• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Choose Cornish Cornwall Food Finder Cornwall Food and Drink St Ives Food and Drink Festival Newquay Fish Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall Porthleven Food and Drink Festival

Restaurant Reviews in St. Austell

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Llawnroc Hotel and Gorrans Restaurant, St. Aus
Review by Jack Edward on 5 July 2014
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This is a real cool place to have a meal as a date or with family and friends. I had the muscles which were so fresh and the seafood pasta which was the best I have ever had. I feel bad writing this report as I don't want too many people to learn of this hidden gem with the great views, perfect food and friendly staff. So for a that reason stay away so it does not get too crowded for me to come back. Can not comment on desserts as I was too full to have one.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Alan Lethbridge on 4 August 2013
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

Ignore the website. The information and opening times are useless. The same with the sign on the door. They know and don't care. If they're that indifferent to potential customers before they even arrive I shan't bother.

The Welcome Home Inn, St. Austell
Review by claire davies on 29 March 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

the best pub in par thanks for a great hols again and again shaun claire william nicole

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Josh Woodburn age 11 on 20 August 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The Eastern Paradise is the best Inian Restaurant I've ever been to! The Service was excellent the food was amazing,I had chicken tikka korma and poppadoms. The pickle try was very good, I highly recommend eastern paradise and i will return!

Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Amanda Haines on 13 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

As you can either eat in or take away this was a great find when we stayed at the Travelodge a few miles away. The variety and quality of the fish was excellent and our whole party would recommend. The staff were friendly and we partook on more than one occasion during our stay

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Stuart Clarke on 2 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Great evening, last night of my holiday and couldn't have wished for a nicer place. Extremely friendly staff, a menu to die for and excellent location. Would love to be local and visit more often! Great experience

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Jenny Scarfe on 25 March 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We would like to thank the serving staff for a good night on 22 Mar 2012. We researched this restaurant before we went along for a good meal, unfortunately we were disappointed with the dessert which had not been cooked correctly.Hopefully the chef that was on duty got the message! No knives needed for Caramelised Nectarines next time please.

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Alan Poole on 23 March 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Cornwall's hidden secret. A little gem of a sea food restaurant overlooking the tall ships in Charlestown Harbour.Fresh locally cooked fish, excellently cooked and presented an d not over priced. But don't tell anyone about it - keep it a secret!!

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Sue Williams on 2 March 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wreckers served the best fish I have ever tasted! My cod was superlative: it was fresh, perfectly cooked and the dish was well balanced. The calamari starter was in the lightest of batters and again - just perfect! The restaurant lacks a pre and post meal lounge seating - that's the only very slight negative. We will go back - definitely.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Nathan Cozzetto on 27 February 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Would higly recommend this restaurant. The food was great!! I had a chicken dopiaza which was one of the best ive ever eaten. quick and friendly service and free WIFI too. Great if your on an over night business trip and need to access your emails like i did!

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Charles Reading on 16 February 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food, friendly and efficient service, good value for money.
I came upon this restaurant by accident and found a little jewel in Charlestown.
I will definitely eat here again.

Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Patricia Pomeroy on 8 January 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

You can't beat this good, wholesome, value for money venue if you love fish n chips as much as we do. The taste and quality is always excellent, served by happy, friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Ellie Beaumont on 11 November 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ordered a take away to be delivered. The person who took the order was very polite and sid that our food will be delivered in 1 1/2 hours it took about 50 mins when it arrived it was hot and the quality of the food was excellent. I would definately recommend Eastern Paradise to others.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by sarah batsford on 30 October 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

takeaway delivery- order arrived 20 mins late,ordered childs fishfingers and chips, recived a not very nice fried fish portion instead and awful,tastless, limp chips which were given to dog.korma okay, nice pieces of chicken but overkill on sauce,Pilau rice okay,dry but okay.sorry but wont be returning.

The Ship Inn, St. Austell
Review by PHIL ROBSON on 18 September 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

jUST PAID £30 FOR THREE RUMP STEAKS! ABSOLOUTE RUBBISH DRY,OVERCOOKED AND TASTLESS MEAT,DISGUSTING COLD CHIPS 1/2 TOMATO AND PEAS. I DIDN'T COMPLAIN AS THERE IS NO EXCUSE IN THE WORLD TO COMPENSATE FOR THE SLOP I WAS SERVED AND NOBODY CAME TO CHECK IF EVERYTHING WAS OK ANYWAY.WILL BE VERY WARY OF ST AUSTALL BREWERY PUBS IN FUTURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wreckers Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Chris Tyson on 7 September 2011
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

Recently called into this cafe with 2 other friends, very good menu plus staff very helpful, the only problem we had was the one the party ordered poach eggs on toast, and could not eat it because of the salt content. We complained and we were not charged for the meal, but it was disappointing that this spoilt the oveall experience. We can only imagine that the eggs had been boiled in salty water? C R Tyson

Holmbush Inn, St. Austell
Review by fred scott on 6 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

first class and friendly staff good meal in good setting

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Michael Brown on 22 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We try to eat here at least once each time we visit St Austell. We have never been disappointed with the meals or service received. The lemon posset dessert is to die for.

Holmbush Inn, St. Austell
Review by Peter Hambly on 9 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Always a friendly atmosphere,Good food and pleasant staff

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Paul Dobrowolski on 22 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

i absolutely loved this restaurant and i'm very tempted to come again in July. Love seafood and this meal opitimised to me what Cornwall is all about.

Thank you
Paul Dobrowolski

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Katrina Morgan on 9 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Had a fantastic meal at Wreckers on the 7th June 11 during our holiday as had read really good reviews on this website. Food was excellent especially the mussels, steak and raspberry sundae. Good service and friendly staff. Going back again Friday for our last night in Cornwall as the food was so nice there.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Karen and Ian McAthy McArthy on 5 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Hi
Yesterday, my husband and I travelled from Dover for a few days in Cornwall and after a 6 hour drive and checking into our hotel, went for a short drive in the unexpected early evening sunshine and quite by accident found ourselves in Charlestown. The perfect little harbour made a charming scene and we decided to stay and eat. After looking at the menus of the 3 restaurants, Wreckers seemed to have the most tempting choices and what a brilliant decision it was to eat at your bistro.

Between us we sampled 7 different types of fish and seafood and the quality of not only the ingredients but the way they were perfectly cooked made this meal definitely the best seafood experience we have ever had. It was a lovely start to our short break in the area and we felt congratulations were in order to the chef and the restaurant in general.

Thanks for a great evening.

Karen and Ian McAthy

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Hilary Passi on 13 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had a lovely meal in Wreckers on our last night in Charlestown. Wish we'd found it earlier! The service was great and so was the food. It is the only place where we've found the liquor, Kummel too.

Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Diane Mackenzie on 4 April 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Both my son and husband are newly diagnosed coeliacs so too find a fish and chip shop nearly on our doorstep is great. They both loved it made them feel 'normal' again, the staff were friendly and service was great. Will return for sure.

Hewas Inn, St. Austell
Review by david morris on 3 April 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good food , Nice surroundings, and reasonable price. A bit squashed in.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by david morris on 3 April 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good food , Nice surroundings, and reasonable price

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by james shaw on 13 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

possibly the best curry house in cornwall and maybe britain, i have visited many curry houses and this has came out on top

The Ship Inn, St. Austell
Review by Nicola Trenchard on 13 March 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Every year our family annual holiday consists of four static caravans side-by-side at Pentewan Sands. One of our family traditions is to spend the last day of our holiday having a family farewell meal at The Ship. We have always found The Ship a friendly, homely and just a good old fashioned pub. The food has always been lovely, well presented and good quality home cooked food. We have indulged in scampi and chips, steak, ham egg and chips, fish and chips, lasagne and this year will be trying our first ever carvery with the locals. Watch this space!

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by laurence hazell on 27 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

took my cousin there for a meal on saturday nt 26th february.every course was first class.all cooked to order,she had praun cocktail i had whitebait for starters.main course was fillet of steak medium scallop potatoes broccoli.savoury pancakes to finish.washed down with couple pints cornish knocker j20 plus 2 irish coffees.very nice,definately go again when im down that way again

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Lisa Wilkinson on 26 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Thanks to the staff at Wreckers for consistantly providing an excellent spread. You are our first choice at every celebration beacuse of it!

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Hayley Mason on 19 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We have been to this restaurant tonight, having found it on this website and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious, service friendly but not too intrusive, toilets clean and atmosphere welcoming. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great indian food experience! :)

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Liz Eagle on 21 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My son and I visited this restaurant early on the evening of 19th August and really enjoyed browsing the extensive menu and eating the delicious food. The service was very good and the surroundings very pleasant. my son was delighted with the tender chicken korma and I loved the vegetarian option I chose. We recommend it to anyone looking for food in the area.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Sonia on 20 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is my favourite Indian restaurant in Cornwall! It has clean,modern decor but still feels authentic and cosy. Lovely tasty food that is served piping hot. There is a large selection of meals to choose from, I have tried many and none of them have disappointed my tastebuds! Yummy! The staff are very polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them, But at the same time they give you space and privacy to enjoy your meal. No hovering. Be prepared for a bit of a wait for your food as it is freshly cooked to order and they pride themselves on the standard of the fresh food they cook. So just get your order in asap and sit back, relax and enjoy your evening!! Another thing well worth mentioning is the Buffet nights! Sunday to Wednesday, Bargain! Also if you are a regular customer you have a discount card where on your 5th meal you recieve a massive 60% off your meal!!! Brilliant. Cant wait to go again next weekend. Highly recommended.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Sam and Ben on 19 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We want to say a big thank you to all the staff at Wreckers who provided fantastic organisation and a lovely wedding reception meal for our wedding a couple of weeks ago. The food was of a very high standard which delighted all our guests and the staff could not have been more attentive on the day. Excellent service! Would definitely recommend Wreckers for a large booking, special celebration or a simple meal if you are just visiting lovely Charlestown. Thanks again to all. Sam and Ben

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Ms Dillon on 15 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic service. Great food and coming from London where we have some fab Indian Restaurants this is a must if you are ever in St Austell.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Michelle Barry on 20 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Wreckers has a nice atmosphere and friendly staff.
The menu has a lot of fish on it and the restaurant has a specials board.
I had the mussels to start which were fresh and tasted lovely. My partner had the Calamari which he said was the best he had in a while, the batter was tasty but not fatty.
I had the Seabass for main with scallaps which was light and very tasty.
My partner had the traditional fish and chips which came up as i nice big portion and tasted good.
There were other dishes to choose from such as steak, chicken and pork but it seemed to me their flaire was with the fish.
We ate there around sevenish and by half past it was busy.
We didn't have pudding but there were lots of cakes displayed at the front of the restaurant that looked fantastic.
The prices were reasonable and there is seating outside to eat if the weather permits.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone passing Charlestown

Austells, St. Austell
Review by Mrs Shuter on 20 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Booked this restaurant in advance to celebrate our wedding anniversary. First impressions (located on a shopping parade) were slightly dubious but completely unfounded. Good quality sophisticated food priced accordingly. Friendly service. Definitely to be recommended.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Mrs Shuter on 20 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Came about this restaurant by chance and had a lovely meal. Great fresh fish and friendly service (perhaps a little slow but it was busy for a Tuesday night). Meal was followed by a pleasant stroll round the harbour. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Fusion Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Julie Broad on 7 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is superb, not just the ambience of the restaurant but the food and service, we went last night 6/5/10 and are going back again tonight! I have no idea why this restaurant is not packed each and every night. The staff could not do more for you and are genuinely nice ! You must go... have crab salad and the duck - its a must. Julie

Fusion Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Maralyn Harvey on 28 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We tried this restaurant for the first time last week and were very impresses. The menu is short but interesting and all the food is fresly cooked and beautifully presented. Our dishes were delicious a real 'fusion' of flavours. Not huge protions, but don't let this put you off, because there was plenty of flavour there. Service was excellent and the restaurant itself is beautifully appointed. My only slight reservation was the wine list, which we felt was a little pricey - however on enquiry we were able to order from the main restaurant wine list which has some more reasonably priced wines both by the bottle and by the glass.

All in all a thoroughly meorable evening and we will certainly go again.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Matt Waterman on 25 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great location and fantastic food - would highly recommend a visit! The mussels are amazing!

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Maria Nelson on 6 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

By far the most delicious chocolate brownie smothered with decadent chocolate sauce that I have ever tasted. I live in the Caribbean and cannot wait to visit the St. Austell area again so I can order, taste and enjoy that dessert once more! It was by far one of the most enjoyable deserts I have ever tasted and I have eaten in wonderful restaurants in London, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Lisbon, Cologne, Stockholm, New York and Toronto.

Seven Stars, St. Austell
Review by Sue Crane on 30 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

five of went to the Seven Stars, Helston for lunch on Sunday and it was excellant, even the roast potatoes were as good as at home,which seems to be hard for most rastaurants to do.
Service was also very good, we have been there for Sunday lunch once before and the standard was just as good that time too, we will certainly be going there again!

Austells, St. Austell
Review by darren bottrill on 18 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I am fortunate to eat out regularly and I think this is definitely the best restaurant in the area - if not Cornwall.
The food is top notch and the chef is on hand with suggestions and advice. The service friendly and personal. Best of all is the value. 3 courses of fine dining for under £30. Wow!

Austells, St. Austell
Review by darren bottrill on 18 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I am fortunate to eat out regularly and I think this is definitely the best restaurant in the area - if not Cornwall.
The food is top notch and the chef is on hand with suggestions and advice. The service friendly and personal. Best of all is the value. 3 courses of fine dining for under £30. Wow!

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Tina on 9 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is first class, the staff are great, very friendly and helpful and the food is fantastic. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Indian food with an excellent service and friendly & happy atmosphere.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by ann aston on 18 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i visited Wreckers in Charlestown, st austell last night, 17th December in a group of 4 to celebrate my birthday, it was the first time eating there, although it had been recommended, I can see why, the staff were helpful with a sense of humour and not too interfering. The food was excellent, starters generous, main courses for three of us was fish which was superb and fresh, the steak very tender, cannot fault the food, the only minor moan was it was a little cool in the restaurant and I was wearing a short sleeved party top. Well worth visiting I will certainly be returning. One really nice touch was the chalkboard outside that gave the names of the local fishing boats that caught the fish being served that evening a very nice original touch.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Geoff Arthur on 8 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a welcome place to be on a Sunday lunchtime having duly inspected the tall ships in the harbour. Wreckers is spacious and welcoming with a good range of local beers and cider. The wines were also carefully selected and a most agreeable Sauvignon selected. The excellent Sunday Roast was fully up to my best expectation with lamb that melted in the mouth and a good selection of vegetables and not a hint of the "factory food" you get in some places. I have a warning though: A small roast is quite large and a medium certainly enough. I hate to think how big a large roast would be! Good and friendly service completed a relaxed Sunday outing for the family on a cold Winter's day! I will return.

The Pier House Hotel, St. Austell
Review by John Pearson on 30 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Charlestown, a wonderful setting with the tall ships in the harbour. The food is excellent with the best service I have enjoyed for a long, long time. The sea food is fresh and full of flavour.

Eastern Paradise Indian Restaurant., St. Austell
Review by Sharon Park-Smith on 13 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had an evening meal here on Saturday night.The staff were friendly,the restaurant relaxed and informal.The meal was excellent-We had starters,main courses and everything was delicious.My husband had the Mirchi Peppers for starters-stuffed peppers, and I had the mixed tandoori kebabs, we had a Dhansak Chicken Curry and my husband had one of the chefs specialities for mains and the lamb was very tender and tasty.Cobra lager on tap complimented the curries and the meal was great value. We will definetely be back for more of the same!

White Hart Hotel, St. Austell
Review by Margaret Robertson on 27 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We were recomended to the White Hart by friends and they were not wrong food is excellent and service first class.A*******

The Welcome Home Inn, St. Austell
Review by Ann Matthews on 29 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We recently spent a week in a little village just outside St Austell called Par, "The Welcome Home Inn" was just that!! A very welcoming pub which served fantastic food and drink with a wonderful homely atmosphere the pricing for food was excellent, the service with a smile and warm reception was the best we had recieved during our whole stay. I would recommend everything that Sarah cooks and shall definitely be returning for more. All in all a great pub with good beer, good food and a fantastic family feel. Congratulations Mike and Sarah for getting the mix just right.:)

The Welcome Home Inn, St. Austell
Review by Rod & Suzanne Francis on 29 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic pub with good food. Micheal, Sarah and all staff are very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed our visits to The Welcome Home Inn would highly recommend. Hope to see you next year.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Gary Beard on 9 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is a performance in cooking, style and presentation. The staff are really helpful and friendly and it was just a great night. Everything is so fresh and you just think how do they do this. The chocolate cake! If | had a pound for every time I said ‘so good’ last night I would be a millionaire.
A real restaurant for the people.

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by SUSAN PENNA on 9 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have just returned from a delicious lunch at the Kingswood. The food was excellent, the service excellent and the souroundings very very pleasant. I would recommen this restaurant to anyone - especially the creme brulee!!

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Les Cooke on 6 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I visited Wreckers twice during our recent visit to Cornwall, and both times were very impressed by the service and standard of food available there. The choice of mainly fish dishes (as one would expect) was excellent and the meals were just as good. Definitely worth a visit but make sure you book a table as it is very popular. 5-star by our reckoning, with great local staff with great local knowledge

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Sue Turner on 5 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

On a recent tour of Cornwall we had a wonderful meal at The Wreckers. Great choice of fish, well presented and friendly service. My lovely veggie pasta made a great change from the same old stuff been having all week elsewhere.

The Welcome Home Inn, St. Austell
Review by julie barton on 18 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Welcome "Sunday Lunches" are superb and represent real value for money. Remember to book early or you may be disappointed.

Good proper food!


Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Ian Inglis on 9 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Recently had a nice week at Polgooth Nr St Austell. visited Wreckers at Charlestown a couple of times. The first time was on spec for Saturday lunch (Mevagissey cracked crab claws ans salad) That impressed, we called again on the Wednesday evening, my Wife had monkfish and lobster thermador, and I had pollock with a crab and parmesan crust, accompanied by a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio. Excellent product, beautifully cooked, served by very friendly staff.
We will definately pay a repeat visit when we are in the area again

Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Mr Whitford on 19 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

As I was diagnosed as a coeliac (gluten intolerant) 35 years ago, eating fish and chips became a distant memory! When I found out that Trebonney could offer gluten free batter I was eager to try it out. Now I can enjoy fish and chips again thanks to Trebonney! The staff are all very friendly and helpful and make our visits to Trebonney very welcome.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Mary Feeney on 12 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This place is a REAL jewell.
My partner had an excellent scallop and lobster thermidor and i had delicious local lamb. The whole place is steeped in atmosphere - it's a converted boat house - with a small terrace with views of the tall ships, but the main reason for coming here is the food.
I have eaten fresh seafood all over the world and have rarely seen so many delicious local ingredients treated with such loving care as here. Whatever you order from the home-made fish cakes and the surprisingly delicious pollack and chips to seafood thermidor or a large juicy steak you will NOT be disappointed. There is a healthy wine list and selection of beers to help wash it all down. Take my tip, eat an early lunch there first then explore Charlsetown, the museum and ships etc and return to Wreckers for a real treat for dinner. What a gem!

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Edmund on 25 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Quite simply superb.
Food was terrific as was the service.
My wife and I enjoyed the best restaurant meal that we had had for a long time.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by sheila on 19 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The welcome at wreckers is warm and friendly even when we just wanted a bottle of wine and coffees and every table was taken, they put us on the sofa. Fabulous! The wine was excellent and not overpiced. Next night we came back to eat and the baked cod with back bacon was the best cod I've ever had.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Carolyn Byers on 11 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A nicely restored barn-like building by the lovely harbour in Charlestown where the tall ships are moored, we enjoyed this meal so much in our brief weekend there we ate there both nights! Especially surprising as my partner says he only likes food that has 'at least two legs'! He enjoyed his crab and parmesan encrusted cod so much he came back again for cod with back bacon and garlic potatoes, and my seafood risotto with mussels and calamari was delish! Can thoroughly recommend the menu, dessert, cheese, wine and ambience.

The Pier House Hotel, St. Austell
Review by Alan Lowman on 28 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

have dined there tree times this year, not cheap but excellent quality and service, one criticism too much veg served

Austells, St. Austell
Review by Pam and Eric on 6 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had another great evening ,enjoyed watching the food being prepared then enjoying every mouthful, once you taste it you will want to go back for more .THIS IS THE BEST .

Reflections Restaurant at Porth Avallen Hotel, St.
Review by Mrs T Dickinson on 21 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic food, In wonderfull surroundings, We ate overlooking Carlyon Bay and had a really enjoyable evening, We will return in the near future and at christmas for christmas lunch. 10/10

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Sue Hendricksen on 28 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had two meals here whilst staying near Mevagissey. Excellent quality food and well cooked. The staff are well trained and very pleasant. Would recommend this restaurant highly but beg you to avoid The Wheelhouse at Mevagissey which was awful.

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Helen Jones on 25 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I dinned at the kingswood on the 6th september 2008 and had a excellent meal ! My steak was cooked to perfection and my friends meals were also cooked to a very high standard.
The restaurant is clean and the staff were very polite and efficent. certainly be going back.

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Georgie Wright on 25 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We found this lovely restaurant by accident whilst on holiday in Fowey Sept 08.

The staff were very polite, professional, helpful and welcoming.

The food was to an excellent standard, we had steak and it was cooked perfectly. It was served with plenty of vegetables some plain and others more of a side dish in their own right.

The menu wasn't huge but manageable for both visitor to choose and chef to prepare with fresh ingredients. There were also specials on the board.

I have and will continue to recommend this restaurant as we had one of the best meals there even though we turned up, without a booking, just before service closed.

We were not made to feel rushed and had a relaxing main, dessert and coffee.

While waiting in the lounge area to be seated a couple left who repeat booked for the following week, not sure if they were loacl but that is always a good sign. If we lived there it would be a regular haunt that is for sure!

Thanks so much to everyone at Kingswood, London Apprentice, St Austell.

Georgie Wright.
Letchworth, Hertfordshire.

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Mr Cousins on 15 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great food and great atmosphere. Very fast and efficient service along with polite service. Meal for two cost just under £50 and the food was moth wateringly excelent.

Hewas Inn, St. Austell
Review by Sam Lee on 9 June 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This pub is by far the greatest place to eat out. The service is friendly and the food is to die for! All home made and cooked to order. It's not fast food, it's good food served quickly and I must say the staff certainly know their stuff. The atomsphere is calm and friendly and the landlord and lady are welcoming to all who step through the door. All in all a fantastic place for everyone to try!

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Louisa Cotterill on 26 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate at Revival after coming across it in the picturesque port of Charlestown. The restaurant is made up of a relaxed large room within a typical cornish building. The menu was perfect, with around 6 starters and 6 mains to choose from. Prices are towards the top end but this is totally justified by the setting but more importantly the food. We had the fillet steak and John Dory. I have eaten at a number of top London eateries and this is far better than all of these. Service was discreet but efficient. I really believe that it doesnt matter what you order all will be fresh, well cooked and served with finese!! Cant wait to come back and sample more. Also excellent Lunchtime meals serving extensive pastas, sandwiches and antipasta. Go there soon!!!!

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by Dave Nash on 3 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had friends down from Wiltshire and decided to try the 'early bird' specials at the Kingswood Restaurant. What a wonderful place. Excellent service from friendly staff -well done! The food was nicely presented and we all left very satisfied. For £10.95 each for 3 courses was wonderful value for money. Well worth a visit.

The Pier House Hotel, St. Austell
Review by linda on 6 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ate here in May. Friendly staff and very good food. Crudites were a nice touch as we chose from the extensive menu. View over the ocean was superb. Would definitely eat there again

Kingswood Restaurant, St. Austell
Review by sorby on 6 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

this has to be the best meal i have ever had. it was delishos. i will be comenig back with frieds. i will say to come and have a great night and a great meal.

Wreckers, St. Austell
Review by Claire Gibbons on 14 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A 50th birthday is one to be celebrated with a special meal. Revival is the restaurant to go to. Superb food, perfectly cooked with discreet service. Any excuse to go again. Wonderful.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook