a starter.

For mains, we did not opt for the day's special which was turbut served on a bed of muscles, instead, I took the waitresses recommendation of herb crusted halibut with dauphinois potatoes. THe fish was meaty, firm, perfectly cooked and not over-powered by the peppery crust. The partner had the whole lemon sole with chive butter and herby potatoes. Even though served whole (my partner is a big seafood fan), I did venture a taste and it was lovely. It had been skinned so it didn't panic me too much and the flesh came away so easily from the bone and worked wonders with the citrusy chive butter. We complimented the mains with a bowl of roasted vegetables.

We didn't have pudding, instead we finished of our very resonable priced and very drinkable bottle of French Sauvignon Blanc watching the young seagulls struggling to stay standing on the roof tops out side of the the window.

Would really recommend this restaurant. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgable about all the dishes on the menu and able to recommend dishes and wine without you feeling like a complete numpty! Great place.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by Lucy and Oliver on 21 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely Fab!
Ate here at 8pm on a Thursday night - there was a very friendly atmosphere. Alot of vegi restaurants feel as though you are in a daytime cafe but going here feels like a treat.
The food itself is top-notch and very nicely presented - clean, vibrant flavours, no stodge. The menu changes but Oli had a stilton, beetroot and walnut salad to start which combined together very well. My favourite course was again a starter - pea and chilli soup with homemade bread - delicious, a kick form the chilli but not overpowering. The bread was warm, doughy, and was lovely dipped in the soup.
The desserts are good (we had lovely toasty scotch pancakes) although a bit lacking in 'comfy' choices - it would have been nice to see a crumble or pie on the menu.
Its BYO which means that the bill is not too much either - for 3 courses it wont be over £20 a head.
Staff are attentive and it is most definately worth a visit, vegi or not (Oli loves meat but loves it here too!) .
Bon Appetit!!

Peppers, St. Ives
Review by Vivienne Deakin on 8 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have been visiting St Ives, several times a year for at least the past 10 years. Every time we visit we eat at Peppers at least twice during a week. Their food is consistently of a high standard and the service is excellent. Their prices are astounding and ensure that they are an all round year venue for locals as well as the lucky visitors who come across this great restaurant. Whenever I visit I always, to the amusement of my family, always opt for the Mediterrenean Vegetable, Goat Cheese Pizza with Basil Oil. It is to die for, so my view is why try to improve of perfection. Looking forward ro my next visit in just over one week and at least two visits in September.

Tinners Arms, St. Ives
Review by Rita McGrogan on 8 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food, worth the price. Friendly staff and good service. Lovely spot off the beaten track, away from most of the other tourists!

The Loft Restaurant and Terrace, St. Ives
Review by Steven Bennetts on 3 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I went to the Loft on a rainy Saturday evening in July (aka the summer) and have to say that the meal we had was one of the best we've had in St Ives over a very long time. The staff were attentive without being overly so and the food was excellent. We had scallops on black pudding and ham hock terrine followed by a fish mariniere and the fillet steak Dianne all of which was of the best quality and cooked to perfection. The only down side was that the portions were so substantial that we couldn't manage a dessert! Certainly this has become the preferred restaurant in St Ives for us.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by jessica broomfield on 20 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Living in St.Ives I am surrounded by great restaurants and trendy bars. However I have not enjoyed a meal this much for a long time!
Being a vegetarian I normally have to make do with bland pasta dish or a mushroom stroganoff, if I’m lucky! So it was fantastic to have the opportunity to choose from a well thought-out and delicious menu that not only adequately catered for myself but also for my vegan and meat-eating friends.

The atmosphere was buzzing yet casual and perfect for a catch up with the girls or a romantic night out with your better half!
I regularly eat out at The Bean inn, without giving a second thought about who I’m taking with me because inevitably they love it as much as I do. The staff made me feel welcome and instantly I relaxed into the nature of the ambiance.
I love it! It’s my first choice every time and my friends will agree.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by jessica broomfield on 20 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Living in St.Ives I am surrounded by great restaurants and trendy bars. However I have not enjoyed a meal this much for a long time!
Being a vegetarian I normally have to make do with bland pasta dish or a mushroom stroganoff, if I’m lucky! So it was fantastic to have the opportunity to choose from a well thought-out and delicious menu that not only adequately catered for myself but also for my vegan and meat-eating friends.

The atmosphere was buzzing yet casual and perfect for a catch up with the girls or a romantic night out with your better half!
I regularly eat out at The Bean inn, without giving a second thought about who I’m taking with me because inevitably they love it as much as I do. The staff made me feel welcome and instantly I relaxed into the nature of the ambiance.
I love it! It’s my first choice every time and my friends will agree.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Gordon Robinson on 20 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have had several meals at the Mex and can highly recommend the food . Service was excellent, but the real highlight was the authentic tasting Mexican dishes. I have visited Mexican restaurants the length and breadth of the country and this is in the top three.

Porthgwidden Beach Cafe, St. Ives
Review by Peter Watson on 19 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It was the last evening of our holiday in St Ives, and although the weather outside was awful, the ambience inside this restaurant was a delight and helped make an evening to remember. What a good restaurant should have: excellent menu (it was a difficult choice especially off the special listing), good wine list, attentive and efficient service, busy, noisy and with a great view even though it was raining! I wish we had eaten here more often!

Tinners Arms, St. Ives
Review by E.G.Dimmock on 15 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

unspoilt,friendly & relaxed pub with an extensive local menu promptly served and at reasonable prices.looking forward to a revisit asap

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Josephine on 11 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had the carvery on 5/7/09, best we've ever had. Meats succulent! Friendly service and well organised. We'll be back next year!

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by ELAINE KEEN on 6 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Once again we enjoyed some wonderful meals at the Mermaid over the 17 days we were in St Ives, not only is the seafood wonderful but they know how to cook the perfect steak which comes exactly as ordered, as for me I like well done, in many places that usually means well done on the outside and very dry inside, however, at the Mermaid they get it right each time no blood yet moist inside. Some of the starters and deserts are also a delight.


Tinners Arms, St. Ives
Review by tyrone on 26 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a lovely pub, very friendly staff, and the most wonderful food my partner and i had scallops (from falmouth) with pea shoots to start followed by boccadon veal shin(heavenly) and my partner had st ives rump steak best steak ever amazing, and to finish a gorgeous homemade treacle tart. this place was great. well worth every penny and a tip on top!!!!!

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by alison cooney on 22 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Just got back from a lovely week holiday in St Ives and we really enjoyed our lunch at The Beach Restaurant, the food was lovely, great service and we were lucky enough to get a table in the window so we could enjoy the nice view of the bay too! definately recommended!!

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by ELAINE on 7 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We eat in restaurants Switzerland, beautiful places in the Black Forest and Belgium. The Mermaid is equally as good as them all, the staff are very friendly, nothing too much trouble and the food delicious. Worth every penny. I would also say they we eat at the Helsetown Inn, just outside St Ives and there you can have an excellent Sunday lunch and lovely evening meals. A true locals pub and very friendly.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by Paul Fowler on 18 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A great restaurant and very relexed and food was fantastic, so good to have a choice of vegetarian food and not your usual goats cheese choice, a very well thought out menu and use of local produce. The lady who served us was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Will eat there again and have recommeded the place to our friends.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Maggie Laity on 26 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our visit to The Badger Inn was most welcoming, the staff were very friendly and extremely professional, together with delicious food and a excellent selection of wines and beers this restaurant comes highly recommended. We had a lovley time.

Blas Burgerworks, St. Ives
Review by Lynne Matthews on 21 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our 3rd year running to eat at Blas. Good vibe, good music & fantastic food!! As a coeliac( I can't eat wheat), this place is heaven! Majority of burgers are wheat free and the staff were only too happy to use my own gluten free bread. My son Rowan (10) loves this place too. We look forward to another visit next Easter.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by spencer miller on 19 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant really cannot be faulted, and as a chef I am very critical.
The atmosphere is extremely relaxed, the food is of an excellent quality and the variety is good.
My wife and I recently stayed at Coast B&B, which is also extremely good, and decided one night to dine in the restaurant. We were very glad we did, and ended up dining there for three out of our five nights.
The food is very well priced, especially when compared to other locations around the St Ives area.
Paula and the team have created a great restaurant here, one which is definately worth a visit. I am just glad that it is 300 miles away otherwise the wife would want to dine there all the time.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by R Blake on 8 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Bean Inn is a fantastic restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed and very welcoming. The food (vegetarian) is fabulous and the good value for money. My husband and I are regulars to this restaurant ever since it opened and love it so much!
It offers a "bring your own wine policy" which is great. Paula the "chef" is brilliant along with her "waiting staff!" If you have not been, we throughly recommend a visit!

La Casita, St. Ives
Review by Alan Edwards on 17 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have a holiday let in Carbis Bay. every time we come down we always end up at La Casita. The quality is always good with lots of fresh fish options. The price is also right with sensible priced veg and lovely lovely puddings. The owners taste in wine is spot on and the service is friendly. You cannot beat a night out at La Casita.

La Casita, St. Ives
Review by Alan Edwards on 17 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have a holiday let in Carbis Bay. every time we come down we always end up at La Casita. The quality is always good with lots of fresh fish options. The price is also right with sensible priced veg and lovely lovely puddings. The owners taste in wine is spot on and the service is friendly. You cannot beat a night out at La Casita.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by kath and phil on 17 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we come to st ives every year and our holiday would not be complete without dining in this fine restaurant.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Katy Rendle on 11 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We last went to celebrate a friends Birthday. A group of eight of us, sat on one long table. Wonderful choice of dinners to cater for all palettes, not just hot and spicy. My favourite is a creamy chicken fahita. Various seafood,meat and vegetarian dishes to chose from. Also some irresistible specials. We also had wine and thoroughly enjoyed the jugs of Margarita! Starters and sweets were plentiful and all the food is to a high standard. The music and the subtle lighting really added to the atmosphere. Great for a romantic meal for two, as we've frequented The Mex previously. Can't wait to visit again. Thanks to the Mex

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Alison Price on 14 January 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having had the pleasure to dine at the Beach Restaurant both at lunch time and in the evening I can honestly say that it is a 5 star establishment!
Great food, friendly and accommodating staff and fabulous views of St Ives Harbour await visitors! I can hardly wait to return!

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by C Gordon-Hughes on 3 January 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Extremely clean restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. Food was absolutely stunning, well cooked and presented. Will definately be revisting when next in Cornwall. 5*

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Treffry Thompson on 31 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent unfussy food, attentive staff, and a very nice place to stay for a few days if you love walking.

Alfresco Cafe Bar Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Simon Parkes on 22 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have eaten here a few times. Wonderful food in a relaxed and friendly environment. Lovely views too.

Alfresco Cafe Bar Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Alison Lockett on 20 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We stopped for a light lunch in October and had a wonderful crab sandwich and delicious home made carrot cake. It was the best lunch we'd had for a long time, well recommended with good service and friendly staff.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Peter Williams on 5 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Amazing views, great food and unbelievable value. Really enjoyed our night with you last night, thanks to the team of girls that were working, oh and the boys in the kitchen too!

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Jenny Homewood on 23 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Three of us had the most fantastic lunch last week, the highlight of which was crab linquine with chilli, although the bitter chocolate brownie with chocolate mousse was superb. This is definitely a foodie's paradise, but with ample parking and lovely clifftop walks to finish. Can't wait to go back and try other items from the menu.

Cornish Arms, St. Ives
Review by Tracey Durgahed on 22 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My partner and I ate here having seen this last year but arriving just after it had closed for the afternoon!
A great local pub with a varied menu, lots of choice, good pub food and generous portion sizes.
I chose a ploughmans with local cornish cheese and my partner had the steak and ale pie.
Both were freshly made, the pie homemade and the ploughmans with freshly baked bread.
A very busy pub, clean and friendly staff. Good service and polite.
Good for a lunchtime bite or evening meal depending on what you are looking for.
Very good value for money - only downside is the parking as limited and on quite a busy road.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by steven evans on 15 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I brought my family to Onshore last weekend and can say that it was a fantastic meal and night out in a quite sunny St Ives. The service was excellent, and the food even better. The tapas I can highly recommend and the seafood mains were a work of art- oh and all overlooking the harbour. A good time was had by all 4 of us

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Mark Bouch on 9 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What an absolutley lovely meal, mackrel starter and the special of the day, Hake, was just delicious, my full compliments to the chef, service was excellent and the view out to the harbour rounded off a perfect meal to end my holiday.

St.Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Richard on 6 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited St Andrew Street Bistro to celebrate our twins 18th birthday and we certainly were not disapointed.
The menu had something for everyone without being too extensive, the surroundings offer great interest and you are made most welcome by the very friendly staff. But above all the quality of the food at St Andrews Street Bistro was simply excellent! This is a must for all who are dining out in St Ives. Congratulations to all involved.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Steve Bold on 1 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We've been down in Cornwall on holiday for just over a weeek and have eaten at Onshore 3 times now. Each visit has been a delight not only because of the amazing views over the harbour, but the service and the food are utterly exceptional. Daily specials are a real treat, it's 1 of the reasons we keep coming back.
Brilliant place, keep up the hard work!

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by charlotte on 13 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

the beach is fabulous.
the service is great is the food is teriffic.
they are funny to kids when you are ordering and are very nice as friends.
food is great as a have a fussy brother that does not eat anything but when i want to the beach restaurant it made him feel so hungry he didn't know what to eat it was that delicous.
i would defantly reccomend this anyone that likes fish and more.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Diane Davey on 26 June 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My partner, David, and I stayed at the Badger Inn for a week in June 08. The welcome was warm, the atmoshphere welcoming and the food consistently excellent and plentiful! The room was clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Charles and his staff. We had a lovely week which was made all the more memorable as my partner proposed to me on our first evening there! (and I accepted of course.....)

We would gladly go back and we recommend it to friends and colleagues whenever asked. thank you for very pleasurable stay.

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Isla on 1 June 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here last week after a tiring day trip to St Ives. We were looking for a resturant at a really quiet time (5pm) when everything seems to shut! We were a party of 6 with 2 small children and we had a train to catch! We came across this restaurant by accident and we found the service initially slow are were a bit agitated. However, we explained to the waitress our rush and she was very attentive, brought colouring for the kids, told us the quickest meals on the menu. We ordered, the food was quick to arrive and absolutely delicious (more waiting staff arrived as we were eating too!), The views were fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant, our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer as. if the main course was anything to go by, the starters and sweets would be worth going back for!

Alba Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Lucy on 28 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I recently had lunch at this great little eatery. The menu is impressive with lovely fresh fish a plenty. Staff our friendly and you can even do a great bit of people watching if you are sat by the window. A great wine selection too. Some beautiful sancere. Make sure you book.

St.Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Lucy on 28 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a great place to eat. The staff are very friendly and efficient and the food is of fantastic standard. The menu is varied and makes you want to try something new! Goat Curry for example! I will go back again and would not hesitate in sending my friends their too.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Emma McCudden on 7 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ventured to The Mermaid on our second to last day of our holiday to celebrate my birthday. I was certainly not dissapointed with my starter of scallops or my main of surf and turf. I know it sounds a bit boring, but the main was fantastic, a great big steak done medium as asked for, and five fabulous juicy prawns on top. My other half had the duck to start and there was plenty of it, followed by one of the specials, a 16 oz T-bone steak. It was hugh and after eating it all he felt like he deserved a t-shirt! They also had lobsters on the specials list and from what I could see of them heading to other tables, they looked great. This restaurant is definitely on our list of restaurants to visit the next time we are in St Ives.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by David Beal on 23 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having enjoyed several evening meals in Onshore several years ago, I was delighted to have the opportunity to lunch there during a recent trip to St Ives. The views are pretty good too, either the harbour or the wood burning oven catch your eye as you munch your way through a mouth watering hand made pizza or another of equally stunning dish. Chinese style pizza? Genius! I once even enjoyed sipping a bottle of champagne with one of their pizzas. An unlikely combination? Perhaps, but perfectly matched none the less. Fabulous staff make the visit complete, with excellent waitresses looking after you. A definite must have on your to do list in St Ives!

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Ellie on 23 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Has to be the place to go for a sunday carvery, great food....

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Gordon Childs on 15 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went over the weekend purely because we love the location, but also because we saw the new menu signs. What a great mix to the menu now with tapas, salads along with all the old favourites from seafood to pasta to pizza. daily specials are now part of the furniture and a totally new wine list make this a haven for a really great time. We like the changes. Simple but really effective, oh and great value too...which helps

Pedn-Olva Hotel and 'Lookout' Restaurant., St. Ive
Review by Jo Sodergren on 13 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Stunning food, stunning setting and outstanding service. Having enjoyed both lunch and dinner at this location on several occasions I would highly recommend it. Each dish is mouthwatering and the choice means you have to return time and time again to ensure you get the opportunity to taste everything on the menu. As for the bread that is made on the premises and then served each evening...what more can I say!!!

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by martin jackson on 9 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

4 of us went to St Ives last week for a meal and decided to try Onshore on the harbour front. The setting coupled with high quality food and service will ensure that we'll happily return soon. Great menu, funky open kitchen and contemporary feel also made for a really enjoyable experience. Open one in Falmouth please!

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Dan Knight on 4 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wow this place is fantastic.
From the 21 wines by the glass to the perfect lunch finished with an excellent coffee, these guys know what there doing. please open a Hub in Bristol!

Sheaf of Wheat Inn, St. Ives
Review by jan greenfield on 2 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent carvery, very good value

Digey Food Hall, St. Ives
Review by jan greenfield on 2 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent food nice surrounds helpfull staff

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Clender Bridgeman on 28 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My partner and I have visited this restaurant on many occasions and feel they deserve recognition for their food the cleanliness and the very friendly atmosphere created not only by the owners but also the staff.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by Stuart Phillips on 27 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our party of seven had a fantastic night at the Badger for Burns night,

The Scotish themed menu was interesting, well cooked / presented and very tasty, the Scotch beef on the carvery was especially tender and full of flavour.

Our evening was greatly enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff.

We will be back..

Stuart Phillips.. St Ives..

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by mark creitzman on 25 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food, as well as the ambience and the friendly staff at the Badger Inn stand head and shoulders above their competition. The roasts are exceptional and the desserts are as good as any restaurant around.
I highly recommend a visit there when you are in St Ives.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by John Dessauer on 24 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I always look forward to my visits to St. Ives, a welcome break from city life. A highlight of my visit is always a meal out at The Badger Inn. The Badger combines everything that makes eating out so enjoyable. Friendly service, a welcoming ambience and great food at so reasonable a cost. The carvery is the best I have ever experienced. All the roast meats are superb but if I had to single one out it would be the lamb, what a delight. The vegetables are fresh and cooked to perfection, so rare to find this in a carvery. And, where else would you find a carvery which offers such delicious vegetarian options which always win the highest praise from the vegetarian member of our party. A good selection of wines, as you would expect and reasonably priced. Will I be going back to The Badger? You bet I will, I can't wait to return.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by susan laity on 23 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Stopped at The Badger Inn while passing through Lelant. Had gone past many times, but never called in.
Managed to get a table in the Conservatory with great view of the garden (must be great in summer). Had the Sunday Lunch Carvery and it was probably the best I have ever had. Great value and service. Must go back for the main menu or one of their theme nights.
Loads of parking, luckily very child friendly, good range of beer for my husband and nice wines for me.
Well worth calling in.
Susan Laity
Portreath

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by tina barton on 7 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had excellent food yesterday, at first unsure as I am not used to all the fancy food, but I gave it a try and the food was delicious, reasonably priced and with the delightful view what more could we ask for.
The menu changes regularly so the menu is short but varied.
we will be back!

Alba Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by F Cave on 4 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An excellent meal in a restaurant with a super view of busy St Ives. The early bird menu is really good value

Balnoon Inn, St. Ives
Review by susan henley on 1 September 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we always go for our sunday roast when we come to cornwall but for the first time i was really disapointed the tables were so close together you couldn`t move we were left about 20 mins before being served the barman couldnt talk english or understand the drinks i asked for .the food was good cant complain about that but i hope the fact the place is so popular hasnt gone to the owners head

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Karen Shead on 27 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate at The Mex in St Ives in August 2006. We had not made a booking, it was 9pm & they didn't really have any room (there were 5 of us)- BUT we were asked if we wanted to wait. Within half an hour, after a couple of drinks we were shown to a table! I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. The food was amazing with lots of choice for one very fussy eater & one veggie - FANTASTIC! So much so that on booking our trip for 2007 the first thing everybody said was "We'll definitely be going back to The Mex for a meal!"
Can't wait so booking a table in advance for our long awaited return!

Cornish Deli and Cafe, St. Ives
Review by Paula Grant on 22 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a lovely place for a relaxing cup of coffe and a good chat with a friend. There was a good selection of Deli items and some excellent items suitable for gifts or even to take home as treats. Whilst I did not have ameal, the choice on both the lunch and the evening menue seemed good. I would love to go back and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Deborah on 18 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ate out at the mex on 12th July 07 after reading recommendations on the website and was not disappointed. The service was friendly, waiting time was minimal and the food was delicious.Can't wait to go again.Booking recommended.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by ELAINE KEEN on 16 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We eat in resturents Switzerland, beautuiful places in the Black Forest and Belgium. The Mermaid is equally as good as them all, the staff are very friendly, nothing too much trouble and the food delicious. Worth every penny.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Stewart Brock on 15 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate early evening on Thursday 12th July 2007 during a family holiday, and two out of three of us reckon these possibly the best meals we have ever had. My teenage daughter's pizza was without doubt her best ever, straight from the wood-fired oven, while I had perfectly cooked scallops with a saffron risotto starter followed by the fantastic monkfish tagliatelle. Service was attentive without being OTT, and everything was very reasonably priced. Onshore may not be the best known seafood restaurant in St Ives - it is certainly the best value with no compromise on quality.

The Beach Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Jennine & Michael Screen on 25 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate at the Beach Reastaurant on our most recent visit to St Ives. It is not our first visit to the restaurant, we keep returning due to their excellent quality produce, food and standards. The waiting staff and friendly and the views are excellent of harbour. Overall I feel on our many visits to St Ives this restaurant has not failed to meet our expectations on each occasion. I can wholly recommend a visit.

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by Jane Gray on 18 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have visited this lovely restaurant 2 years running now on our holidays and both visits have been the same - excellent food and service, nicely decorated. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Claire Withers on 18 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I ate at the Mermaid twice in 4 days, as the quality, freshness and presentation of the food, the friendly, individualised and efficient service by the staff and the atmophere and look of the Mermaid's interior were really excellent. I was surprised that it wasn't in 'The List' booklet that we picked up from our hotel, as we ate at one restaurant from 'The List' and the Mermaid was by far better. I will defintely recomment the Mermaid to anyone heading that way. Thanks to everyone there.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Barbara Thatcher on 13 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We stayed in St Ives three nights at ended up eating at the Mermaid every night as the food was so good. We had the early bird special two nights which meant we got a three course meal for the price of a main. The fish was absolutely fantastic, everything was cooked to perfection and the summer pudding was to die for. Service was very good too. We will definitely be back.

Sheaf of Wheat Inn, St. Ives
Review by ARCHIE CRAIG on 2 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Have beem going to St.Ives for over 30 years,cannot find anywhere better.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by charlie dodds on 31 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

super, smashing, lovely. pouring with rain outside but what a find this place was, on the harbour side in st ives. cracking toast Grommit

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Dan Knight on 29 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have spent the Bank holiday weekend in st ives, just writing to Recommend the hub on the harbour front. Had a great lunch in there saturday, the food drink and service were all excellent. thanks to all the staff. ps thanks for the hangover after spending sunday night with you the band were great.

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by deborah skewes on 21 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

good honest yummy food! i enjoyed it, my husband enjoyed it and thankfully the children did to, because an evening out with the three of them somewhere they don't enjoy is no fun for anyone! we'll be going back for more.

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Helen Jones on 19 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wow amazing pizza's this was a real gem to find. The man with the shaved head (owner) i think was really good fun and helped us polish off 3 bottles of bubbly. your round next time.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Helen Jones on 19 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

food was fantastic on our last visit to the mermaid but to be honest its always great. Mat in a great host and quite sexy if I must be honest his charm and good looks and real attention in detail with the food really make this place a pleasure to come back to time and time again!

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Alan Jones on 19 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a gem, fantastic location the view is to die for and the food, drinks and service were top drawer real quality at very reasonable prices. we spent most of our week in the place and cant wait to come back down in June. hats off to you all at hub for a amazing venue.

St.Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by Jonny on 15 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have told so many people to eat here. It is so different than a lot of restaurants in St Ives. This place has character. The ambiance is nice and the food very good . Not what you expect anyway. I had a lovely piece of hake with pesto potatoes and veg. Truly great. Book up though they were turning them away on Friday .

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by julie Finch on 13 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We took a hen party of 24 people to this restaurant last night. The service was friendly and understanding especially given some of the party games we were playing. The food arrived quickly and was hot and very good. It is an added bonus that we were able to bring your own alcohol especially for our larger party. The restaurant is small but has a great atmosphere which helped the other patrons feel at ease with the celebrations and some even joined in a little which was great. I would defintaely recommend this place if you like a relaxed atmosphere, good food at good prices and friendly service.We all had a great time here!

Badger Inn, St. Ives
Review by jase coulthard on 7 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

great food, reasonable price. lovely place to eat

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by richard stall on 21 February 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

were at the mermaid over the weekend, reat value, real vegetables,
It is a must try for st.ives well done all at the Mermaid

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by helen horsefield on 21 February 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

on the last night of our trip we went to to mermaid, we were so so dissaopionted we had not found this place before,as we had probably the best meal we had whilst in the uk let alone just beautiful St.Ives. Neil had the scallops to start which were cooked to perfection and I had the special monkfish cooked in beer batter, Wow.
mym main course was the lamb which again which was a blast and neil had the lobster, and if you are into your pudding you must go for the Bruille, absolutely ammazing.
the place felt great looked great and really was great, we will beb back next time in uk

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by sally on 6 February 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I took my two teenage daughters, my husband and his parents to onshore last Saturday evening for what I thought would be a quiet meal. It turned out to be a really lively and wonderful evening. The atmosphere is very relaxed but the food is the quality of fine dining with a twist. We got chatting to the table next to ours who also had a fantastic evening and i'm sure we all outstayed our welcome. I would definitely recommend the seabass and the seafood thai laksa from the vast menu. Kids had a veggie pizza to share with salad and wedges and the quality was superb. Price much better than expected for a family of 6 all having 3 courses and wine very reasonable!! We will be back.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Adam Woolfitt on 16 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic turnaround Charles Inkin and his staff have acheived in a few months. Now the best Sunday roast for miles and a very good place to eat at any time.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by scott penberthy on 31 December 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

becoming a bit of a regular diner here the food is excellent, all locally sourced and cooked to perfection with outstanding flavours. the lamb shank in particular was delicious and just fell off the bone and who would have thought you could make mashed potatoe so smooth.the staff are very friendly and welcoming, so to are the lovely log fires at either end of the bar, a nice reward at the end of a brisk stroll along the coast path.fantastic!!!

Sheaf of Wheat Inn, St. Ives
Review by ARCHIE CRAIG on 28 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

HAVE VISITED ST.IVES FOR OVER 30 YEARS DINED HERE FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER BEST IN TOWN

Balnoon Inn, St. Ives
Review by paul cook on 15 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Is there a better carvery in cornwall? If so ive not found it. abosutely first class. My one very minor issue is my partner always gets more roast meat than myself (about 6 times in the past three months)

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by paul cook on 15 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A fabulous bar/ resturant where nothing seems to be too much trouble. My partner and i often spend sunday pms in the hub, the food is fabulous and the bar staff are all friendly and helpful. paul

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by charlotte on 30 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i recently went to st ives for a holiday and spent a lot of time at the hub,i think it is very trendy and that the bar staff are really friendly.i will deffinately be visiting the hub next time i am in st ives :)

Beck's Fish and Chip Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Terry & Kath Cutmore on 9 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We returned to Beck's after a gap of over 10 years to find the quality absolutely unchanged, excellent fish and chips superbly cooked and generous in quantity. Backed up by a wide variety of starters and desserts, this is a great place to have a good meal at a reasonable price. The staff are friendly and approachable and there is a large bar area (much patronised by the locals, which is a good sign) where you can wait till your table's ready. Very highly recommended.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Natalie Sennett on 3 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Went this weekend to the Mermaid, having been before and had an excellent meal, we had the fillet steak and the chump of lamb. I t was the best tasting lamb we have eveer had, it was really tender and so much meat we had a hard job finishing it. The steak was cooked to perfection, the knife just slid right through the meat. Absolutely lovely meal - would go there every week if we could afford it!

Onshore Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Anna Edwards on 5 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We've lived in Cornwall for 6 years now and have tried most restaurants in St Ives and the surrounding area. We tend to avoid St Ives in August but we had some friends down and decided to treat them to a meal at Onshore. We had heard really good things about this place recently. We booked last minute and could only get a table outside but what a treat. They had the heat lamps on and the ambience was wonderful overlooking the harbour. We had mussels to start which were out of this world. Steve then had the fillet steak. He said it is the best meal he has ever eaten. I had the seafood risotto and our friends had the cod and the sole from the seafood specials board. The pudding selection was also good and the home-made chocolate and orange torte was truly delicious both to look at and to eat!! The bill was reasonable even after our 2 bottles of house Pinot Grigio which was also delicious. The service was excellent even though the restaurant was absolutely packed a young lady called Ellen served us and really made our evening. All round the best experience we have had in Cornwall and I recommend it to everybody and anybody as the place just seems to suit everybody from families to couples and youngsters looking for a good night out!

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Karen on 28 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic! Would thoroughly recommend & can't wait to go back!

Hub Bar/ Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Adrian Wyatt on 8 June 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great location, very relaxed, no annoying kids (no offence kids) and some unexpectedly good live music!

St.Andrews Street Bistro, St. Ives
Review by D & C Barnard on 24 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is DEFINATELY our first choice in going out for a meal in St.Ives & everyone we have recommended it to absolutely loves it too!
The food is delicious, not your every day menu which makes a refreshing change. Really relaxed atmosphere & GREAT artwork for sale too.
WELL WORTH A VISIT!

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Sarah and Nicky on 2 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Get hot at the Mex. Great food and service. Lovely selections and friendly atmosphere. The bailey's cheesecake is to die for.

Beck's Fish and Chip Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Paul Neale on 2 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Beck's is absolutely superb. The interior is unashamedly 1970's, but the fish and chips are second to none. Thick fillets of the freshest fish you can buy in excellent batter. The chips are lovely too. If you're in a rush, there is the takeaway, which in fact serves the restaurant. Don't leave West or mid Cornwall without visiting Beck's.

Mermaid Seafood Restaurant, St. Ives
Review by Mrs Jennie Moffatt on 1 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The best food experience during our short stay in St Ives. Food was well presented, beautifully cooked & reasonably priced

Blas Burgerworks, St. Ives
Review by Lesley Reardon on 14 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

After a Blas burger you won't want to visit the golden arches ever again - unlike most 'fast food', this smelt delicious as it was cooking and tasted even better. The decor is eclectic and the ethos admirable. And the small space encourages chatting to strangers. Brill!

Blas Burgerworks, St. Ives
Review by Helen on 11 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This wasn't cheap but it was absolutely delicious: a real gem.

The Mex, St. Ives
Review by Jayne Uren on 21 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Gorgeous food, reasonably priced with a fantastic atmosphere. Without a doubt, the best restaurant in St Ives. A visit is definately recommended. I can't wait!

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by nicola quinlan on 1 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A warm and friendly atmosphere with vegetarian delights in abundance combine to make a trip to this restaurant a must. Carrot and coconut soup with Vietnamese coriander was simply mouthwatering. Main courses exceed all expectations offering delights such as smoked tofu and red onion marmalade with a sweet potato or mustard mash and wild mushroom and chestnut filo parcels with tarragon cream. For desert the homemade rasberry ripple cheesecake and hot chocolate fudge cake were scrumptious. All meals can be
adapted to suit and vegan diet and there is plenty of room for al fresco dining weather permitting. All this and not a veggie lasagne in sight !

Bean Inn at Coast, St. Ives
Review by jane stephens on 3 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

At last a decent vegetarian option in St Ives! My partner and I visited a few weeks ago and although quiet (time of year) the atmosphere was warm & friendly and the food out of this world. The prices are really reasonable and you can even bring your own wine. I will certainly be back soon.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook