• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Choose Cornish Newquay Fish Festival Cornwall Food Finder Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food and Drink

Restaurant Reviews in Polperro

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Somewhere Tapistro Restaurant, Polperro
Review by stephen newman on 12 December 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent service and Fantastic Food. Not overpriced. I had the Crab Linguine which I will certainly be returning for and my wife had the Mushroom Stroganoff which was presented beautifully. Excellent Evening and will definately return.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Mr and Mrs Hammond on 6 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a truly exceptional evening at Couch's. We were made to feel very special by head chef/co-owner Richard McGeown. It made such refreshing change to have the chef meet and greet you at your table and tailoring the menu to cater for your personal taste and talk you through each course (this applies to the taster menu - 7 courses!!). We opted for the taster menu and a fabulous red wine recommended by chef Richard who then created a menu that complimented the wine and our individual tastes in food. Each course surpassed our expectations! The portions were not ‘taster’ in size but full size portions and each one was a taste sensation. The produce was all sourced locally and Richard enthused great pride in explaining about the local producers. (Prices were very reasonable and considering the quality food, service and surroundings – priceless!)
We watched people outside as they read the menu and felt like we wanted to rush outside and tell them how fantastic it was !! Richard was there for each table giving the same time and interest to each diner.
The dining experience was one we will never forget; in fact we will be booking again and returning shortly.
The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly and with exceptional food – what more could you want!!
05.08.10

Blue Peter Inn, Polperro
Review by christina farrington on 29 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

well how does one start!! words cannot say the quality of the food,drink and service. all i can say is if in Polperro see for ones self.

Kitchen Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Lynn & Dave Jones on 24 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we visited Polperro in Sept 2008 and had the most amazing afternoon at the Kitchen,we sat outside in the sunshine and passers by where actually taking photos of it !!!!! we are going back this year and will once again be sampling the delights of the Kitchen

Kitchen Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Dilshad on 30 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I had a rare day off together with the kids at school so we walked from Looe to Polperro today with the idea of having a nice lunch at the end of it. As we came through Polperro we had almost given up hope of finding somewhere that didn't serve jacket potatoes, ploughman's or something with chips when we came across the blackboard specials menu for The Kitchen. Hard to choose from such a nice range but I plumped for the seafood quiche with Cornish new potatoes and salad. Apparently the chef/joint owner has cooked this for Gary Rhodes. I hope he enjoyed it as much as I did! A generous portion of fresh, light quiche with delicious shortcrust pastry, a nice leafy salad and perfectly-cooked new potatoes. My husband opted for a salad with a trio of smoked fish - trout, salmon and mackerel - served with a delicious local chutney and granary and walnut bread. We simply couldn't fault a thing and we are very discerning customers as ex-caterers ourselves. the service was second to none with Harry the owner taking good care of us. The attention to detail was what made it really stand out: fresh mint on the new potatoes, a jug of fresh tap water brought to the table. All the maincourses on the special board were under £7 and I feel fairly confident that I would have enjoyed each one of them. We'll be back!

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Gillian Mortiboy on 24 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I visited Couch’s Great House Restaurant in Polperro, Cornwall in April 2009 to celebrate my 40th birthday and all I can say is “WOW”! What an absolutely fantastic experience.

We booked by telephone in advance and on arrival were sat on a semi circular bay table in the front window. Extremely comfortable and we did not feel at all “on show” to passers by outside.

Richard McGeown himself welcomed us to his Restaurant, where we chose the 7 course Taster Menu. During our discusions Richard took great care to enquire about our particular likes and dislikes which then enabled him to create a perfect menu which we would both enjoy. He was FANTASTIC – every single course cooked was 100% to our satisfaction.

All ingredients were fresh and you could certainly “taste the difference”. From his signature Burnt Tomato Soup with black truffle oil and warm bread, his freshly caught Crab dish, then the most flavoursome Cod (we didn’t know fish could taste this delicious), the most wonderful Fillet of Beef, to his cup of Rasperry “popping” palette cleanser Mouse (I’m sure Richard has a fancy name for this – sorry Richard)!, then the most wonderful Fruity Panacotta followed by his delicious Cornish Cheese board, then Coffee that even came with to-die-for fudge pieces and white chocolate covered mango (yum yum) afterwards. I really cannot emphasise enough the freshness, quality and superb presentation of all the dishes. They all came accompanied with extra’s that really were the finishing touch.

We also took advantage of the Chef’s 4 glasses of wine selection (though shamefully admit we did add another glass to the list during the meal). Every choice complimented the food exceptionally well - 3 Whites, 1 Red and the most flavoursome dessert wine that Richard advised us to hold in our mouth’s for 15 seconds before swallowing. Superb!

If your concern is maybe that a Taster Meal might be as it sounds – small, tiny size portions of a variety of foods, you are way off the mark at Couch’s. All portions sizes were extremely generous (though must admit at the beginning of the meal we would have welcomed more soup but, by the end, was glad we didn’t !) and at the end of the meal we felt comfortably full and could not find room for absolutely anything else. Saying that, even after sampling all the different textures and flavours, we did not find ourselves guilty of that feeling of having “over eaten” and not able to move. (Well, we did have trouble struggling up Talland Hill afterwards but think that was more to do with the wine package and the additional glass of Champagne we had at the beginning – one step forward and three steps back if you know what I mean)!!

To summarise, a fantastic way to celebrate a 40th birthday with welcoming staff, pleasant ambience and superb food.. Excellent value for money. Don’t waste any more time reading reviews, trust me – just make your booking NOW. Unfortunately it’s a 4.5 hour drive from home so I am not sure when we will return but rest assured, we WILL return to Couch’s and hopefully not too far in the future. Thank you to Richard & his Staff for the perfect evening.

Finally, when are you opening a restaurant in the Midlands?

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by rod tribble on 22 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we stayed in polperro and while looking at the menu for couch's we were assured it was very good so booked a table and were not disappointed it was fabulous,cant fault anything. 4 courses for under £30.00. fillet of beef to die for. good selection of wine too. thanks to all at couch's for a wonderful evening. we will pay a visit to couch's in the summer.
thanks rod and julie

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Colin Stenning on 3 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have visited Couches on a number of occasions as we are regular visitors to Cornwall. We always try to finish off a visit with a trip to Couches as the food and the restaurant is so good. We usually finish off the evening with a walk around the harbour and look forward to our next visit.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Jayne Hookham on 4 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had our Wedding meal here in September and what a perfect end to a perfect day.

We received a warm welcome by Richard on our arrival and the service throughout the meal was second to none. The presentation and quality of the food was fantastic and we really don't know how the cost is kept so low (we had the 4 course option for £28). Excellent selection of wines. The chocolates served with the coffee were to die for - and we are still dreaming about them! Sad I know! The background music was particularly pleasant and unobtrusive.

The whole experience was just perfect and when we return to Polperro - hopefully not too far in the future - we hope to find this wonderful restaurant going from strength to strength - deservedly so.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Mags and Marcus Woodcock on 6 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

During a recent stay in Polperro(during festival week)we dined at Couches Restaurant.The first time we decided on the taster menu,what a good choice!,not at all what we expected ,rather than 7 mini courses of food as we had imagined the courses were of various sizes depending on the content,from from full size course to mini tasters .Without a doubt every course from the soup to the cheese was wonderful!.The service was excelent,the food superb and the cost,well we would quite happily of paid more.After a discussion about our food likes ,dislikes and any allergies we were served 7 fantastic courses.The meal was so fantastic that we booked again for the following night.needless to say we were not dissappionted and the following nights meal was equally as good.

Old Mill House Inn, Polperro
Review by hayley on 6 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i have been going down to polperro for years now and the mill house is somewhere where we always go a few times for something to eat we have also stayed there a few times which has been very comftable.

Polmary Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Mary Long on 19 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The atmosphere at this cozy restaurant is happy and the colors are quite relaxing. The waitresses ensure plenty of entertainment; they surely love their jobs. My waitress made herself right at home at our table while taking our order. The seafood platter is out of this world, fresh fish like brill and turbot and some of the largest shrimp I have ever seen. The steak was most excellent. I don’t think I have ever had so much fun at another restaurant.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Steve Waldron on 3 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I Dined here on 30th December with my better half and a couple of friends, yet another year having rolled by. As usual Couch's delivered the goods, excellent food and first rate service, all the food being cooked to perfection. I went for the Sea Bass on a bed of leaves and dressed with chilli oil, the flesh just fell off the skin and was not in anyway overpowered by the chilli oil, which sometimes can happen. My main consisted of fillet steak, cooked rare, served on a potato rosti with a mushroom and cream sauce, excellent. For sweet I went for the Champagne jelly accompanied with a raspberry sorbet, very nice indeed. The other three in the party also reporting that their food was of a similar high quality. Service was excellent throughout the meal, a nice touch being when the chef comes out of the kitchen and has an informal chat with you about the meal, something he has obviously picked up from his mentors Ramsey, White and Blanc.

I highly recomend Couch's if fine dining is what you are after, it is just a shame it is so far from Brum.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Hannah on 11 October 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is my favourite restaurant ever - the food is amazing, the service is excellent, the portion sizes are perfect and it's reasonably priced - the owner / chef Richard is really friendly and the restaurant itself has a great atmosphere. Anyone who's into food and is visiting Polperro must pay Couches a visit!

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Brian Rushby on 5 October 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Exquisit food,beautifully presented. Host/chef and staff very welcoming and attentive. Both visits during a weeks stay were without fault. Will definely return when next in Cornwall.

Polmary Restaurant, Polperro
Review by lewis on 3 September 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Best local fish eaten on my tour around Cornwall.


Cottage Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Diane Watson on 14 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband, Mike, and I are regular visitors to the Cottage Restaurant, visitng up to 4 times a year. Pam and Dave are wonderful hosts, the accommodation and food is absolutely excellent. We are happy to recommend it to anyone. There are many people like us who go back time and time again. We have just returned home from there to the West Midlands and cannot wait to go back, hopefully within the next 2 months.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Karen & Ralph on 25 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We discovered this restuarant purely by chance while staying in Polperro for just a weekend. We, plus 3 friends, enjoyed it so much, that we revisited the following night with 2 more friends. The restaurant is wonderfully modern and the food was unique, so tasty. The properietor, Richard McGeown, also joined his customers on both occasions to have a very informal chat which finished off the evening perfectly. Have already recommended to a work colleague visiting Polperro this weekend.

Cottage Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Barry Thomas on 19 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I have taken holidays at The Cottage for some six years now, everything about it is terrific. Pam and Dave are excellent hosts, from the accomodation to the restaurant itself is truly welcoming and more than comfortable, Pam and Dave treat us like royalty every time we stay there. We have yet to find a better place to stay.

Cottage Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Andrew Pill on 25 September 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate at the Cottage in 2004 but have only just stumbled across the ability to write a review online. My partner and I really enjoyed our evening at the Cottage where the food and service were excellent. Nothing was out of place and having eaten at a whole cross section of restaraunts in London and around the globe this is one of the experiences that sticks in the mind.

Cottage Restaurant, Polperro
Review by Jane Murray on 22 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited this restaurant whilst on holiday in Polperro in August 2004. It was so good that we went back a second time. Food to a very high standard and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and given with a smile. Hope to go back again this summer.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Jane on 16 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Brilliant food and excellent attention and wine recommendations from the head chef himself - a very amiable guy. Can recommend the mushroom tart and the vanilla panne cotta in particular, though all our dishes were excellent. The food is a welcome alternative to the usual seaside tourist fare as is the smart decor of the restaurant itself.

Couch's Great House Restaurant., Polperro
Review by Nikki Earl on 10 January 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is fantastic. The food is absolutely delicious. My husband and I had starters of goats cheese tart and crab risotto (both were fabulous) followed by duck cooked in Gran Marnier with potato rosti and mange tout and rib eye of cornish beef on a pastry circle with mange tout and potato cake and stuffed tomatoes with a foie blonde sauce. The duck was cooked to perfection and the accompanying vegetables were spot on. The Cornish beef looked spectacular and tasted devine. The caramalised banana tarte tatin with cream was heaven and the vanilla pannacotta was wonderful. The service was excellent and we even had a chance to chat to Mr. Richard McGeown himself. It was like eating in a top London Restaurant. We will definately be making another visit to this restaurant and have already told lots of friends about it. I understand that a Taster Menu is also on offer where you can sample small portions of all of the menu. We will definately be trying that next time. I understand that the restaurant is now going to be refurbished and will re-open in February. Highly recommended.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook