• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food and Drink Cornwall Food Finder Choose Cornish St Ives Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall Newquay Fish Festival

Restaurant Reviews in Redruth

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Linda Morris on 6 July 2014
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Dropped in on the off chance for a meal last evening 5-7-2014. Received lovely greeting ,everyone so friendly and to top it all enjoyed an excellent meal. My husband had pork loin and said it was the best he ever tasted , myself had lamb shank it was absolutely delicious and just fell off the bone. Thank you Treleigh Arms.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by big jon phaby on 24 November 2013
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

lovely meal. drive a bit rough, a little cold, atmosphere good, go again for sure in the summer would be better

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Stuart Wiseman on 23 August 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Only the second time I've been here and well worth the return. We went with a party of 24 Rotarian's and had the set menu. The food and service was excellent. We were made most welcome by the host Mr Sawalha and his family. The food was plentiful and very tasty. They certainly know how to prepare food in Jordan. Can highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys something a bit different.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Jean Cross on 18 July 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Carn Brea Castle is the best in the world.Unique, magical,simply out of this world.
I come back and back, every time I have a special reason to celebrate and just for a treat.
The food is exquisitely spiced,the atmosphere candle lit and the host is most friendly and welcoming.I have been coming here for over 16 years!Long may it continue!You will never regret choosing to come for a meal here.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by William Penberthy on 24 July 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the castle. The hospitality and the quality of food was excellent. Truly an unforgettable evening for my family. I couldn't recommend it more to any traveler visiting the area.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Julie Shuttleworth on 3 May 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Dinedc at the Carn Brea Castle last evening, it was amazing! The building itself is wonderful and cleverly arranged to accommodate diners! Mr Sawalha is an excellent host and table server. The food was out of this world. Very good portions beautiful tastes. We had friends over from Poland and they were blown away by the setting and food. Thank you so much.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Craig Jolley on 3 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

After visiting the castle for my first time back in 2009 i was hooked. It really is a resturant with a difference. From its hilltop views, to the candle lite corridoors, Carne Brea castle is as inviting as its hosts. The food is amazing and pleantyful at that. With its family run atmosphere and great food and prices, Carne Brea Castle is place you`ll want to visit again and again....I do

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Noreen Kitchen on 17 March 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Three years ago I invited friends out to a surprise dinner. Living in Redruth had never visited the restaurant. Excellent meal, congenial host, interesting setting, especially as one of my photos shows an apparition wearing a blue and white shirt ( the owner wore a white and red shirt)

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Christine Chard on 9 March 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

OMG Ive just had the most amazing evening ever! Drove up to Carn Brea Castle for an evening meal... As you negotiate the windy bumpy path up towards the Castle all of a sudden the views either side hit you!!!! Its like Fairy Land and the Castle itself is stunning! We were greeted at the door by the owner Mounir Sawalha who showed us up to our table. Mounir made us feel extremely welcome and asked us whether or not we were adventurous in our taste of cuisine to which he was so happy that we said we were. We said we would love to try Jordanian dishes and he did us proud. Stuffed Vine leaves, Pickled baby aubergines and the Hummus ALL made freshly on the premises were mouthwateringly delicious and the Lamb Kebab was to die for!!! Mounir really made us feel welcome and spent quality time with us. We finished the evening with a coffee Jordanian style which was perfect. Both of us cant wait to go again and try more of these delightful dishes and will recommend their cuisine to everyone. Thank you Mounir, Anne & family for a fantastic evening. 5* Chrissy & Mark

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Sarah Savage on 15 February 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Carn brea castle is fab ,we have been now half a dozen times and it gets better every time. I am a local and can see it from my back garden . Any one who wants something a bit differant or a special night out Its fab the steak cooked in whisky is awsom. The owner alwase makes us smile and if your lucky will play his drum . Igot taken for valantines day and it was realy loverly . Its quite rustic food and may not be to everyones taste but you realy should give it a go .

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Fred & Sue Mann on 20 November 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My wife and I started to dine at the castle nearly 20 years ago back in July 1992. I remember the date very well because it was the first place I took my wife for a meal in our courting days. It remains very special to us because of it's setting, the warm and romantic atmoshpere,the friendliness of Menear & Anne and of course because of the wonderful food. We have truly had many happy evenings there and hope to have many more.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Les and Lesley Osbourne on 29 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

best company best host fun and friendly best steak in whisky sauce pity i didnt order that nice moutfull off Les plate . but chicken good too. what a night . recomended

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by wendy larkworthy on 27 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

wow amazing what a lovely romantic and very friendly place to eat.I recommend this restuarant to all.The food is out of this world, best garlic mushrooms i have ever tasted.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by jayne pearson on 29 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Received a very warm welcome as soon as we walked in by the owner. Lovely atmosphere and surroundings, ideal for just a drink too with some comfy sofas. Granite walls lots to look at, an amazing mirror of the property. Had sunday lunch and it was excellent,beautiful tender beef, amazing yorkshire pudding perfectly cooked vegetables. Would highly recommend. Too full for pudding but they looked gorgeous.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Richard Menhinick on 30 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My wife and I were on holiday staying near Hayle and we found this amazing restaurant when we came up to see the Basset memorial. I phoned up on the offchance of getting a table, to find that we were able to take a cancellation made a few minutes earlier!
The views from the restaurant must be fantastic but there was thick fog when we arrived giving the place a real haunted atmosphere. However, the welcome we received was warm and friendly and we were given a quick tour of this amazing old building. The restaurant was full and there was a lively atmosphere assisted by the proprieter Mr Sawalha who was much in evidence during the evening - giving advice on the wines, ensuring that everyone was happy and chatting with the diners. Our starters quickly arrived I had stuffed pickled baby aubergines which were outstanding and very unusual. My wife went for a prawn dish which was beautifully presented and with an exquisitely spiced sauce. Main courses were the "special" steak pieces Jordanian style and Lamb kebabs - the flavour of which was so wonderfully intense. We ended the meal with some of the most delicious baklava which I have ever tasted. The service was excellent throughout and when the bill came we felt that the meal was superb value for money. We had a fantastic evening and although it has taken us about 8 years and 18 visits to the area to find Carn Brea - it won't be long before we find our way back!

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by Jeremy & Kathy Clark on 19 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Our first visit as a family and absolutely stunning. The food was plentiful & delicious - a large choice of starters to share, and my Fillet Cara main was to die for. Even my daughter, who is notoriously picky enjoyed it & said the Tiramisu desert was the best she'd had. Add this to the incredible & unique setting, not to mention Mr Sawalha's skills as a host, and you have one of the best restaurant experiences I have had in Cornwall. Thank you so much for a wonderful evening.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by ANDREW JEFFERY on 3 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

fantastic service and a 5 star meal ,it was so mgood we are returning this Saturday for another meal.
Many thanks for making it a perfect day,

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Geoffrey Howard on 26 May 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

Called in thispub looking for a meal yesterday, Wed 25th May 2011. I can only advise others to keep away, it is expensive for what they serve, I had what I expected to be a good traditional British dish, a ploughmans lunch. Three cheeses indeed, the salad was acceptable, the cheese, hardly traditional British cheese, a local variety called 'Yarg' a completely tasteless lump resembling cheese, it was completely devoid of any flavour. Along with it was a piece of Brie, yes a well known British cheese. Where was the Cheddar, Caerpilly, White Wendsleydale,Double Gloucester, Red Liecester, great British cheeses all full of flavour, not the insipid cheeses offered with this dish, yes my advice is to stay away or take a sandwich to enjoy with your drink.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by John Broadbridge on 8 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Visited with friends, and from the moment we entered the restaurant, it was like we entered a past time in history. You expected historic figures to appear at any moment. We ordered the mezze, and wondered why we were told to get there on time. As we were shown to our table, I realised why, as the table was covered with mouth watering food. It was fantastic. For the second course we had the lamb, and I have never tasted lamb like it, it was delicious. We will definately be back and I shall tell all our friends to visit, as they will not be dissapointed.

Carn Brea Castle Restaurant, Redruth
Review by jo pollard on 8 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

EXCELLENT!!! fantastic atmosphere - fantastic food - fantastic hosts!! Took my cousin and her hubby as a surprise - they were amazed at the castle itself and the food - we had a mezze and there was so much food and we even took some home with us! Loved it the first time and even more the second time! Well done all the family keep it going! Will recommend to all x

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Jake Bowyer on 7 November 2010
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

The staff were quite pleasant, the vegetarian menu was reasonable, however for the price I would of expected a bit better quality of food.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by K Cheesman on 22 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Carne Brea Castle is an extremely romantic location although hard to get to (along a potholed track) However the Views are stunning and the welcome from the Owner and family was outstanding. I havent even mentioned the food yet!! The food was delicious stuffed vine leaves starter were the best I've ever tasted, Hot Pitta bread with hummus and olives was lovely too. The mains I had Steak Cara (Fillet Steak in whiskey sauce)which was cooked to perfection and cut like butter, my wife had a tiger prawn dish which had loads of prawns and tasted divine. I had the Baclava a middle eastern desert and obviously shared this with my wife again - Lovely. I highly reccomend this restaurant but don't know whether to shout about it or just keep it for myself?? I will be returning!!!!!!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Kieron on 19 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant was recommended to me by friends and after looking it up and reading the reviews I was really excited about going. I took my wife as a surprise for our anniversary and loved the place straight away. The Owner and family were really welcoming from the off and the food was stunning. The stuffed vine leaves were the best I've tasted the hot pitta and hummus was great- starters over I had the steak Cara which was cooked to perfection and sooooo tender. The wife had the tiger prawns which was also stunning. We will definitely be going back!! Thanks to the Sawalha family for a wonderful night.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Rob mortensen on 16 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

One of the best restaurants I have been to.
The service was second to none and the food simply awesome.
We will def be back there at some point.
Would not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends

Coppice Inn, Redruth
Review by Mrs Kelly curtis on 30 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited the coppice today as part of a party of 9, 4 children and 5 adults. We sat outside so the children could play which was wonderful . All the food came at the same time which was great, it was all hot. All of us really enjoyed our meals and all commented several times about how delicious it was! The portion where really big! Well worth the money. The only downside was the toilets there was no pump soap just a dirty bar. We would all go back. I look forward to trying the carvery !

Inn for All Seasons, Redruth
Review by mrs sarah knight on 24 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

cant be faulted service excellent and food wonderful will be back

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Lucinda and Graham H-P on 17 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Back again , this time we pre booked the Mezze , and it was worth it , arrived to table heaving with food , had to eat some to make space for the rest of the starters, humous , mushrooms , dolmades , breads , liver , dips , aubergine and more than I can remember, all fantastic . Main was rice with two meat dishes ,a side salad would have helped but still great and to finish , which we were, a small plate of baklava. Another memorable meal which is part of what holidays are about.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by georgia on 24 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i think that is a reALLY PEACEFUL PEICE OF WORK AND DISCOVERY ...

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Julie and Patrick on 6 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic place, our Host was a genuinely funny, warm and inviting man. the food was amazing, we had garlic mushrooms and hummus for starter both were generous portions, well cooked and presented. For main we had fillet pepper steak and lamb kebab both were delicious the steak was so tender it cut like butter. The whole place has a wonderful atmosphere and its definately somewhere we will return a.s.a.p.

The Plume at Scorrier, Redruth
Review by Laura on 8 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very welcoming staff, quick service and the food was fantastic! good choice menu, nice and hot and tasted great. I recommend a stop here

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Kate King on 15 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We live close to Carn Brea and had always fancied going there. We booked for Valentine's night. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and escorted to our table which was very beautifully and romantically decorated. The ladies were gifted with a cute bottle of wine and heart shaped chocolates, I felt very spoilt and my husband a little jealous!! The interior of the castle was aged and beautiful with candles lighting it up, the atmosphere was magical. The host was lovely and made us feel very welcome and had a lovely chirpy personality which added to the enjoyment of the evening. The menu was a set one and there was plenty of choice. The food was delicious from starter to the coffee at the end, the attention to detail with everything was amazing. Well definitely be going back again, best valentines i've ever had!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Kate King on 15 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We live close to Carn Brea and had always fancied going there. We booked for Valentine's night. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and escorted to our table which was very beautifully and romantically decorated. The ladies were gifted with a cute bottle of wine and heart shaped chocolates, I felt very spoilt and my husband a little jealous!! The interior of the castle was aged and beautiful with candles lighting it up, the atmosphere was magical. The host was lovely and made us feel very welcome and had a lovely chirpy personality which added to the enjoyment of the evening. The menu was a set one and there was plenty of choice. The food was delicious from starter to the coffee at the end, the attention to detail with everything was amazing. Well definitely be going back again, best valentines i've ever had!

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by Jane Pleeth on 3 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had heard about this pub and eventually found time to visit and were not disappointed. The bar area is full of character with a nice fire and welcoming bar staff. We did move into the dining area which has lovely views over the reservoir. We shared a couple of starter the Thai fish cakes were delicious and the deep fried cheese with a strawberry couli very acceptable. I chose off the specials menu, lamb with a spicy stuffing , lovely lamb although I would hardly call the stuffing spicy, served with nice roast potatoes and a dish of 5 different very nicely cooked vegetables. All the mains came relatively quickly. We decided to indulge in desserts and ordered treacle tart and a bread and butter pudding amongst others these took rather longer to come and my treacle tart wasn't even warm but tasted delicious. We will certainly be going back, very good food at reasonable prices.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Jo Barlow on 5 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had heard great things of Carn Brea Castle...and it didn't disappoint! What an amazing, unique, romantic place to eat! The setting was breathtaking, the building was stunning, the food delicous and the welcome extremely warm! We had the garlic mushrooms and vine leaves to start - both dishes were perfect. There was a wonderful variety of meat and fish dishes and a very tasty vegetarian option for the main course.
The whole experience was completely unique and wonderful and one I am keen to repeat very soon. I have a big birthday coming up in a few months time - this will be the perfect setting. Although I am sure I will think of an excuse to go back before then!!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Richard and Jane on 18 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

WOW what a place, FANTASTIC. We had a great evening and WILL be returning. Food tasted good, hot and well presented. Amounts of food just right. Wine good too. Do go, it's a place that should be kept quiet really, and be kept away from the touristy tourists. Look just go and you too will be writing a positive review too. The owner of the castle is a great hard working man with a funny sense of humour, he added to the evening.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by MRS MARGARET JOHNSON on 7 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

MR SAWALHA IS A VERY GENIAL AND GENEROUS HOST. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT, THE VIEWS STUNNING AND THE ATMOSPHERE VERY SPECIAL. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by angela freeman on 18 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

this a restaurant where you feel you are going home.wonderful food.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Maureen Breakspear on 26 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A week or so ago we had a very entertaining evening with our friends where the food and wine were both excellent and our host was very welcoming and entertaining. We would certainly make another visit on our next trip to Cornwall.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Dean Glover on 13 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I frequently enjoy going to the fox and hounds for lunch, the staff are so pleasent and always have friendly banter and the food is always to a high standard and beautifully presented. Well worth a visit or two.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by MR 7 MRS JOHNSON on 12 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely excellent. Have been three times in the past couple of months, trying a new dish each time and have not been disappointed. Mr Sawalha is an excellent host. Have recommended to friends and family who have also made bookings.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Nat Mitchell on 2 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is the 3rd time we have been to the Castle, we had family visiting and they were truly blown away by the whole experience. The food is top notch along with the welcome you are given, the hospitality is a unique experience and we all laughed long and hard all night! Well done Louis for being a top chef everything was to die for, the best stuffed vine leaves I have had in this country. Yay we look forward to coming back.


Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Charley Kats on 28 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I came for Sunday lunch and it was fantastic, they had real roast potatoes and monster homemade yorkshire puddings so much better then packet junk.
I was really impressed with my meal and the homemade ice creams were fab.
we will definatly be going there again!!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Lynda Taylor on 27 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited this restaurant in August 2009 and we were blown away by it! The location was - well - 'unique' and the drive up to the castle was an experience in itself! The food was out of this world. Fresh and very high quality. The atmosphere was like we have never experienced before. The hospitality was superb and extremely good value for money. We most definitely will, and can't wait to go back!

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by teresa on 25 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fantastic service and atmosphere, friendly and very helpful staff, food was to die for, sufficient size meals, quality of food out of this world, reccommend to anyone, reasonable prices, i live in London and i would visit Cornwall again just to visit the Treleigh Arms, great atmosphere, this was the highlight of our holiday.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by teresa on 25 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fantastic service and atmosphere, friendly and very helpful staff, food was to die for, sufficient size meals, quality of food out of this world, reccommend to anyone, reasonable prices, i live in London and i would visit Cornwall again just to visit the Treleigh Arms, great atmosphere, this was the highlight of our holiday.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by sally gabriel on 22 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We took my Mum to the F&H Comford - our local pub, last Saturday - excellent meal and service. All the food is locally sourced, excellent wine list and selection of beers. I had the lamb, my husband fish and Mum one of their signature dishes - lasagne. Everything was perfect, the only negative - no one had room for one of their home made desserts!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Matt Dennis on 20 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great food and location and a fantastic host. This was our first visit but wont be out last.Thanks for a great evening.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Lucinda & Graham Hewing-Powell on 11 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent restuarant , wonderfully entertaining evening and really worth the adventure of getting to it. Clearly a restuarant that works on word of mouth and this website as the only signs are for Carn Brae momunent until you pass the place of no return when there is a sign for the resturant. The food is very good , and the host is spectacular spectacular. Do not expect and extensive wine list ( its red or white) and the other drinks are limited but the food and the experience more than make up for it. Lighting is by candlelight , would be interesting out of summer time , when we went ,views from the top of the castle are fantaastic. Definately going back.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Becca Taylor on 15 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having visited the castle numerous times I felt it high time to write a review.
The food is excellent, and Mr Sawallah a magnificent host.
I recommend this restaurant time and time again, even if Jordanian cuisine is not to your taste the atmosphere and ambience is unbeatable !

A******

Coppice Inn, Redruth
Review by Todd Sweeney on 12 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I just wanted to say what a great time myself and my family had at this pub in lanner redruth,operated by Rob and Ross they provide a very warm and inviting establishment,the food is outstanding,the calvary being our favorite plus excellent selection beer and wine,what also makes this pub a good place to visit is its large gardens which are well maintained and ideal to relax in while the kids enjoy themselves on a bouncy castle which is a great hit,.my little one loves it!All in all a top pub to go and see,i know we will visit it again and again,..ten out of ten!!

Coppice Inn, Redruth
Review by John and Carol on 9 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We recently visited the Coppice Inn for their Carvery, what an excellent roast dinner! The meat was tender and succulent, the roasties delightful and their gravy is to die for! The chefs secret recipe apparently, when asked. The staff are friendly and courteous, from the waitreses to the chefs to the landlord and landlady. Nothing was too much trouble. The prices are very reasonable and the portions more than generous. We are booking again for next week. Well worth a visit.

Coppice Inn, Redruth
Review by ethel on 5 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An ablsolute beauty of a pub! a true gem in the middle of cornwalls old mining industry. The atmosphere in the coppice is paramount (ive never met such friendly and happy staff!) and the food......well what can i say? truely devine, cooked to absolute perfection,its certainly not gourmet food but thats not what this area is about, this area is about proper home cooked hearty meals and that is excactly what justin and his chefs deliver, a place well worth a visit!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by James Mustoe on 25 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Have just been to the Castle for the first time. Fanatastic experience, the service was second to none and the food was superb. Unparalleled location, a great evening!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Bo and Dave Lemm on 22 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We spent our wedding reception with Mr Sawalha in Carn Brea Castle. The food was exquisite, the company sublime and the drum playing hypnotic. Thank you so much for all your help to make our special day unforgettable. The best restaurant in Cornwall, don't miss out!

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by vicki hawken on 15 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

delicious food, been many times thoroughly enjoyed it each time.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by phil andrew on 9 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

amazing food great place and fantastic host and chefs.a must visit for anyone who loves great food.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by phil andrew on 9 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

me and my wife went on wednesday 8th april.the food was to die for beautiful food and great service .will be going many times again.thanks to the owners and chefs(fantastic)

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Graham Jenkins on 2 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An absolute hidden gem! This out of the way Castle boasts expansive panoramic views all around, whilst holding a perfect mysterious aesthetic. This combined with the wonderful aromas of the kitchen and dining music provides a great backdrop to any meal.
The food is, in my opinion, fantastic. The dishes are imaginative and exquisitely prepared. The portions are generous and the attention to detail impressive.
I would, and will, recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a good meal in the area, and few people who aren’t as it is most certainly worth the trip.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by leanne on 24 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very good food and great employees

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by chris and shelly on 21 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

First discovered the castle 8 yrs ago purely by accident.Have visited many times and what a fantastic experience.We holiday in Cornwall from Worksop but our holiday is never complete without a visit to the Castle.Food,location and hospitality for us is the best in the country.Cant wait to get back this year

Penventon Hotel, Redruth
Review by Sue Collins on 4 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband took me to dinner at Penventon hotel last weekend.
Derek found the hotel on eat out cornwall as he was looking around generally. We are from Falmouth and were not specifically looking for somewhere in Redruth but he liked the look of the pictures online and the website so booked for dinner. We had steak and chicken duchesse which were lovely, really tasty followed by pavlova and tiramisu. It was real romantic with a pianist and live flambe too. The staff were really friendly and the place was intimate but lively. we got offered a discounted bedroom for the night on the Sunday we booked so we ended up staying and the breakfast was a full meal itself! Excellent place and we had never visited before, great prices and tasty proper food, not the arty small portions you find everywhere nowadays. We will be back!

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Sue Hayward on 1 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Now having eaten 3 times at the Fox and on all 3 occasions have been delighted with the food and service Top Marks A+

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Emma McCreadie on 2 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had a lovely meal here on Monday 1st September. Excellent Garlic Bread and the Fish Pie is amazing. Plus you get to chose from Chips and New Potatoes or Salad and Vegetables instead of just getting whatever the chef decides. Will defiantely return. On Mondays there is the added bonus of a fun pub quiz!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by jan greenfield on 1 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

wonderful evening wonderful food wonderful company wonderful view wonderful host with lots of stories

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Jane Chrispin on 30 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wow, we had the most fantastic night out. The food superb, the venue magnificent and unique and the host family very welcoming and entertaining. Pricing very affordable for such a nice experience. It would be a lovely venue for a wedding reception or a private party, just need to get someone to ask me to marry them!! I am certainly going to be eating out there as much as possible. It is not very often my partner can go out for a meal and really enjoy it as usually he has to complain about something. It is now his favorite restaurant. Due to being so good you do have to book in advance especially for weekends its worth booking a couple of weeks ahead if possible. 10/10 yum!

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Sue Hayward on 7 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Treligh is a lovely restaurant serving fantastic food the service is friendly and welcoming with a serious wine selection alot available by the glass. The whole atmosphere is relaxing with comfortable seating and candle lit for that extra little something. Full marks to the team for a wonderful experiance and fab meals well done.....

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by jenna johns on 30 June 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

carn brea castle is amazing. going to book a night with them in august for my birthday. i have been twice and everytime has been different. even thought they were both a night to remember i would go again.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by MIles Seegobin on 22 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Amazing experience. Very memorable, with spledid food. Definately a location to dine.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Nikki on 17 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a lovely pub, a lovely atmosphere, and absolutely lovely food! We were only in the area for 5 nights and visted 3 times. The steak was just about the nicest I've had, as can be said about every dish all of our party of 6 enjoyed every night! Spoilt for choice!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Lowenna Truscott on 27 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a great venue - the castle is beautiful and the food is excellent. The host is very acommodating and it's a real experience, especially if he starts to play the bongos! All together a great night out - we keep going back and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Jo Silcox on 26 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

One of the most extensive menus around with a wide range of dishes to suit every palate. All food attractively presented and beautifully cooked, with prices which represent extremely good value.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Deanna Blakeway on 22 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I was married here - both location, food and proprietors were just super!

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by julia & tony steel on 17 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Judith and Clive are very welcome every one, like family. keep up the good work

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Larkins on 5 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lovely Christmas lunch, Nothing was too much trouble and the standard of cooking was of high quality. Only critism if there is one is the large portions fatal if you are on a diet.

Inn for All Seasons, Redruth
Review by Emma. on 18 December 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I think this is the best place to eat in redruth, Very friendly, Good food, Luvley astophere. A great place.!!

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Paul and Karen on 2 December 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic place , atmosphere un matchable and the food was amazing , thanks to the owner for taking some fantastic photos of us inside the castle . Will definately be back next year . 18.10.2007

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Danielle on 12 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic dining experience - really unusual setting with superb service and excellent food. Will definitely be going again.

Carn Brea Castle, Redruth
Review by Kelly on 20 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A regular at the castle during the quieter months of Cornwall I've never been disappointed with the food or the atmosphere created here. Everything is brilliant. The menu is fab with a variety of delicious dishes which are so different to anywhere else. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Now that summer is nearly over will be back soon!!

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Mick and Feona White on 4 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A wonderful place to eat. The food is honest and home made...and it tells. The atmosphere is wonderful as are the staff. Please,please keep it like this. So many Cornish pubs have been spoilt.

Penventon Hotel, Redruth
Review by Clare Thomas on 12 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

had a great meal,family loved it.Can not wait to go back. The only place you can get proper lobster, thanks for a great night.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by matt sargeant on 27 February 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I am writing today to tell people of the pleasant experience i had at the Fox and Hounds in Comford. The drinks were reasonably priced and there was a huge selection of quality food to choose from on the menu. The service was excellent and i was served by a very polite waitress. The food arrived promptly and was cooked to full perfection. It is definatly an experience i would recommend to families, couples and individuals looking for a nice meal.

Treleigh Arms, Redruth
Review by Katrina Kent on 13 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We are becoming quite the regulars at the Treleigh Arms despite living in Truro. The food is always great, the prices are modest and the staff are most welcoming and helpful. We will continue to enjoy your hospitality.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by D Marchant on 24 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A really homely and cosy pub with a welcoming atmosphere catering for both locals and tourists. There is a wide choice of top quality food which is always well presented. I really enjoy eating and drinking at the Fox and Hounds and would highly recommend it if you haven't been already!

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Country Life Magazine Feb 06 on 21 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An 18th Centuary coaching house inn with blazing real log fire in winter, that you can easily pull a chair or two up to. Good food, too - they only use fresh local produce in their homemade dishes.

Fox and Hounds, Redruth
Review by Mr & Mrs Gabriel on 15 January 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We've been regularly eating here for over 3 years now. Every meal we've had has been carefully prepared, presented and of excellent quality and value for money. Alan and Sam are flexible, accommodating and friendly. My choice is usually from the selection of locally caught fish dishes and my husband is often tempted by the delicious home-made lasagne. We have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Penventon Hotel, Redruth
Review by Johnathon Swift on 17 October 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had a meal with my wife for a special occasion. Chose the PV after friends insisted we go. Have to say best welcome from friendly caring staff. The menu was huge, didnt know what to go for ended up with fillet with madeira, very good meal. Wifey had pasta also proclaimed a hit. The buzz was brilliant and the ambience old world with class. I would take any visitor to Cornwall for a memorable evening to the Penventon Hotel. A very good evening indeed.

Penventon Hotel, Redruth
Review by MARGARET AND GRAHAM JOHNSON on 7 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Never lets you down. A good selection of English and Continental dishes.

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by MARGARET AND GRAHAM JOHNSON on 7 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A wonderful venue, especially in winter with the log fires blazing. In summer one can see the lake. A good selection of plain food and plenty of it.

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by Mrs Judith Carn on 17 November 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we have visited you 6 times in the last fortnight and have enjoyed every meal and appreciated your friendly and helpful staff.

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by Roger Newbury on 17 November 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Really brilliant, good food and excellent service, friendly people.

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by Debie Humby on 17 November 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

this was the best meal of our holiday, Shame we discovered you last day but we will be back next year for sure

Golden Lion Inn and Lakeside Restaurant, Helston
Review by Ken & Sylivia Britnell on 17 November 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

our first visit pleasantly surprised. we will return with more of our guests

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook