• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall Newquay Fish Festival Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food and Drink Choose Cornish Cornwall Food Finder

Restaurant Reviews in Port Isaac

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by Erica Jones on 3 April 2014
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My partner and I popped into The Mote on a random spring Sunday afternoon. We were made to feel extremely welcome and had a great visit. We made some new friends and will always treasure our visit , with hopefully more to come in the future! I can recommend this place for its outstanding service, friendliness, and wonderful drinks! Two thumbs up!

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by sarah and ivan edwards on 25 February 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We came for dinner and the service and food was excellent nothing was too much trouble.

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by Velvet Revolver on 28 January 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We've been here twice now to this traditional pub. Warm and cosy with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. As for the ale - served to the perfect temperature. The Thai food is second to none. We've eaten in the premises and used the take away services. Very traditional food,packed full of flavour. It's become a personal favourite of ours.

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by Steve Pritchard on 30 August 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

have visited previously over lat few years with mixed results. Visited this year, service was poor, food even worse. Cheap frozen 'fries' gammon had a sickly thick coating of something which is not mentioned on menu. Other food was dry and obviously been overdone in a microwave. Expensive for such rubbish. Will not be going there again.

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by John Munns on 25 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

What a find, small cosy picturesque traditional cornish pub with welcoming hosts and attentive staff who as a team provide one of the best and wide ranging menus I have seen,and sampled in years. Food is well prepared and very well presented, high quality local ingredients and served with care. Highly recommended.

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by Ray Weston on 24 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Five of us ate Sunday Lunch at the Cornish Arms. The roast pork was the best we have eaten for some time. The deserts were beautiful. Service was as you would expect from eating at the home of a good friend. We shall definitely go again and will sincerely recommend it.

Golden Lion Inn, Port Isaac
Review by sarah goulbourn on 21 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

FANTASTIC!! visted last august (2010) and had a beautiful meal, extremely friendly staff and pub is clean and tidy and we throughly enjoyed it. would highly recommend eating out here. Visiting Port Isaac in a couple of weeks (june 2011) and will definitley be visiting for our dinner!! Thank you Golden Lion!! :0)

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by Sandy Harris on 7 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Popped in to Port Isaac on a whim on route back from The Eden Project - found the Moat and they let us book a table at short notice - it was fantastic and the service efficient and friendly without being overbearing. A rainy tuesday evening yet it was very busy and a wonderful buzz. Back here in Surrey we wish we could beam ourselves down there on a weekly basis to enjoy the ambiance and seafood flavours of such a wonderful place.

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by clare,gavin and fleur on 29 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fab fresh seafood in friendly, unpretentious surroundings. the mote resturant is child friendly with a great kids menu. the port issac crab and plaice was very good. we had a lovely meal and enjoyed some nice wine too. a real taste of the sea

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by clare,gavin and fleur on 29 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fab fresh seafood in friendly, unpretentious surroundings. the mote resturant is child friendly with a great kids menu. the port issac crab and plaice was very good. we had a lovely meal and enjoyed some nice wine too. a real taste of the sea

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by Gemma Church on 28 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I had a lovely stay at the cornish arms,everyone was very friendly.The breakfast was lovely,the evening meal was yummy&the thai food was to dye for!lovely little pub i would stay there again without a doubt i loved it there&didnt want to come home!

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by Susan Smith on 15 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We can highly recommend the Mote, food Fantastic, we were here in June, and had a few lovely meals, and are on our way down again for the weekend because i havn't stopped thinking about the crab sandwich's

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by Mark Goodchild on 14 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Discovered the Cornish Arms while spending last week surfing in Polzeath. Traditional Cornish pub serving good real ales, a good menu, but the icing on the cake was the Thai menu. I had the most delicious Thai fish cakes I've ever eaten, followed by a very spicy chicken dish, which certainly had a good kick to it. Great to find this sort of establishment amongst the generally very samey pub grub establishments and fish and chip shops. Landlord and lady were also very friendly and helpful. I will definitely return when next in the area!

Cornish Arms at Pendoggett, Port Isaac
Review by James Ross on 18 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

what a place an old cornish pub with great Thai food YES I said THAI food the best I have tasted and have been to many thai places,Good amounts of it.Cooked to the temperature you want mild,english hot and the best thai hot. looked after like kings by staff fab beer and a lovely atmosphere in this wonderful olde worlde inn.Its a must for outstanding thai cuisine.Nicely priced.Hope after reading this you will go and enjoy it has much as I did

Port Gaverne Hotel, Port Isaac
Review by Valerie Cryer on 4 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lovely lunches and superb breakfasts.

Golden Lion Inn, Port Isaac
Review by John Rimmer on 2 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Myself and my girlfriend visited Cornwall in June and went to the Golden Lion 3 times. The first time their chef was off and they arranged for us to eat at The Mote, the next two times were both excellent. Their seafood chowder is fantastic, its a really friendly place, and the beer is excellent-if only it was my local!

Golden Lion Inn, Port Isaac
Review by Abbi on 13 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Really nice friendly pub, food was brill, atmospher was great will deffinately be back soon xx

Golden Lion Inn, Port Isaac
Review by Jon Tyrrell on 30 October 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Hi, we were in Port Isaac last week and found the Golden Lion the best for food and for drink,and a very frienly welcome, i reccomend the fish n chips and the rattler cyder

Port Gaverne Hotel, Port Isaac
Review by Brenda Russell on 20 September 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here on 11th September with my brother and his wife (Derek Ewell) who has already left reviews. Although we didn't want a big meal what we had was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff are so lovely and make you feel very welcome.

The Slipway Hotel, Port Isaac
Review by Ira Jackson on 14 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate at this restaurant last night and the food was excellent. Except for a slip up on the steak cooking everything was spot on. The lobster was exquisite. The servings were very generous, especially the veg., which wasnt an "extra" ( which make a pleasant change these days). The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. This is definitely a restaurant to return to. However, make sure you park at the top of the village otherwise you will probably be in for a lengthy detour as parking near the Slipway is extremely limited.

Port Gaverne Hotel, Port Isaac
Review by Derek Ewell on 17 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic place to eat and drink in a very quiet Cornish Cove. The bar menu is amazing with plenty of choice for every one, and beautifully cooked and presented. The restaurant is also well worth booking with a good selection of meats and local fish to chose from.The staff are all friendly and efficient. My wife and I have been going there for 3 years now and can't fault it. Graham the proprietor runs an excellent house.

Pat and Derek Ewell (Dorset).


The Watershed, Port Isaac
Review by David Coxell on 14 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having stumbled across this gem on our first night of the holiday, we couldn't bring ourselves to go anywhere else the whole week. The seafood available on the specials board was always fantastic, and the steak and fish on the menu equally so. The atmosphere is extremely friendly, relaxed and not at all pretentious - All that matters is the food. We couldn't recommend it highly enough - It's even very reasonably priced, so there's absolutely no excuse not to go and try it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by J.Porrett on 5 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I went here in October 2006, the food was absolutely delicious and the portions large. I had some very fresh and perfectly cooked sea bass. However I did find a caterpillar in my mange tout! to be honest though it had burrowed itself in and would therefore have been hard to wash out, and I was given a full refund on my meal. My partner had the same and also enjoyed every bite, would definitely recommend, although the waitress was not particularly cheery... even before the mange tout incident!

Port Gaverne Hotel, Port Isaac
Review by Derek E.C. Ewell on 28 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I ate here twice in May of this year and found the food and service absolutely superb.The bar lunches are wonderful and quite reasonable in price but the restaurant was incredible. Nothing was too much trouble. Well done Graham & staff.
We shall be back in September

Derek & Pat Ewell (Dorset)



The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by anne spragge on 16 May 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

15th May 2005 A first rate meal, good reception excellent service ,welcoming professional staff. delicious scallops cooked to pefection. likewise the freshest cornish sardines. genuine,honest professional presentation and cooking, rare in this country! and much appreciated. Anne Spragge

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by Derek. E. C. Ewell on 23 April 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I recently visited The Mote while staying at Port Gaverne. What a wonderful meal we had served by excellent staff and superbly cooked. Pat had Scallops followed by Peking Duck with plum sauce and she thought it was wonderful. I had Thai Prawns followed by Monkfish & Squid with Singapore noodles. The food was so good that neither of us could eat a sweet. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced. Pat & "Delboy" Ewell Dorset.

Crows Nest, Port Isaac
Review by Jamie Sleeman & Lucy Asher on 27 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lucy Asher: The Crow's Nest has a very friendly atmosphere and we were made to feel welcome.Perfect views. I say that they also serve the best cream teas.Worth a visit and we shall pay a visit when we are on holiday again this year. Jamie Sleeman: Quite possibly the most friendly, charming, homely and welcoming pub I've ever been in. The people who work there are courteous and considerate, the food is wonderful, and the clotted cream and scones are so good they bring tears to the eyes! We stopped by last November when we had a three day break; we will definately be in again in May when we have a whole week down there. One of the best things we're looking forward to!

The Mote Bar and Restaurant, Port Isaac
Review by janet shaw on 27 October 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our first experience at the Mote - and it exceeded our expectations! Accompanied by our 15 year old son who "did not like oriental food" but chomped his way through chicken satay and then demolished a wonderful monkfish in brie and leek sauce followed by the "best chocolate torte in the world!" We had delicious prawn spring rolls and ginger king prawns followed by melt in the mouth peking duck in plum sauce (with beautiful real plums!)and the freshest thai red king prawn curry. No room for dessert, more the pity as they all sounded scrumptious! Definately on the list for our next visit to Port Isaac!

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook