• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Cornwall Food and Drink Porthleven Food and Drink Festival St Ives Food and Drink Festival Choose Cornish Cornwall Food Finder Newquay Fish Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall

Restaurant Reviews in Penzance

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Italian Kitchen, Newlyn., Lands End
Review by Linda Pope on 6 April 2014
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

Had a lovely meal, food was substantial, although the menu could have more Italian dishes. No Spaghetti bolognese on the menu! Service was fantastic, friendly and attentive. However, tacky, sticky tables completely let the whole place down!!! Need revarnishing! Is this even hygienic!?

The Italian Kitchen, Newlyn., Lands End
Review by Amanda Lawley on 16 February 2014
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff, excellent food. Love the interior design.

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by penelope pollard on 4 December 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Eating out at the Alverne in Penzance is a real treat.The food is delectable,they certainly have a great chef,and the staff are really lovely.I love it there they have a great choice of menu.Will be going again this week.

2 Fore Street Restaurant at Mousehole, Lands End
Review by Lesley Smith on 1 October 2013
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We eat at this restaurant twice in the week we stayed in mousehole, first time was on a Sunday, where we both had a Sunday brunch, which I gave to say was delicious, we decided to book a table for Thursday evening(27th sept), while we both enjoyed our meals, wine and the great service, however, I was up no less than 10 times during the course of the night with stomach pains and diahorea, which it can only put down to the potted crab I had in my starter as my partner eat the same as me apart from that and he was fine, this did ruin the last 2 days of my holiday, and has put me off eating crab.

The Italian Kitchen at Newlyn, Penzance
Review by Joanne Wade on 16 August 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Delicious meal and lovely atmosphere will be definitely visiting again on holiday next year! Can recommend the chicken with asparagus and the veal. Chicken risotto was huge!

Ben Tunnicliffe at the Tolcarne Inn, Lands End
Review by Jan Greenfield on 16 June 2013
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wonderful meal lovely atmosphere but the tea and coffee at the end of the meal were virtually undrinkable

The Trewellard Arms, Lands End
Review by Mark and Wendy Boraman on 9 June 2013
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

We love the Trewellard Arms,it has a good old fashioned pub feel, especially when they have the fire going (can be a bit smokey!). The pub grub is usually great and you get plenty,including vegetables which can be sadly lacking in many pubs. Unpretentious,good
value.

The Italian Kitchen at Newlyn, Penzance
Review by Mazz Nash on 29 May 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This weekend we diecided not to cook but to have takeaway pizzas. They were delicious and still hot when we went home. The restaurant looked very inviting and we will be going there next. :)

The Yacht Inn, Penzance
Review by Wendy Ware on 5 May 2013
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

We are regulars to the yacht. have tried many other pubs and restaurants and we always land up back at the yacht. good choice, nice staff. very helpful. good prices!

The Trewellard Arms, Lands End
Review by Vicky Chapel on 4 May 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Some of the best food to be had in West Cornwall and I don't just mean pubs. Not to be missed. Huge portions and an excellent Sunday roast with loads of veg!

Pirate Inn, Penzance
Review by nicholas williams on 1 May 2013
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

Food ok, not a nice atmosphere - took nieces there and wasnt made to feel welcome.
worst of all, the managers dog - not friendly, and dog doodle in the kids play area 2/10

The Italian Kitchen at Newlyn, Penzance
Review by Conan Coatsworth on 25 January 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

After a wet and windy trek though Newlyn The Italian Kitchen was the perfect retreat. Warm, welcoming service and excellent food delivered speedily from the kitchen and a Head Chef who came and had a chat with us as we dried off. Top marks. We shall be returning.

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Carole and Nigel Beare on 13 January 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

First time dining at Alverne last night and we will definately be returning, excellent menu choice, excellent value for money, excellent polite happy staff,lovely warm cosy surroundings, all in all a very enjoyable evening.

The Longboat Hotel Inn and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Anne Page on 6 January 2013
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

Really good home made food. The Newlyn Crab salad is delicious, as was the home made cottage pie.

The Old Coastguard at Mousehole, Lands End
Review by Susannah Wilson on 22 October 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have eaten here three times recently, two lunches and supper. Brilliant. Fantastic fish choices and the chef (Bruce) used to be at The Gurnards Head Hotel near Zennor so I knew the standard would hopefully be good. It was. (Turns out that the new owners of The Old Coastguard also own The Gurnards Head !). A lot of refurbishment work has been done on the OCH and what a change.... just fabulous laid back comfort with staggering sea views, friendly and efficient young staff, squashy sofas, newspapers and heaps of books. I am so pleased as in the past few years the hotel was in dire need of an update both in style and menu. This is simple delicious food together with a wine list that is amazing value and if they are awarded any accolades, they certainly deserve it.

The Italian Kitchen at Newlyn, Penzance
Review by karl murrell on 21 July 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had our anniversary meal here tonight the staff were polite and attentive the food was served quickly, hot and delicious. A good choice well cooked and presented. I do suggest you need to save room for pudding as it is amply portioned and well worth savouring reasonably priced a good place for a relaxing evenings dining.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Joost Dobbelaar on 18 July 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We go there every year and the food is great.
Very enjoyable to go first for a drink and then proceed to restaurant.

The Italian Kitchen at Newlyn, Penzance
Review by Ewan Crowhurst on 9 July 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Friendly, efficient staff and nice interior combined with decent food make it a good bet for a night out. They had a menu of six dishes for £6 served before 7pm when we visited. I had the mussels from this. They were small but very tasty. Lasagne was very good and my daughter had the kid's fish and chips (nothing special). I would recommend it.

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Ann Jones on 22 June 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Always a pleasureable experience to eat this restaurant. Have been many times, lunch & dinner. Varied choice of food and always consistantly good. Lovely ambience and non-intrusive waitressing. Looking forward to my next visit.

The Italian Kitchen, Penzance
Review by Peter Maynard on 3 June 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

4 of us ate 3 courses each. Excellent starters with very good bread. 2 pizzas - super quality ingredients and great presentation. 1 Carbonara and 1 Gnocchi - excellent ingredients, very tasty. Maybe a bit more sauce with both? Puddings rich and choclatey - just the job. The staff were lovely and the service very good. A note for the restaurant - the table tops were sticky, they need some elbow grease.
Just a note for the website - this restaurant is in Newlyn, not Penzance

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Lesley Jennings on 24 May 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This has to be the best fish and chip restaurant in Penzance. The fish is always very fresh and we have never had a disappointing meal there. If we are staying in Cornwall, as we do most summers, we always make a point of eating here at least once, as the whole family look forward to it.

Old Coastguard Hotel and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Graham Benson on 23 April 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had 3 wonderful nights en famille at The Old Coastguard and their food and drink,if aything, just got better and better as the bank holiday weekend progressed. A simplicity of style and application in the kitchen matched with superb, original skills delivered wonderful breakfasts and dinners three times in a row !! Vegetables are inventively prepared and served in a manner not encountered elsewhere. The wine list has big bargains and good choices from unusual places. We'll be back !

Waves Cafe Bar, Penzance
Review by sam connor on 31 March 2012
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

Well great whitebait but it stops there. My friend ordered a burger for her child which she forced to eat while we ate the fish. At our meal neared the end my friend decided to sample the burger and was disgusted at what had been presented. It was a dry burnt offering. She apologized to her daughter and asked me to talk to the owner. I informed him that the burger was not very pleasant to eat at the least . He informed me that chargrilling leaved burgers in that state. I’ve had better burgers turning up late to a drunken bar-b-q 2 hours late. He went away to the kitchen only to return to say that he and the chef had sampled the burger and found nothing wrong with it, that we would have to pay for it or he would phone the police. I informed him of my rights and said i would pay him £1 for the salad. And that if he was that way inclined he should summon them. He went away and moment later came back and spat the words “you can pay the bill but forget the burger. I could see you where trouble when you came in and don’t come back." or words to that effect.
I must admit the gentleman’s treatment of my friend and I, and the 2 8years olds dinning with us had predetermined our unlikely return.
In all an unpleasant experience.

The Gurnard's Head Hotel Inn and Restaurant, St. I
Review by Penny Gould on 29 March 2012
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

We enjoyed some innovative and interesting flavours with alexanders soup & an oyster rissole, but the portions were meagre in relation to the prices, luckily our friends saw the funny side and we made a joke of looking for the promised elements of each dish. The passionfuit mousse was lovely but on our second visit inside a week we were advised that it was not suitable for vegetarians, having already ordered and eaten it once. I was disappointed by the acidic white wine; not good value as I didn't finish my glass - a first I think. Fine selection of rum though. Real ale was very average.

The Yacht Inn, Penzance
Review by Lucy Pearse on 23 March 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We went on a Friday night, very friendly lively pub it was steak night so I had a yummy steak for £6 couldnt beat that price, we have a little baby and they were very helpful. Would definelty recommend to families and couples. Thank you for a yummy meal.

The Longboat Hotel Inn and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by graham coombes on 17 February 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

the meals are very nice especially there sunday carvery.the staff are very friendly and helpfull.ill recommend it to anyone who would like a family meal

Turks Head, Penzance
Review by Luke Ridge on 16 February 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Very good , I had the 21 day rump steak and it was fault less . The ale is great too

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by karen bray on 22 December 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

went tonight for meal with family. Wonderful atmosphere and lilliana is lovely you should give it a go the food is fantastic and i promise you wont be dissapointed shall definately be returning to this little gem.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Karenza Bailey on 4 November 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Myself and my partner come her a lot, whether we are on our own or with friends. The food is of a very good standard and the service is relaxed and friendly, which is all you want in a restaurant. If you are looking for fine dining food and service then it's not your place, however!! If your looking for really good food with lots of local produce, a good choice of menu and a friendly service then this is the place. As a local I know that once upon a time it was a old wharf side building pulled in all the goods shipped in from sea, and with no road out the front, the ship unloaded next to the granite building. The restaurant keeps in touch with the history which I find unique and quirky.

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by liz leigh on 8 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

i came here with my family on 26th sept2011. we all had an enjoyable meal and were made to feel very welcome. the youngest of our group (only 16mths old) had a special fish shaped plate for his meal. we all wanted to try the deep fried Mars Bar(but weren;t sure about it!!) so asked if could have one between us. no problem. very enjoyable evening. thank you.

Waves Cafe Bar, Penzance
Review by amanda haynes on 30 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

beautifull prepared food excellent service and friendly staff also caters for baby needs which was great can not wait go back

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Simon Farnell on 26 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent food well presented, Very good wine choice and friendly non intrusive service - all at a resonable price too!
I shall be returning to this establishment and recommending it to friends.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Hannah Clarke on 4 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Just came back from a lovely Sunday lunch at The Sportsmans, fantastic choice of local produce, Guaranteed you will not leave hungry.
Most definitely reccomend the restaurant to anyone......Staff were extremely friendly well mannered.
Cannot wait to go back!

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Matthew Yaxley on 4 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent food & Service!!!!

Would highly recommend the sportsmans arms to anybody, had an extremely enjoyable meal, fresh local mussles were Fantastic!! had to be the best mussles I have ever eaten and needless to say i did not hesitate in polishing off the plentiful portion!!!!

Brilliant selections of real ales, beers and ciders and not forgetting the desserts! wide menu of home made desserts, my wife enjoyed the cornish cheeseboard and therefore we will most DEFINATLY visit the sportsmans again when we are back in Cornwall!!!!
Thankyou for a fantastic experience!

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by John Dowdeswell on 8 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Recently stayed in Heamoor which is walking distance to this pub and cannot recommend it too highly.Great atmosphere great food and me and the family made to feel really welcome .Must do the steak and curry nights as superb value .Hope to be able to revisit in the future

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Simon Burnett on 5 August 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I took my family of 7 for dinner at the Boatshed
A warm welcome and great service afforded us a terrific evening out, the whole family thoroughly enjoyed the range of food whilst I personally relished the abundance of fresh fish on the menu.
The desserts were equally delicious and the selection of wines and beers fitted all tastes.
A big thanks from all of us, you'll be seeing us again!

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Tim and Marie Pullen on 23 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food was consistently good (went twice) and well presented. The "Specials" changed regularly to provide plenty of variety. The staff were friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. A relaxing environment.

Ricardo's, Penzance
Review by John Gabb on 20 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I cannot rate Ricardo's highly enough. A thoughtful and perfectly prepared menu meeting excellent value and a wonderful host makes Ricardo's in my opinion the best restaurant in Penzance and deserves a visit.

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by sandra filek on 9 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had a wonderful dinner at Gino's during our weeks stay. Our only regret was we discovered it at the end of the week! This is an authentic old style Italian restaurant with lots of mouthwatering choice! The local fish done in an Italian way is a delight, I started with fish soup which was out of this world! This is Italian food at it's best not only like Mamma made but better! More authentic than eating in Italy! All washed down with a bottle of Orivieto Classico which is our favourite Italian wine but not often seen these days! Just to complete the perfection the restaurant overlooks the sea and we were served by Lilianna the most charming proprietress whose attentive service deserves your business!!
I asked Lilianna for cards to put in the recommendation book at our holiday let so that others can enjoy this great place for dinner! We will be back!!

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Linda Edward on 6 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had the best meal of our whole two weeks here, and a comfortable stay too, with our dog. Breakfast was also outstanding, but it is the dinner we shall remember for a long time. We shall return, hopefully.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by john cuthbert on 3 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have been looking for a place to eat , just good english food,now i have found it ,when i say looking its took us 11 yrs.If you want good food ,cook just right at a resonable price ,you will not do better than "THE OLD INN" at Rudgvan ,Penzance.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Phil Tiney on 6 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Been to the Boatshed on several occasions and always had wonderful food. The restaurant is execellent with great value food and atmosphere is lovely. Recommend the restaurant for evening dining and cafe nice for daytime coffees and lunch.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Julia Vilardi on 6 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have just returned from a week in Penzance, staying at Rumstore #5 apartment which was wonderful. Had three wonderful dinners at the Boatshed Restaurant. Great Sunday Lamb lunch, marvelous steak cooked by Nigel the owner, and a wonderful fish dinner on our last night. Fantastic cheese cake. Would definitely recommend both the apartment and the restaurant. Nigel was a wonderful host.

Ricardo's, Penzance
Review by Steve Smyth on 12 May 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

As a short stay visitor to Penzance, I sought out a Pizzeria, or an Italian restaurant, where I might order a pizza. When I discovered Ricardo's I though that this would be ideal, and I was right! As expected, I was able to sit down and order a pizza which was cooked to perfection, and served promptly too by a very helpful waitress. Later, Ricardo himself arrived and he was equally pleasant. No criticisms at all! Except, maybe, to get a licence so that an Italian beer or two may be drunk with the meal but not important!! I'll certainly come again when I next visit the Southwest of England.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by john cox on 6 May 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A very good clean pub with a good atmosphere and pleasent staff. We picked a quiet night as we were the only people in but we were still made very welcome and we had a well cooked meal.I could recomend this pub to anyone who is ready to eat well and not feel let down.

The Trewellard Arms, Penzance
Review by Claire Skinner on 4 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Myself and my partner just spent a week in cornwall in a cottage across the road from the Trewellard Arms. They were very welcoming and friendly and the food was outstanding. We especially recommend the sunday roast which came with about 8 or 9 different vegetables, one of the best roast dinners we have experienced at a restaurant...top marks! My partner also enjoyed sampling the many ciders on offer in their beer festival, especially the Shark Bite! We hope to revisit again soon.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Stéphanie Encontre on 26 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

It was simply to die for !! Excellent, delicious traditional dishes from local farms and very friendly and willing people. I would most definitely recommend it.

Si vous passez sur Penzance, n'hésitez pas à manger dans ce resto. La nourriture vient des fermes environantes, le personnel est vraiment sympa et vous ne vous ruinerez pas !

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by Elizabeth Lindley on 22 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Eating out at Gino's is a great occasion. The menu is superb, with a good choice of dishes from pasta to steaks and other meats. With friendly good service, and a stunning view, this is a restaurant worth visiting time and time again.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Samantha Adams on 21 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I recently visited The Boatshed with my family and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. I don't normally write reviews but was so impressed by the quality of my evening I had to make note. Welcomed by friendly staff and seated at a gorgeous wooden booth, the food served up was delicious and of a good portion size. With an extensive menu from fresh fish to a nice juicy steak, and a good selection of sharers too for bigger groups to nibble on, I will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family. And the desserts...save some room for cheesecake!

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by Lyn Chester on 21 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

4 of us went to Ginos very recently (Mrch 2011) and we had the most wonderful meal ever. Top marks for Ginos, and we cannot wait until we go again in 3 weeks time. Highly recommended!

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by clare williams on 21 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have travelled extensively round the U.K. The wheelhouse restaurant is the best I've eaten at. Their Carvery is excellent.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Ashley Martin on 16 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I usually visit Cornwall around Easter time each year, sometimes its hard to find a comfortable restaurant that will accept large families and offer a great range of freshly prepared food. This year our B&B recommended The Boatshed Restaurant, the location and décor was fantastic, taking influences from the very material the restaurant is constructed from, old ships masts used as timber beams and nautical artifacts made this dinning experience somewhat special. The ambience was good, the staff were attentive and well informed and the food was the best we have had in our ten years plus of visiting Penzance. If you are lucky enough to visit The Boatshed, I suggest the Special Sirloin Steak or one of their fine fresh local fish dishes. Five Stars, see you in 2012.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Jim Richards on 14 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

After having dined at The Sportsmans on several occasions now, I felt I just had to write a review - the first time I've actually ever written a review for anything.
On every occasion it has been an excellent evening out. The food, BRILLIANT - locally sourced, homecookedand always plentiful, you will never leave hungry. There is a wide selection, something for everyone. There is also a wide choice of beers and wines; and all of this is extremely reasonably priced.
The service is excellent, friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant is suitable for all ages, I've taken my elderly parents and demanding friends, all leave having had a great evening out.
This is an excellent restaurant that is well worth a visit and comes with our highest recommendation.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Peter Crumpler on 13 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The quality of food and service in this pub/restaurant is second to none. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough to make the dining experience a pleasurable one. The menu is interesting and always has a variety of choices - including some excellent vegetarian dishes; the quality of the meals is excellent too - always very tasty and hot and wine prices are reasonable. It's the sort of place you can take elderly parents and youngsters and everyone will find something to satisfy them.
Long may it continue!

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by latasha hollins on 11 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

very friendly, welcoming and fast service.
food was excellent and catered for my children too.
defenatley reccommend the carvery 5*

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Melissa Robinson on 9 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

this place is so friendly and relaxed i could hardly believe that it was so busy and all the staff remained calm and paid attention to each an eevry one of us. As for the food i do not know where to begin, it is very tasty and worth every single penny, we have returned many times on our holidays and would not come to cornwall without paying the boatshed a visit now.

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Christine Manner on 9 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I recently went to this restaurant for the first time the food was outstanding along with the service it is definitely a holiday eat out to go, I strongly recommend it.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by BEV CALLINGTON WALKDEN on 5 March 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

WE HAD A BRILLIANT MEAL AND THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD. THE PROPRIETER WAS VERY EFFICIENT AND WE WERE NOT KEPT WAITING FOR THE VARIOUS COURSES WE HAD. MY WIFE BEING A SMALL EATER WAS VERY WELL CATERED FOR AND SAID THAT THE SATAY SAUCE WITH THE BREADED MONK FISH WAS TO DIE FOR.
WE WILL NO DOUBT GO THERE AGAIN

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Kirsty Cooper on 15 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This restaurant has the most amazing view in Cornwall and the meal matched this view perfectly. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was superb. One of the best places ive been for food in a long time

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Matthew Madron on 15 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I recently took my girlfriend to The Old Coastguard Restaurant for a Meal. I have eaten here before but not for a year or two and was delighted by the new menu. It gives a wide choice of foods and has a good selection of fish which I expect in any restaurant in and around Newlyn. All the produce was local and both the bar and waiting staff were exceptional and were pleased to help with any questions I had about the menu. The prices were very reasonable and the portions generous. Thank you for a fantastic night

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Chouka Price on 12 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent meal. Lived up to expectation. Good choice of local produce. Very well presented. Great ambience. Friendly staff. Amazing location

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Elaine Warner on 27 October 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a treat! Both the bar and dining area are attractive and appealing. The crusty bread sticks, olive oil and balsamic vinegar were the first clue that this was going to be well above average. The food didn't disappoint. The menu offered a number of interesting choices. Owners pride themselves on using local suppliers and doing most items in house -- soups, dressings, etc. I opted for scampi -- fresh, local wholetail -- while my husband went with meaty pork ribs with home-made barbecue sauce. Both were excellent. Another time I plan to try a cheese plate featuring local artisan cheeses. Prices were moderate -- dinner entrees between 7 and 13 pounds. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent value.

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Kevin Lawry on 23 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I ate here on my holiday the owner/chef is a really nice bloke, we had a nice chat and a really good piece of fish. Not a 'posh' restaurant, but good food, well made by someone who loves to cook. It was one of the best meals I had on our holiday and the most reasonably priced - I recomend it without reservation

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Katy Mountstephens on 19 October 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I Love Renaissance cafe, The Food is quickly served,the presentation is always Great and the Food is amazing! But what i like most about Renaissance is the Lovely friendly Staff, who are always Smiling and So polite. I go into renaissance everytime i am in town, because it is really relaxing and has got a lovely view! i would recommend Renaissance cafe to anyone especially the Magherita pizza & a Summer breeze to Anyone!

review by Richard Wedgwood
Review by Richard Wedgwood on 3 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Very tasteful surroundings and beautifully prepared food. Definitely worth a visit - looking forward to going back! *****

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Mrs Velma McGready. on 25 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A most enjoyable Thai meal

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Mrs Madeley on 22 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a fantastic meal in this restaurant. food is absulutely perfect and staff are great. We definitely coming back again here...

Pizza Patio Al Fresco, Penzance
Review by Derek Frost on 13 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

As a 'mature' diner of more years than I care to disclose, I have to say that the squid starter, the fillet steak main and the delightful chocolate torte were possibly the finest I've ever enjoyed anywhere in the world. This little coastal gem HAS to be experienced!

2 Fore Street Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Jo O'Connor on 3 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My sister and I had an amazing lunch recently at this restaurant. The food was wonderful, from the selection of homebaked breads to the simply but beautifully presented fish dishes. The excellent food was matched by a great wine list. Our only complaint was that the table for two was two small to hold all the dishes we had ordered! It was a fantastic lunch and easily stands out as the best of all the restaurants we had visited in that week's holiday!

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Edward Brush on 29 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went to the Renaissance Cafe and Bar on two seperate occasions in August 2010. On both visits the service was excellent, the food quality was superb and the costs were extremely reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending the Renaissance to everyone both local and visitors. Very well done and thanks for making our visits so enjoyable.

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Miss James on 8 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is my favourite restraunt in penzance.I have enjoyed both lunch and dinner.The basic menu is a pleasure of freshly prepared delights and ideal for lunch with the girls. I must say that when I dined in the evening I was pleasently surprised that the standard was raised again and the views, to die for.Its so lovely to see local fish and produce used and prepared. Highly recommended.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by Rebecca Sackman on 4 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Mackerel Sky not only serves really nice, reasonably priced food in a lovely tranquil setting, the staff are really nice - I accidentally left some cash on a chair during my recent visit there and I phoned them after leaving and they had found it but were very happy to send me the money in the post! Recommended.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Geoff on 27 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife, young son and I visited Penzance in July on vacation from our home in Boston in the United States. We had a fantastic meal at this restaurant. The food was really good, and the service was attentive. My wife, who was originally from Thailand, praised the food for its authenticity - it tasted just as it would in Thailand. Although we only had a limited time in Cornwall, we returned to the restaurant for dinner a second time a few days later, ordered different dishes, and were again delighted. Strongly recommended.

Pirate Inn, Penzance
Review by Kagool and the gang on 24 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We first arrived feeling tired and hungry and was met with a warm welcome and a lovely smooth guiness. Good selection on the menu we choose curry and beef stroganoff which was freshly cooked to perfection. The puddings were home cooked and fab. We returned a couple of day later and was not disappointed by the high standed and quality of food. The service was friendly and really efficient and would recommend it to anyone. A real treasure. Arrghhh

2 Fore Street Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Lucinda and Graham H-P on 17 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutly fantastic , high reccommend. We found this wandering around Mousehole for the sea salt festival , we sat in the garden out back , sheltered from the cornish wind , very attractive , the staff were great , I asked for my sandwich to be a salad , not a problem and when it arrived it was superb , my husband raved over his mackerel and the children very happy too sharing a bowl of chips alongside a crab sandwhich . It was all so good we had to try to the puds , a trio if ices and a fantastic choc tart for my husband who by now was sitting in corner with big grin on his face .Will be telling all our friends heading down to cornwall.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Jase C on 20 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The best take-away out there. Beats Chinese and Indian anyday. Always busy, always friendly. Enjoy.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by patricia pratt on 11 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

food is excellent , very friendly atmosphere and friendly staff, very clean. and very good prices. pizzas are awesome.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Nicholas Boulton on 2 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went for a drink at the old inn and found a pleasant and welcoming pub with friendly staff who served fresh and tasty food in generous portions alongside proper Cornish cider. Would recommend!

Union Hotel, Penzance
Review by Alec King on 31 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A little hard to find but the Sunday Lunch is excellent. A real sense of old world charm. Even better now they have extended the dinning room

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by victoria donner on 17 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

besides having a striking view of penzance harbour, the renaissance serves tasty, fresh, local food and has delightful employees. don,t pass it up if you're in the area of lovely penzance.

Logan Rock Inn , Penzance
Review by naomi deborah walton on 5 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

great food in a beautiful traditional pub in beautiful country, lovely food too!

Logan Rock Inn , Penzance
Review by naomi deborah walton on 5 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

great food in a beautiful traditional pub in beautiful country, lovely food too!

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Duibhne Gough on 22 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food is fantastic and reasonable. The staff are lovely. My favourite place in Penzance.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by jeannette mary larkin on 25 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Situated in Ludgvan this Inn is full of surprises.A lovely warm fire greets you with a relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff and dogs are welcome. The menu offers traditional food as well as a fantastic selection of huge Pizzas with mouthwatering choices that it is difficult to choose as they are all excellent and are made on the premises. Real Ale and reasonable wine.Look out for the wall paintings of Ludgvan over a century ago All goes towards a lovely experience.

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Nick Tatham on 13 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I ate in the Sportsman's while passing through the area earlier this year. The food was so good I went back again for more 3 days later. There is a wide range of dishes on the menu, all of excellent quality, generous portions and beautifully cooked. Yet the prices are very reasonable. And the staff are very friendly as well. I'm going back that way soon and will go and eat there again I'm sure.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Graham Williams on 6 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent Sunday roasts, served from 12pm to 8pm, and only £5.95 as well. Very generous size meal, have been twice now and struggled to eat it all.
Lovely village pub, well laid out, with a nice warming fire and and a lovely welcome.
Will certainly be visiting again.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Norman and Marrylyn on 4 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had a super lunch. Food piping hot. Steak cooked absolutely as requested. Proprietors Nick and Gaye, charming and the ambience reflected this. Will certainly be back together with the family especially as gammon about to go on the menu.

The Trewellard Arms, Penzance
Review by gerry & amanda on 29 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

great menu,sunday lunch not to be missed,good ale selection,great atmosphere,best pub in the west!!

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by Jan Heale on 24 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely excellent service, friendly, good value for money. Meals arrived quickly, waitress really happy to help and serve. Landlord and landlady very friendly. Can't recommend the food enough, been there few times for steak, and a sunday roast. They are now even offering takeaway meals, will be tempted to try their fish and chips or curry or pizza or chilli, can't wait!!!!

Sportsmans Arms, Penzance
Review by BRIAN JENKIN on 21 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Sportsmans Arms is a pub and restuarant that must be visited. Having dined there on many occasions I can recommend a visit. The service and quality of the food and ale are second to none. The menu is varied,but sensible. What sets them apart is the fact that they listen and hear what you say and will adapt the meal to suit you. All food is prepared on the premises,cooked fresh and is sourced, where possible, locally. Candi, the chef aqnd all the team are an asset to The Sportsmans Arms. We have taken many friends, family and visitors from America to The Sportsmans Arms and without contradiction every one of them have enjoyed the meal and good old fashioned courtesy. The main thing I like is the fact that you can enjoy a meal in the dedicated restuarant or if you prefer eat in the bar and get the same quality of service. Both are equally pleasant.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Emily K and Jimi M on 7 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This place is a great surprise, you just don't expect to find one of the best pizzas you'll ever taste in a proper traditional British pub, but that's what you'll get at the Old Inn. We've eaten here a few times now and have never been disappointed, the service is friendly and informed, but the food itself is the star. Easily the best pizzas I've had, not just in Cornwall, I mean ever. Have I mentioned that the pizzas are great? Give them a try yourself, you'll see why I'm raving about them.

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by David and Lynn Burling on 24 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Took my elderly mother here whilst on holiday last week. Excellent fish and chips and service to match. The music's good too!

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by kelvin woolley on 6 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent food.you must try the pizzas.very nice owners

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by SUSAN PENNA on 4 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a fabulous three course lunch at the Cafe. The menu was varied with plenty of choice to suit everyone, and the specials excellent. Good value for money also. the service was excellent, attentive wihout being intrusive with a fabulous view of the bay. Would recommend the rhubarb crumble with armeretto - out of this world. Had a very enjoyable birthday celebation meal - thank you Renaissance.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Jayde Collett on 31 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I live in Crowlas which is minutes away from this lovely pub/restaurant. We have been in many times for drinks but not for a meal. We have recently had family down therefore we had a meal out. The old Inn was fantastic for everything. The food was great and home cooked. The staff were brillant and the whole place had a very relaxed and has such a homely feel. We will definately be back and have told them so :)

Pirate Inn, Penzance
Review by Anna Clemens on 30 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food and service at The Pirate were fantastic. The four adults in our party all had different dishes and loved them all. The children's menu, unlike a lot of places, offered the same quality of food as the main menu. A good, varied menu with local produce and flavours from far afield. A great selection and desserts to die for!
A very large garden area and children's play area make it a great place to entertain the kids before eating. Will definitely go again!

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Mandy & James Taylor on 17 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited this pub a couple of times whilst on holiday & thoroughly enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere & varied menu which was very reasonabley priced. The fresh homemade pizza (made in front of your eyes) was delicious & recommended. We will definately give this pub/restaurant a visit next year.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Russ Fletcher on 11 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is one of those country pubs that you immediately feel at home in. It became my new local instantly about three months ago during the process of moving home. There's a good selection of beers and ales plus the usual spirits, etc. and some decent wines. However, the combination of a newly installed specialist oven and the landlord's skill makes for some pizza to die for. There's a standard pub menu as well, but the pizzas are awsome! We now try and get out there at least once a week for a pizza (did I mention those?). Please go there and give it a try, our local pubs need support! PS - dog friendly too, if your out for a walk, walk this way!

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by lesley hitchens on 27 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is my favourite haunt in penzance.I have enjoyed both lunch and dinner.The basic menu is a pleasure of freshly prepared delights and ideal for lunch with the girls.I must say that when I dined in the evening I was pleasently surprised that the standard was raised again and the venison was to die for.Its so lovely to see local fish and produce used and prepared to unfussy tastiness !Highly recommended.Love to sit having coffee and tiny delicious doughnuts watching the world go by...a real treat.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Karen Staples on 12 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Pizza with passion, I can eat a whole one and still want more.

The Old Inn, Penzance
Review by Jan Heale on 6 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Old Inn at Ludgvan - wow, what a fantastic, homely place. We had the most wonderful pizza, and even saw it being prepared and cooked in their special pizza oven. The landlord prepares all the dough etc in front of you, and if, like us, you wanted specific toppings on one half, and not the other, he was happy to do this, and we now eat out there regularly, well done The Old Inn, oh yes, and great real ale too my other half says.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by ken patrick on 30 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

By far the best restaurant in the area.The choice, presentation and taste of the food is sublime.
The staff are simply fantastic always helpful courteous and very efficient also funny.
IF YOU HAVE NOT DINED HERE YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU HAVE MISSED.
I rate this 10/10

The Trewellard Arms, Penzance
Review by dave munday on 29 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good food, varied menu recommended

2 Fore Street Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Richard Mineards on 25 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is an absolute gem on the harbour in Mousehole.
The value for money food is quite superb and the friendly staff full of enthusiasm,
And you can't beat the locale!

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by james on 19 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i have had fish and chips here many a time and the owners never fail to meet my expectations, infact every time they exceed my expectations greatley i live quite far away, up in kent and i love visiting penzance the highlight of my visits is the evenings when i visit captains. i would rate this fish and chip shop 10/10 this is by far the best fish and chips in the world

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Treffry Thompson on 31 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent unfussy food, attentive staff, and a very nice place to stay for a few days if you love walking.

Pizza Patio Al Fresco, Penzance
Review by Bridget Lewis on 17 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went to the Pizza Patio at Newlyn to celebrate my 40th birthday. It was not the first time that we had dined there and as usual the food was superb. The staff were extremely efficient and very friendly. There were three children in our party and we were all made to feel very welcome.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Beverley Bottle on 8 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Scrumptious freshly prepared food. Brilliant value at £12 for 2 courses before 7.30 pm. Desserts were to die for.

Trewellard Meadery, Penzance
Review by Miriam Delbridge on 24 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I felt I was taken back in time. A journey through Cornish History, together with the unforgetable eating experience, inspired by Cornish tradition, left me breathless with the fulfilment of a meal, I can only look forward to a return to this venue of excellence.

Trewellard Meadery, Penzance
Review by Miriam Delbridge on 24 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I felt I was taken back in time. A journey through Cornish History, together with the unforgetable eating experience, inspired by Cornish tradition, left me breathless with the fulfilment of a meal, I can only look forward to a return to this venue of excellence.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Jenny Homewood on 23 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Three of us had the most fantastic lunch last week, the highlight of which was crab linquine with chilli, although the bitter chocolate brownie with chocolate mousse was superb. This is definitely a foodie's paradise, but with ample parking and lovely clifftop walks to finish. Can't wait to go back and try other items from the menu.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Catherine Humphrey on 11 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Nice friendly atmosphere, good food and wine selection. At last a restaurant in Penzance where you can buy Prosecco by the glass!!

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Berlinda Pierrot on 31 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food is fantastic,Ever time we visit Cornwall we will eat here or get a take away, The Service is very good.

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Ms Hutchings on 31 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Although you state you have full disabled access, we were recently turned away, as our mother was in a wheelchair and we were told that the only table she could use was occupied. This is not really full disabled access and we were disappointed by the attitude.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Angela M. Richards on 26 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Once again we ate at Bakehouse and received first class service and outstanding food the restaurant is very comfortable and you are never rushed which makes for a most relaxing evening.

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Simon Shelley on 10 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We always try to visit Captain's Restaurant at least once when in Cornwall. We had a meal there in July 2008 and, as usual, the food was excellent. There is always a friendly reception and you will not taste better Fish & Chips. Try a bottle of 'Betty Stoggs' which goes perfectly with the meal! A top class establishment well worth seeking out.

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by debra boast on 22 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent fish and chips the best in the area

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Jean Robinson on 15 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food and service here were great. The sea bass was fantastic, and I've never had such fabulous sauce tartare - freshly made that day, and with huge chunks of capers. Fab!

Captain's Fish Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Cherry Thacker on 16 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is one of the best fish restaurants I've ever eaten in! The owners are great, very warm and friendly and the food is freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. I can heartily recommend the haddock - absolutely delicious! Definitely worth a visit to eat-in or take-away with lots of choice.Enjoy..

Navy Inn, Penzance
Review by John Briggs on 15 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I had a delightful lunch of fresh Asparagus(picked that day) and a stunning Sole main coourse.
Charming. Well worth a visit

Archie Browns Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Louisa on 5 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our favourite place to eat! We eat here regularly and we are never disappointed. The salads are always different and always amazing. The cafe has a very welcoming atmosphere, the staff are extremely friendly and the food is always fab! They also use loads of seasonal and local produce, so a great place to go if you want to reduce your carbon footprint!

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Susan Venus on 1 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our meal there a few weeks ago was perfect. We eat out at a fine restaurant once a month and have been doing so for 8 years in Cornwall now. My husband and I agreed that this was the best meal ever. The fois gras starter melted in my mout and was devine. The assiette of lamb was wonderful as well. Quite a lot of the items we didn't even recognise but they were delicious as well. Out sweets were to die for as well. The chef, Barnaby Mason, is a genius and I hope he remains here for awhile. He deserves a Michelin star.

2 Fore Street Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Mike on 9 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I had lunch on Sunday 8th March. We received a warm welcome and sat in the window so we could admire the view. The decor was very tasteful and our lunch was fresh and full of flavour. We will be back to enjoy another meal. Well done.

Victoria Inn, Marazion
Review by Issy on 31 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I've been back and forth to the Victoria Inn at Perranuthnoe near Penazance for the last couple of months and I am addicted. At last somewhere that makes a roast dinner better than my mum (sorry mum!). Last week I went and had the roast pork, with crackling, caramelised apples, black pudding and apple sauce. I was a bit put off by the black pudding until I tried it and am now converted. It came served with roast potatoes, and various vegetables. Seriously if you crave a roast lunch this is the place to go. Even though me and cousin are on a diet we both stared at the pudding menu and couldn't resist. I'm a self confessed puddingaholic but rarely eat them out because they come from a box/freezer. No worries here it took me about 15 mins which one to have. Eventually we picked the chocolate brownie with capaccino cream and expresso ice cream. AMAZING!

The roast was under £9 and the brownie about £4. I'd have paid three times that it was so good. Go you won't regret it...although book because it's often chocca.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Peter Donovan on 3 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic - Best Tom Yum soup i've had in years! - very friendly, and reasonbly priced - if you get the chance to visit - dont miss it!

Boatshed Café/Bar and Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Clare Johnson on 20 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lovely laid back atmosphere, warm friendly staff & delicous food. Enjoyed it so much we came back for a sunday roast the next day I have to say one of the best value roasts I've had.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by tina barton on 7 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had excellent food yesterday, at first unsure as I am not used to all the fancy food, but I gave it a try and the food was delicious, reasonably priced and with the delightful view what more could we ask for.
The menu changes regularly so the menu is short but varied.
we will be back!

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Denise & Phil Deighton on 14 October 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This gourmet food is new to us & we felt like royalty at this superb hotel. The food was beautifully cooked & presented - a work of art. We're looking forward to our visit next year now that we've found you. Thanks so much.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by I.Lenselink on 18 September 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent food, very nice, polite people and very clean, open kitchen

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Sandy Coates on 20 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent service from the moment we booked. all the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful, sincerely cheerful, and looked after us very well. the food was outstanding! Great flavours and beautifully presented. Excellent wines. All together a very satisfying evening. Thank you.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by patricia st.mu on 17 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Loving Cornwall is one thing but if you're not into pasty's & chips where do you go to get something different & good at the same time? Well thank God while taking a nice walk down Queen St. in Penzance I was so pleased to see a new (to me) restaurant & it was Thai! I've apent a lot of time in Penzance & surrounds & I'd never seen a Thai restaurant before.Boy was I happy! I was even happier when I went back for lunch! The food is absolutely gorgeous, delicious, prepared with care & prettily presented. The staff are friendly & helpful yet professional. For two weeks after I hardly ate anything else. I HIGHLY recommend Sukothai to any & everyone visiting Cornwall! You will NOT be disappointed! I can hardly wait to go back! P. St.Mu

Sophia's Restaurant, Penzance
Review by nick on 6 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very good food, wine and atmosphere
Great value
An oasis in a desert

Victoria Inn, Marazion
Review by Linda C Breach on 4 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Peaceful traditional atmosphere, excellent food each time we have been - our favourite in the area and recommended to friends who think the same.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Bev Richards on 2 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I went for their 'early bird special' last night and it was great! Friendly and welcoming staff and delicious food. I will definitely be going back for more!

2 Fore Street Restaurant, Penzance
Review by MR & MRS C A Hicks on 20 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

After a very long day visiting The Tate galleries in St. Ives and the Barbara Hepworth Garden, followed by a drive around the Lands End Peninsula with its stunning views, a tea and a tour of the amazing Minack Theatre with its dramatic setting, arriving in Mousehole and discovering "2 Fore Street" was a sheer pleasure and the most relaxing way to end the day. The young, friendly and very accommodating staff, the excellent quality of fresh seafood, cooked to perfection. The restuarant is light and bright decorated in a contempory style, creating an atmosphere of tranquility and yet conveys the buzz of excitment. We are pleased to recommend "2 Fore Street" and wish them every success.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Mat Whitecross on 6 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

These guys are amazing - the food was fantastic, the service first rate, but on top of all that, I lost my phone while on a film shoot in Cornwall, and they came out with torches on the street at night, and stayed with me for ages until one of them tracked it down. Plus they invited us out dancing with them at a nightclub round the corner. Best restaurant in Cornwall!

Victoria Inn, Marazion
Review by David Osborne on 30 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very pleasant reception, followed by one of the best ever steaks.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by Paul Godier on 19 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I popped in for a picnic to go. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in suggesting things to have, and in adapting what was on offer to suit my wheat intolerant partner. Delicious well filled doorstep sandwiches (tasty, succulent beef; BLT; ham); a chargrilled chicken salad; and sweet nibbles (caramel slice, flapjack, and saffron buns) were all rustled up in 20 minutes, and supplied with wooden cutlery. Smashing lunch on a summers day.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Peter and Jean Wilkinson on 5 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We recently came on holiday to have a lunch at the restaurant. The food was excellent, better than we have tasted at other Thai restaurants. We would recommend anyone to come and taste the food here. The service was friendly and personal. Do give this a try.

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Pete Glynn on 3 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great food, reasonable prices, comfortable surroundings and friendly service. What more could you ask! I will definitely be visiting again!

Sophia's Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Liz on 3 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely excellent food. Lovely home made bread cooked every day and home made icecream...try their Baileys Ice Cream, it's to die for!!

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by Janelle Flacks on 19 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I traveled through Cornwall with cousins in March 2007. We had driven quite a bit that day and were looking for somewhere overlooking the water to have a glass of wine when we spotted Gino's. It was getting toward dinnertime and once inside we decided to eat. We had a great table by the window and delicious food and wonderful service. The young girl helping her parents in the restaurant was a delight. We enjoyed learning about her schooling and just visiting with her. Very enjoyable.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Kelly on 15 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited three times now for Pad Thai , and Super currys’. Quick service and cheap for what you get. Try a Thai beer its lush.


Archie Browns Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Judith Le Couteur Bisson on 6 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic and inventive vegetarian meals, served with brilliant salads. Even my husband who is not a vegatarian enjoys whatever he orders! Modern and very clean restaurant with extremely friendly staff. Will keep going back for more.

Archie Browns Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Jennifer Gray on 2 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fabulous food - great vegetarian selection. The staff are always friendly, and they work closely with the local food community to provide healthy, fresh fare at good prices. The atmosphere is also great - bright, sunny and colourful! Hearty recommendation!

Archie Browns Restaurant, Penzance
Review by keely on 26 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a treat! One of the best veggie eateries that we`ve been to! Food was mouthwatering... Being a chocoholic veggie I thought I`d try the vegan chocolate cake... it was delicious! Decor light and funky, great position fantastic staff, this will become a haunt for us in the future!!!!!!

Crown Inn, Penzance
Review by Jane Holzgrawe on 23 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We were greeted with a warm friendly smile and so the evening progressed. Good food, good beer and good service - we will be eating there again and strongly recommend others do the same

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Jenni Craft on 17 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Superb meal, excellent wine and service, will definietly recommend. Particularly liked toasted oatmeal meringue and berries and goats cheese in light batter with rosemary jus. Steak was very good. Great to find such a gem in Penzance.

Navy Inn, Penzance
Review by Mr Jenkin on 29 March 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having recently been to cornwall to visit my daughter I thought i would express my opinion on this restaurant. The food itself is lovely, all the family enjoyed it that was until I politely asked if we may have some wine bought to the table. I was told in a very rude manner by the barman that this would not be possible and when i asked why he got rather aggressive with me and we ended up leaving before we had a chance to eat our puddings. Its a shame because we had a good evening until then and enjoyed the food very much. Excellent food, poor service!

Pizza Patio Al Fresco, Penzance
Review by Stephen on 13 March 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Brilliant place, found over New Year when I was visiting my sister and nowhere else was open.
The food was really great and I will definitely be paying a visit the next time I am in the area and recommend this place.. The desserts were just out of this world.

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Angela Richards on 10 March 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Friendly service.Great Menu.We have never been
disappointed in this super Restaurant.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by Adam Woolfitt on 16 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic turnaround Charles Inkin and his staff have acheived in a few months. Now the best Sunday roast for miles and a very good place to eat at any time.

The Gurnard's Head, St. Ives
Review by scott penberthy on 31 December 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

becoming a bit of a regular diner here the food is excellent, all locally sourced and cooked to perfection with outstanding flavours. the lamb shank in particular was delicious and just fell off the bone and who would have thought you could make mashed potatoe so smooth.the staff are very friendly and welcoming, so to are the lovely log fires at either end of the bar, a nice reward at the end of a brisk stroll along the coast path.fantastic!!!

Navy Inn, Penzance
Review by harry davis on 18 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we just love The Navy & the superb food. found it two years ago & have been back many times

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Mike & Janet Fox on 11 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food was 1st class, well presented and cooked to perfection,it was reasonably priced and the staff were really nice, this was an all round dining out pleasure

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by G.Govaerts on 19 October 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent restaurant. Authentic Thai food with high quality ingredients at a reasonable price. Excellent Thai wines. I’ll be back.

Sukothai Restaurant, Penzance
Review by bev b on 19 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Gorgeous thai food, the best i've had for a long time. Good sized portions and reasonably priced. Nice atmosphere and brilliant service. Can't wait to go back.

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Jessica on 25 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Every year I come to Cornwall i have to come here! I love it. The Ameretto coffees are to die for! and the staff are so polite and nice... especially one of the guys who looks like a model.

Admiral Benbow, Penzance
Review by AK, London on 19 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent place designed like a ship inside. Great food! Recommended

Turks Head, Penzance
Review by AK, London on 19 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good food..had the cream of crab soup to start and lamb shank. nice atmospheric place. book in advance as gets busy.

Sea Palace, Penzance
Review by mick on 8 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

the sea palace in penzance has to be the best cantonese restaurant in the south west, i go as often as possible the food is the best i have tasted and belive me i have been to plenty of chinese in my time, the service is out of this world,never had any problems i the 15 year i have been going their, take my word try it for yourself you will not disappointed [enjoy]

Victoria Inn, Marazion
Review by Mr.&Mrs. Jaffray on 29 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is top class restaurant food in a pub. We could not believe the quality and freshness of the food, so much so that we visted five times during our stay in Cornwall. We wish you all the very best for the future Anna and Stewart Eddy we have certainly let others know about you. We hope to visit again when down in Cornwall.

Alverne Restaurant and Lounge, Penzance
Review by Bev on 20 June 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Good food, relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be returning to try more of the menu!

Renaissance Café & Bar, Penzance
Review by Kathryn on 9 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic service,Great value for money, had a great time!!!!! thankyou!!! xxx

Bakehouse Restaurant, Penzance
Review by Johnathon Swift on 17 October 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Went with friends because heard they do good veggie food. The meal was first class. Fish was cooked brillinatly and three veggie main course options for my veggie guests. The cost is not cheap but I think it's probably fair enough. Although we couldnt afford to go every week. Still try it out you'll be glad you did.

Pizza Patio Al Fresco, Penzance
Review by richard keane on 11 September 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

three of us had an excellent meal with drinks for a good price. very busy restaurant but no pressure to "eat up and pay up". A real find.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by Danny Rand on 7 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I ate at this friendly restaurant while i was in Penzance visiting friends. The food was excellent and well presented. Stevie and her staff really look after their customers.

Old Coastguard Hotel, Penzance
Review by Daily Telegraph Travel Section on 8 March 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

"I don't often say this, but here goes: WOW! That is some view - and great food. Daily Telegraph. ( Tralel Section ) Dec 11th.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by Simon Trelawney Rodger on 8 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

what a great cafe, stevie the owner is brilliant and all round this is just what is good about Cornish food and eating places at the moment. If only the tired and washed out eating places in Cornwall could get to this level.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by Steve Mulvana on 25 January 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a wonderful place...food good, good service and the general ambience of the place was indicative of the time and care that the Proprietress and her staff put in to ensuring that the customers comfort and well being come first. All in all a great place to eat.

Mackerel Sky Café, Penzance
Review by john miller on 13 November 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Sea food was excellent,Some of the best sea food dishes i have experienced,Very friendly and curtious staff,Very good money for value,Have recommended to all my friends and family, Will be Returning there soon. Keep up the good work. Thanks john miller

Gino's Spaghetti House, Penzance
Review by Pamela Johns on 19 October 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I eat at Gino's Spaghetti House on a regular basis. The food is excellent, and the staff are polite and nothing is too much trouble. The owner, Lilianna is always there to welcome you with a smile. I have never had a bad experience while dining there, and look forward to many more visits. Keep up the good work Gino's!

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook