• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Cornwall Food Finder Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Newquay Fish Festival Cornwall Food and Drink Choose Cornish Taste Southeast Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival

Restaurant Reviews in Mevagissey

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Bay View Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by John Newcomb on 23 March 2014
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Seen the new restaurant and it is really taking shape. The views are amazing so looking forward to it opening on 4th April 2014.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Donna Mac on 1 September 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The only reason we would return to Mevagissey...
Our visit to The Salamander was the highlight of our stay.
Best food in town, relaxed and professional front of house. A rare treat.

Trevalsa Court Hotel Restaurant Bar, Mevagissey
Review by colin williamson on 19 August 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We visited Trevalsa Court for cream tea whilst on holiday in the area and an excellent choice it was. We had 2 large fruit scones each with plenty of jam and clotted cream, a wide choice of teas which was served properly as loose tea in a brewing basket in the tea pot, much better flavour than tea bags.

The cream teas are very good value at £5.50 each and they are available at any time of day unlike some cafes in the town that close at 4pm.

We sat out on the lawn at the back of the hotel with a great view over the sea, a wonderful end to the afternoon.

Just follow the sign from the St Austell to Mevagissey road at the turn for Gorran Haven.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Nigel Turner on 1 July 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Located in an inconspicuous back street you could easily go by this place - it looks nothing special from the outside.  My Wife and I booked a table for the last night of the Feast Week and were pleasantly suprised that they managed to fit us in even though the restaurant was fully booked. 

From the first taste of the starters right through our selected three courses to the home made sweet that accompanies the coffee, every mouthful was absolutely superb - the chef is obviously very highly trained and extremely competent. We can uphold all other reviews on here about the quality of the food - it is that good and you will not be disappointed. 

Front of house and service was friendly, timely and efficiently executed with the same precision as the preparation of the food. 

With set prices of £23-25 for three courses and with the absolute quality of the food, this also represents excellent value. You can easily pay much more for less. 

All in all the best restaurant experience we have had for many years with our compliments to the Chef and Hostess. 

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by David Salmon on 19 May 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Myself & partner were staying in Mevagissey for the weekend and found the Salamander Restaurant slightly tucked away up Tregoney Hill.
Thank goodness we did.
The food was excellent and plentiful, the service efficient and friendly.
With a range of courses, all local produce, a good quality wine list and prices up front for two or three courses it made for an excellent evenings dining experience.
Highly recommended.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Mark Thompson on 28 April 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We ate here for my birthday on 5th April and as always great food and service. Beautiful fish, well cooked. A trip to the Salamander is a must for our regular trips to Cornwall.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Lorraine Bell on 1 April 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The salamander is a lovely small intimate restaurant. The food was amazing & very fairly priced. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. we will definately be recommending this restaurant.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sarah Revnell on 23 September 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

By far the best restaurant we found in the town - exquisite food, reasonably priced, and impeccable service.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Pam Powditch on 16 June 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

During our six night stay in Mevagisssey, we ate at the Alvorada twice. The first time we had chicken piri piri and the second the portugese fish stew. Not only was the food excellent but it was so very friendly. Lovely.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Steph & Mark Smith on 2 June 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Beautiful restaurant. Food outstanding. We eat here every year.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Simon Chance on 2 May 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

"So good, I ate here twice" - twice each time I have visited Mevagissey over the last four years or so, that is.

As someone else here has writen - Yorkshire's loss is definitely Cornwall's gain!

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Nigel Stansfield on 31 August 2011
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

Read the reviews on this site and made a point of booking a table for the first night of our holiday.
Lady who served us was friendly enough, but although full, the place had no atmosphee other than a pervading smell of the oil that was being used for cooking.
Went for tapas starters - tiny prawns at over £1 each, burnt, leathery meatballs and a bean, chorizo and bacon dish with very little in the way of chorizo or bacon.
Children's chicken and chips was plentiful but chips were dry and overcooked. Wife's seafood casserole (fish and potatoes in a sauce) was again plentiful but lacking in taste -certainly nothing resembling Portuguese. The seafood in my seafood kebab was lovely and fresh as you would expect only 100 yards from a fishing port but the chips were burnt and dry. Everything tasted of the same iol you could smell throughout the restaurant.
beer wasn't cold enough and the house wine is not one of Portugal's better offerings.
Total bill a few pence short of £100 which is not acceptable for food and a dining experience of this level. In fact this was the owrst food we had all holiday in any restaurant or cafe. After a six hour drive to reach Mevagissey a pasty on the harbour wall would have been a better end to the day than Alvorada.
Thankfully it was the first day of our holiday and so soon forgotten - had it been our final night, I would have refused to pay the bill - that is how disappointing this place was.
Can't honestly think of a single saving grace for Alvorada and would certainly urge people to avoid it. It is obvious they are using fresh ingredients but they can't cook them even on a basic level, let alone with any degree of portuguese influence.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by D'Arcy McGregor on 29 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Booked a table here as we were passing by on Saturday afternoon, 23rd July. They fitted us in, on a Saturday night, for 2, at eight o'clock, ON A SATURDAY NIGHT IN JULY! 5/5!
Food was terrific, service was unobtrusive but attentive, and quite professional. Great when the switched on person in the kitchen has someone as switched on front of house. Recommend to anyone. Note to Joe Eason, July 22: Any restaurant that can offer six really fresh, well-prepared fish dishes on a set 2/18.00 or 3/22.00 deserves a better comment than "prices not bad"409-

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Joe Eason on 22 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Food very good on 12th July. A table for four had been booked. Just as well. Food very good-John Dorey, sole, duck and puddings including chocolate ones. Prices not too bad. Staff very friendly but only two for a full room. It was not a warm evening but it got hot at our end because there were no windows in our half of the room and it took a while to get action. We were in a tight back corner and that made it warmer. We could have done with help from the staff to insert ourselves but they watched us struggle in.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Robert Stockwell on 16 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Wonderful restaurant, wide and excellent choice of all courses and good value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Katie Ray on 12 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I recently visited Roovray's and was delighted with the whole experience! The food was 10/10 and the atmosphere of the restaurant was very pleasant. Will go back!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Anne Skinner on 8 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We have eaten here several times and every time both the food and service have been excellent.

Fountain Inn, Mevagissey
Review by caroline leigh on 2 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

fabulous meal, generous portions, best fish i've ever tasted. friendly staff, great surroundings

Fountain Inn, Mevagissey
Review by Caroline Leigh on 2 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had a fabulous meal here. the best fish i've ever tasted. beats Rick stein in Padstow. very friendly staff. will definately go back on my next visit to cornwall

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by David Wood on 25 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Consistently good food and warm welcome. We have dined here several times in the last 2 years and never been disappointed. We travel from Fowey.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Peter Day on 25 June 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We eat here last Thursday evening and the meal was superb. Two of us had the Cornish Sole and one the Rack of Lamb. We were fortunate to get in as we arrived just after they opened at 6pm. You therefore need to book. Service was good - not too rushed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thoroughly recommended. We would cettailt return next time we are in the area.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by karen wilson on 12 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Can't praise the Salmander high enough. The food was out of this world, excellent local produce cooked divinely. Hazel and her fellow waitress also deserve to be commended too - no fuss just calm and delightful efficency with a great sense of humour.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by G McGlone on 28 May 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Well worth a visit if your staying in mevagissey. Would recommend that you book in advance to avoid disappointment. Food was fab!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Lynn Morgan on 28 May 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We booked a table here for our 24th wedding anniversary. We were not dissappointed, food fabulous, the fish we each had for our main course was to die for, as was the local cheese for afters. Great selection of wines too, shall definately be returning on our next trip to cornwall soon

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jayne Gildersleve on 11 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

A visit to this restaurant is an absolute MUST.
We came upon Roovray's by chance and were very impressed by the menu.
The restaurant has a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.
All the dishes we had were cooked to perfection, and I certainly savoured every mouthful. The scallops were beautiful, very succulent in a lovely butter and garlic sauce. I had the Cornish steak which was the tastiest and most tender steak I had tasted in a long time. It was served with home cooked chips which were to die for, and lovely el dente cooked vegetables. This was finished off with a lovely creamy creme brulee, which had a lovely crunchy caramel topping.
The chef certainly knows his business, with only the finest ingredients on the menu.
Roovray's is very highly recommended.
We would certainly pay Roovray's another visit should we get down to Cornwall again.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Linda Wybar on 8 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Delicious food, well-cooked and served in a cosy atmosphere. The fresh fish is especially good, and meals at Salamander represent excellent value for money. Definitely not to be missed if you are looking to eat out in the Mevagissey area!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Dayna Skellern on 18 April 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We booked a table at this restaurant for Friday evening, having read reviews online before we headed to Mevagissey for a weeks R&R. We certainly were not disappointed! A warm welcome awaited us in a cosy and friendly setting. An intimate restaurant with delicious fresh fish specials and great service. A great end to a fantastic week away.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Janette Weatherer on 17 March 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We highly recommend the Salamander restaurant. It was recommended to us by the B&B where we stayed (Cooperage)and we weren't disappointed in any way. Excellent food and service. Good value for the quality of the food. Compliments to the chef

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Graham Peters on 27 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

From the moment I walked in I was made to feel welcome and was part of a wonderful atmosphere. Alisha was front of house and her husband,Tierry,the chief. I ate early and was offered a choice of tables and it was clear that others in the restaurant were regular customers. I was brought a menu and was impressed with the choice of food. Given the location, fish was a must and I chose seared scallops. They were cooked to perfection, seared meant seared.Not overcooked as is so many restaurants - they were delightful and accompanied by a simple salad with hints of flavor that at no time detracted from the seafood. Main course was hake dressed with smoked salmon - perfect - the fish was cooked but the smoked salmon was just beginning to be colored by the heat of the fish. Vegetables were cooked al dente and were accompanied by the lightest of sauces which left the palette wanting more. Overall this was one of the best fish dishes I have had in any Cornish restaurant. Dessert was chosen for me by Alisha as I was unable to make up my mind. She caught my character and brought me a portion of the bread and butter pudding which was delightful. light, not too sweet and full of flavour. The restaurant was full and buzzing and Alisha was a fabulous host. Good value and another visit is looked forward to.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Karen Samuels on 5 January 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We took my father in law who was staying with us over Christmas and New Year. It was the loveliest food we had all had for a long time. The restaurant was welcoming and Hazel was lovely. The food was quick to arrive and perfectly cooked all for resonable prices. Thank you we will be back.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Roy Caddy on 28 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fish cooked to perfection in a very comfortable atmosphere and served by one of the best "front of house" persons I have met.I wish this restaurant was closer to my home - I would continually support it.

Fountain Inn, Mevagissey
Review by Roy Caddy on 28 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This is a fantastic friendly pub with excellent food. My wife and I sampled several different dishes during our stay and our only complaint was the over excessive portions which obviously suit some people.The bar is the better place to eat since the restaurant upstairs lacks the same character.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jane Pangbourne on 22 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I recently visited this restaurant whilst staying in Cornwall. We really loved the cosy atmosphere and personal, friendly service. The staff are efficient, knowledgable and attentive without being obtrusive. The food was very flavoursome and there were a wide selection of specials and menu options. We were also impressed with the prices. The cost was considerably less than other eateries we had visited locally and the food much better too.
We'll be going back.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Kathryn Aldred on 30 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We came across Salamander by chance on holiday, and are really happy that we did as we had a fantastic meal.
The meat dishes and vegetarian options on the a la cate menu looked tempting, but it just had to be the fish. For starters, the scallops were cooked to perfection, and the smoked salmon and squash fish cakes were light, fluffy and melted in the mouth. The specials board featured the catch of the day - six types of fish off the local fishing boats. We chose bream and John Dory (a first for me!), all simply but perfectly cooked and served with either dill and lemon sauce or citrus and chilli butter. Delicious! The fish was accompanied by a generous portion of new potatoes and seasonal vegetables, and the tarragon with the red cabbage was a surprise which worked really well. To finish off, we shared a dessert off the specials board, a fabulous dark chocolate praline torte.
The restaurant's ethos is clear: high quality, natural ingredients treated with respect - and, at £18 for 2 courses, £22 for 3 courses, it is good value for money. From the simple, elegant decor to the relaxed but attentive service, everything about Salamander is just right.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Carl Fisher on 27 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The food was cooked to perfection and the restaurant is the perfect size, as no one is ignored, yet the staff are not on top of the diners. It's just a shame it is a long way from Nottingham for an evening meal.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Maggie & Martin Ashton on 15 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food, very friendly owners, presentation was first class and warm cosy restaurant. Highly recommend.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Mrs. Susan Tausig on 3 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A fabulous restaurant which we ate at twice, lovely food good value and excellent service.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Philip G Taylor on 3 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant was recommended to us by a stranger who saw us looking at the menu from outside. We telephoned and were lucky enough to get a table. Eating here was the highlight of our visit to Mevagissy, the flavors were wonderful, the combinations were exquisite. This combined with friendly staff and excellent service led to a memorable evening! The prices were low and book to avoid dissappoinment.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by terry on 28 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent service and food.If any-one finds a fault with the resteraunt, it's probably because it's shut.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Mike Monger on 12 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Unfortunately we only discovered this gem on our last night in Mevagissey.
My wife said the scallops were the best she has ever tasted.My hot crab was different and delightful.Main Courses-Rack of Lamb(pink and perfect). Roast Duck in a exquisite pepper sauce. Wine a very reasonable(price&quality}Burgandy Pinot Noir.Dessert a naughty but nice home made chocolaty fudge cake?
Please everybody use this restaurant to ensure it is still there when we visit next year.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Mr & Mrs Kirby on 8 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our first visit to this restaurant. Courteous and professional service; wonderful food and very good value. Highly recommended

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Julliette on 1 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great place to eat on the harbour at Megavissey. We had a scone and coffee and it was delicious and reasonably priced too!! Highly recommended.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Kimberly on 1 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We always holiday in Perranporth but always make the drive to Mevagissey, it is a lovely little fishing town with lovely views out to sea. Wheelhouse is a really excellent place to go for an evening meal. The food is always fresh and there is plenty of choice and there are even healthy options. The staff are always friendly and in all the years we have been going there we have not had one bad meal. Just make sure you save room for desert, they are massive!! :)

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Brian and Ania on 29 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My partner and I luckily stumbled upon this restaurant. The whole experience was perfect from the beginning to the end. The food was amazing and the atmosphere is great. Antonio and Sue were very friendly and would stop by to chat throughout the evening. We also enjoyed Antonio's singing while cooking, which added to the comfortable atmosphere. After living in England for the last 4 years we cannot say that we have had a better meal here and this meal definitely stands up to any other great meals we have had in other countries. We cannot recommend Alvorada enough.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Tony Ridley and Gay Carder on 24 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

So good that we ate there twice during a short stay in Mevagissey in June 2010.
The restaurant is not large, but it is very light, warm and welcoming. The food is evidently sourced locally and was of excellent quality. We particularly enjoyed the starter of scallops and the main course rack of lamb - both were outstanding - although the other dishes we ate were also first class. The vegetables were well prepared and beautifully cooked and complemented the main dishes very well as did the jus (sauces) served with the meals. Mark, the chef, showed wonderful skills in the kitchen and his wife Hazel ensured helpful efficient and very friendly service. Yorkshire's loss is definitely Cornwall's gain.
We will certainly visit again.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Rev Richard Westwood on 12 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I was given a personal recommendation to try this restaurant. Fine food and good company are two things I look for whilst enjoying a holiday: so I made a booking and was not disappointed. I provided the company, everything else from the welcome we were given, to the friendly and relaxed service offered and authentic taste of Portugal, (what else would you expect from an experienced Portuguese chef?) I will be eating here again when were back in the area, because its one of those exceptional places that stands out from the crowd.

Sharksfin, Mevagissey
Review by Jo State on 10 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I was on holiday staying in Mevagissey with my family over the half term break. I found the staff very helpful and courteous. They could not do enough to make sure our meal was excellent. We booked a table and chose one right beside the large window looking out onto the harbour. It was a very busy evening and we joined a long queue to order and food and drinks and the bar, but one member of staff (I don't know his name) took our order (to speed up the process) as we queued to pay at the till. Our drinks were poured and we returned to our table. It was not long before our meals were served. My husband and I had beef lasagne with salad and garlic bread - the lasagne was cheesy, tangy and garlicky - absolutely delicious. Our daughters had fish and chips and chicken nuggets and chips and both thoroughly enjoyed their meals too - the fish and chips were particulary tasty with lovely light batter - my daughter commented. The service was excemplorary and the staff eager to please. A great place to eat.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Peter and Judy Fuller on 8 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Nice starters, fish cooked perfectly, salad good, excellent sweets and service good. Overall a good experience and good value.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Victoria Nowell on 8 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I can't recommend the Salamander highly enough. It was the highlight of our eating out experience in Cornwall. Lovely, soothing decor, easy to find (and the owners gave great directions). The menu wasn't extensive but looked wonderful and I was spoilt for choice on all the courses. I like the fact that the chef wasn't trying to cook too many things. They had a lovely range of local ciders so we didn't get as far as the wine list. The food was beautifully cooked, served promptly with plenty of time to digest between courses. It was also very good value for money. All in all, a great experience and one we would repeat.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Kath Lawes on 6 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a beautiful little restaurant with harbour glimpses. I tried the delicious lobster soup followed by an amazingly tangy lemon and asparagus tagliatelle. My partner enjoyed the baked goat's cheese starter, but was blown away by the Symphony of Cornish seafood in butter sauce. Each piece of fish was cooked to perfection and he savoured every bite! This was a fantastic meal to end our holiday and we have recommended the restaurant to family who are visiting Mevagissey in a few weeks. Thankyou Roovray's.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Lisa Shelton on 6 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lovely local fresh food in traditional fishing village surroundings with an amazing view. The staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. Would definitely go again.


Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by graham beasley on 29 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our family birthday celebration meal of 25th May 2010 was cooked to perfection within a spotlessly clean and cosy atmosphere. The service was attentive, and personal without being intrusive. Overall this was an extremely pleasant evening with lovely food to suit.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Alistair & Kerry Gow on 23 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our first visit to Cornwall so we were unsure of where to eat. What a find Salamader was for us, great food, fresh fish and lovely desserts served in contemporary yet inviting surroundings. The best bit was being made to feel really welcome by Hazel & the team. We now have a reason for a return visit to Cornwall, thank you for a lovely end to our holiday (visited 19/05/10).

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Liz Williams/King on 16 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

i have eaten at this restaurant a number of times and they never fail to meet their own exacting standard of food and good service. the new restaurant is stylish and comfortable.
i understand their "new Waiter" can play the jazz piano, i look forward to this new addition and will go along to eat and listen

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Caroline Dingle on 6 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I ate at the Salamander Restaurant last week with my mum and my aunt and had an overall delightful experience. The restaurant was cozy (with a nice log fire!) and nicely decorated. The selection of dishes was great and we all easily found something to suit our tastes. I personally enjoyed trying the local ales on offer, and appreciate the food is sourced locally where possible. Our main meals were absolutely delicious the sticky toffee pudding was absolutely delicious (we were going to share one between the three of us and were very happy in the end that we got one each)! The owners were also incredibly friendly and answered all of our (sometimes very random) questions. I would highly recommend the Salamander!

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by John Tucker on 4 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Me and my Fiancee have been to many restaurants up and down the country, including Jamie Olivers 15, and several others in london by noted cheff's. But without a doupt Roovray's is the best we've found. We were never really big fish eaters but 1 trip to Roovray's changed all that! Our first time we had a trio of Sea bass, sea breem and swordfish ! this was mouthwaterinly good and since then we've tried lots of diferent fish. After the meal i went back into the kitchen to shake the Cheff's hand for a fantastic meal. The service was amazing and the food is beyond belief!. We are from Essex and are moving to Cornwall next month, 1 factor in our locatin of a home was its distance from Roovray's ! and we have found a place in Mevagissey itself, so now we are local to our favourate restaurant! Keep up the good work we'll be seeing you again very soon !!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sarah Dunstan on 2 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ate at the Salamander again tonight - brilliant as always! The food is delicious; well-cooked and beautifully presented. There's a great choice of fish, as well as meat and vegetarian options. The set price (18 pounds for two courses, 22 pounds for three) is very good value and the service is pleasant and friendly but never intrusive. All in all my favourite restaurant in Meva. I would urge you to go if you are in town.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Malcolm Hill on 14 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had such a spectacularly good meal yesterday we returned tonight. Weren't disappointed. Baking hot-pot of freshest local crab and Trelawny cheese. Tastiest spinach and pea soup served with walnut bread. Succulent seared duck breaast with red pepper sauce and mint polenta. Honest fresh vegetables. Local rack of lamb with fruity jus. Sinus-cleansing peppery pommes dauphinoises. Exotic puddings came with salamander - er, salamander biscuits. All served in a friendly atmosphere with welcome open fire. We'll certainly be going back.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by sue mills on 13 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here on the last night of our holiday in Mevagissey. It is, at first sight, a very small restuarant, but the tables are nicely spaced. The overall atmosphere is quite romantic and it's most suitable for couples and groups of adults celebrating a special occasion. The menu would not be suitable for most children. The offer of 2 courses £18, 3 courses £22 was good value for money. The cooking is of a very high standard, local ingredients are used wherever possible, in an imaginative way. portions are very generous (couldn't manage pudding!) . The service is excellent; helpful without being intrusive. Wine list comprehensive and favourably priced. Ten out of ten.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Andy Porter on 6 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic place to eat the service was frienly and warm. More importantly the meal was beautifuly cooked and presented, local produce what more can you want from a relaxing friendly evening.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sandra Kelly on 17 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent, delicious, good value for money. One of the best restaurants I have ever visited.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Rob Price on 14 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My Friends and i decided at the last minute to dine at this restaurant. It's one of the best choice's we have made. When we walked into the restaurant the staff are caring and make you feel very welcome and unlike other large restaurant they don't treat you like just another customer. The food and service is amazing and not to be missed.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by adam andrews on 19 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic menu for all tastes. We went for the Bistro menu and were astonished by both the quality and the reasonable price of our meal. We thoroughly recommend this to all!

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by NEIL HAYDEN on 7 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

MYSELF AND MY WIFE HAD A GREAT NIGHT AT ALVORADA. THERE WERE NOT MANY PEOPLE DINING AS IT WAS THE MIDDLE OF WINTER. BUT SUE AND ANTONIO WERE GREAT HOSTS AND MADE US VERY WELCOME. LOVELY FOOD COOKED TO PERFECTION! WELL WORTH A VISIT!

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by butler on 6 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

secret weekend away in cornwall to celebrate wife's birthday. i did plenty of research before travelling the 200 miles to our destination. i used this website to find a quality restaurant that ideally served fish. decided on roovray's! delighted i did, as we enjoyed fine wine and sumptuous food that was not a silly price. the husband / wife owners have created a cosy, uncluttered dining area on two levels and were clearly passionate about their business, as the attention to deatil was a joy. this, together with the friendly, polite, complimentary service, made for a great evening. we would be sure to return if ever in the area in the future.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jessica & Mike on 2 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here on a Tuesday night in February, with the rain lashing down outside and a very warm welcome inside. Service was excellent, as was the food: we both had the hot crab pot to start, and then chose from the fish of the day for the main. The scallops were big and juicy, and melted in the mouth. The John Dory was seasoned well and cooked to perfection. Both were accompanied by potatoes and veg and a choice of sauces. I would heartily recommend this restaurant.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jessica & Mike on 2 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here on a Tuesday night in February, with the rain lashing down outside and a very warm welcome inside. Service was excellent, as was the food: we both had the hot crab pot to start, and then chose from the fish of the day for the main. The scallops were big and juicy, and melted in the mouth. The John Dory was seasoned well and cooked to perfection. Both were accompanied by potatoes and veg and a choice of sauces. I would heartily recommend this restaurant.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by richard edwards on 16 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The newly reopened Roovrays is smashing and a regular haunt of ours & friends super food & always a great welcome. A must for anyone visting this part of cornwall.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sarah on 12 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We are a family of 5 with an age range of 4yrs to 61yrs and have used this restaurant on previous visits to mevagissey. All 3 times have been during the summer rush and we have found the staff to be pleasant, courteous and freindly, if very busy. The food was so good on our first visit in 2002 that the children insisted on going back another twice in our week long stay. In 2003 the children insisted that we use this restaurant again at least twice in another week-long stay (and the manageress recognised us from the previous year without prompting!!) When we decided to return to cornwall in august 2009 it was on the condition that we went back to this restaurant at least once - we did go back twice and received the same welcome and excellent food and service that we had received on our previous visits. The whole family would recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially families. The food is excellent, the staff are amazing and the service is very good inspite of the high season. We'll definately be going back next time we visit cornwall.

Sharksfin, Mevagissey
Review by phil harris on 7 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

great food fantastic service very recommended

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sarah Cook on 23 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

You would not normally expect a Friday evening in a wet November to be busy but we were glad we had booked at the Salamander, what with the combination of pre- bookers and passing trade the restaurant was full - and the staff coped brilliantly ( though they must have been exhuasted at the end of the evening). My starter of scallops in chilli butter were sweet and spicy and came with a nice chunk of bread to mop up the juices. My sea bass was cooked just right and the lemon and dill sauce had a nice creaminess to it but with a good lemony tang to cut through the richness. My companion skipped starter and went straight for the Cornish sole which was huge and again cooked very well! The vanilla creme brulee was rich and creamy and all was washed own with a half bottle of muscadet - one of two white half bottle choices which I thought was good. My only slight quible was that the vegetable dish of red cabbage, and roasted carrot and sweet potato - while very nice - was possibly more suited to some of the meat dishes on the menu such as duck or vension rather than fish. All in all it was an excellent meal and very good value served by very friendly staff.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Tony Kent on 17 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food and a friendly reception in pleasant surroundings. Well worth a visit.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Fi Goodrich on 8 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Do not leave Mevagissey without trying Roovrays-always something mouth watering to choose from fine dining menu! Excellent sized portions too! Superb friendly service, relaxed atmosphere. The locals' local French cuisine!

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Tony Price on 6 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A warm welcome from Sue and Tony was genuine and very pleasant. Husband and Wife team serving Authentic Portuguese food in an nAuthentic Portuguese restaurant. Well worth a visit. we visited in the winter when it was a little quite perhaps the summer would be a better bet.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Tony and Julie-Anne Phillips on 29 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have now dined in Roovray's restaurant on numerous occassions and we can honestly say the food is always of excellent standard. There is a good menu selection and it is regularly updated. The 3 course selection is particulary great value. We'd recommend it if your in Mevagissey.
Tony and Julie-Anne Phillips

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Trevor Blackler on 23 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Whenever we visit Mevagissey we eat at Roovrays.The quality of food there is consistently excellent. The chef obviously uses fresh local produce and the changes in menu reflect this each season. The service is excellent, totally professional and superb value for money

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Chris Loach on 8 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a lovely meal here. Very tasty and well presented. We wanted to come for a second time but they only had one vegetarian option and were unable to produce an interesting alternative to the one I had already had. Shame.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Professor Nick Russell on 6 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An excellent finale to our holiday in Mevagissey, we shared an excellent meal with friends in the local Salamander restaurant. The welcome and service throughout was friendly but not intrusive. The menu is imaginative without being quirky, a good variety and everything we had was met with warm approval. Highlights were a hot crab starter, while all the main courses from duck with blackberries (innovative seasonal touch)to several of the local fish were nicely cooked and presented. The same can be said of the sweets. The wine list is modest but so are the prices and the quality of the ones we drank was sound. The prices overall are very reasonable given the quality of the food and the service. All in all we shared a great evening out in a well-run restaurant that we all would return to............pity we live the other side of the country!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by anita hill on 4 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited there on Saturday night and had the best meal I have ever tasted. Beautifully cooked and presented, really a must if you are staying in this area.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Hammond on 4 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a beautifully cooked meal at this restuarant, friendly staff. Set menu offers a good selection of locally caught fish and plenty of other meat dishes.Starters of salmon and pumpkin fish cakes and kebabs were very tasty. The black bream with citrus sauce and the pinky stuffed pork were delicious. We were a little disappointed with the dessert pear and berry tart with clotted cream but overall it was a very enjoyable meal.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by G. GIRDLESTONE on 29 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have recently spent a weekend in our favourite spot in Cornwall - Mevagissey. Apart from being very conveniently situated for many Tourist attractions, including the Eden Project, Mevagissey is a gorgeous seafishing village. It is a beautiful spot to holiday in, and of course, eat out! The Salamander is a lovely, and intimate little restaurant, that serves delicious food ( even John Dory, which is hard to find anywhere ) cooked from fresh - the seafood is bought from the boats approx 100 yards away! The decor is very pleasant, and the service is brilliant, plus of course the fact that I felt compelled to compliment the waitresses for their gorgeous smiles, even when hassled by a full restaurant. Prices are fair, and it is convenient for a walk round the little harbour to ease some calories off, then on to the Pubs, which are all very welcoming. This time we spent our 40th wedding anniversary there, and they made us especially welcome, having remembered us from previous visits. It is always a pleasure from all sides to visit the Salamander, but this time it was even better! The downside is that you need to book in advance as we are not the only customers who love the place!!!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sean Haffey on 27 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This small restaurant, just a minute from the harbour, is a jewel in Megavissey. We were welcomed in (despite not having made a booking) and offered a choice of tables. Kate, the co-owner, was quietly charming. The selection of food was excellent: small but catering more than adequately for all tastes. I had Cornwall sole; my wife had sea bass.

Both were excellent, with a good choice of accompanying vegetables. Although the restaurant became frantically busy as the evening drew on, service continued to be fast and friendly.

For dessert my wife had sticky toffee pudding and I had the chocolate brownies.

It was a delightful evening and very moderately priced.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Wendy Hanson on 22 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a wonderful dinner at the Salamander. Superb selection of fresh fish specials on top of an already extensive and diverse menu. Great service, attention to detail. Very reasonably priced. Lovely atmosphere and decor. The staff worked really hard, but seemingly effortless to make it a great experience. Very highly recommended.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Rod Payne on 7 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We are regular visitors to Cornwall and Mevagissey in particular and ALWAYS have one meal in Alvorada. Whilst there are more and more good restaurant experiences available in Cornwall, if you are there for a week you eventually want a change from Crab, Scallops and Sea Bass. That's where Alvorada comes into its own - it provides a totally different menu experience, even when based on the same ingredients, and one that you are unlikely to have access to wherever you live in the UK - authentic Portugese cooking with friendly and personal service from the owners. Thoroughly recommended.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jo Wilson on 5 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited Salamander during our holiday to Mevagissey this August and were bowled over by the fabulous food, excellent service and lovely atmosphere. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. Simply wonderful.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Tony & Rachel Marriott on 29 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An early evening stroll in Mevagissey to find somewhere to eat led us just off the main shopping streets to find the Salamander sign. The restaurant was obviously full and you could sense that happy 'buzz' of contented diners. While reading the menu outside a (clearly) very satisfied customer came out. He happily said to us that this was the best restaurant in Mevagissey and highly recommended a visit. We booked for the following evening. A lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and an enticing menu of local and regional food and drink. We enjoyed our meal and the evening so much we returned the following week.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Garry Arkle on 27 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a superb restaurant that we found through an internet search when we were having trouble booking at certain more famous establishments. We ate here early on in our holiday and the food was so good we booked again for later in the week! The fresh fish was cooked to perfection and the sweets were sublime. The wine was reasonable priced and of excellent quality. We had Sancerre and Sancerre Rose and both were fantastic. Our children said this was their favourite part of the whole holiday! We will definitely return to eat at Salamanders on our next visit to Cornwall.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Martin Kirkby on 24 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent service - really friendly and attentive, rather than remote and stuffy. The Sea Bass and lemon sole were top quality and we had a great meal all round. Would go again.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Ruth and Robert on 18 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A hidden gem away from the harbour and just off the main street. The food is of the highest quality and the service is superb. Mark and Hazel have created one of the finest dining experiences in the South West at prices which would be much less sensible if they were on BBC2 regularly!! Definitely not to be missed and well worth a journey wherever you are staying in Cornwall.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Chris on 17 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Food was brilliant and the atmosphere was wonderful. Very reasonable price given how good the quality was. Would definitely head back there and just regret that only found it on last night of the holiday! Staff were very friendly and put no pressure on you during the meal - so all in all a relaxed evening

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Gavin Coyle on 15 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I had a lovely time at the salamander we plumped for the two course meal for £22 the starter was tasty and the main meal a whole sole cooked beautifully with crisp vegetables there was a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and efficent. a lovely restaurant in a lovely seaside village

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Andrea Jessop on 31 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I visited the Salamander after reading the excellent reviews on this site and let me tell you I was not disappointed. It is everything they say and more. My husband is dairy free and I am gluten free. We were over heard talking about dishes that my husband cannot have but were told he could have most dishes as they could adjust the sauce. I then casually mentioned about being gluten free and the next thing I know I have a gluten free roll. What service, how many restaurants would be able produce a gluten free roll in seconds? Let me tell you not many, even those that I have pre-warned don't offer such a service. The food is delicious. Our friends live locally and visited them a few times a year, so we will definitely be going back to the Salamander. If you are near Mevagissey you simply must visit this restaurant and experience the food and excellent service for yourself.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by B R Dicks on 24 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We found Mevagissey had some of the best restaurants in Cornwall and Salamander was excellent. Spiced chowder followed by localy caught Cornish Sole- one of the highlights of our holiday. Thoroughly recommended.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Anita Collins on 21 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having just read a review written about a birthday visit on July 4th (my birthday also), I was surprised on how similar it was to what I wanted to write. My partner and I visited the Salamander on the first night of our holiday in Mevagissey on June 27th, and were amazed by the lovely food, restaurant and friendly staff. When it came to choosing a restaurant for our last night in Mevagissey for a pre-birthday meal, the only other time we ate out, there was no other place that either of us would consider going! The use of local produce made the meals even more tasty and appetising, especially the local wines available - needless to say we visited the Polmassick Vineyard before we came home to purchase some bottles. We were also certain that we would have an excellant meal. For me, finished off this time by the delectable Sticky Toffee Pudding, adorned by a trademark salamander, a unique and exquisite touch and a lovely end to the meal. We will certainly be returning when we visit Cornwall again!!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Penny Hall on 12 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We booked The Salamnder for the 4th July (my birthday) 3 weeks in advance of a week's holiday in Mevagissey. Our booking was based on other's reviews on this page and we too were extremely impressed. From the friendly staff to the gorgeous food it was a wonderful evening from start to finish, especially when informed by my husband it was my birthday a candle in a strawberry (I had no room for dessert) was presented to me with my coffee and the whole restaurant sang Happy Birthday, slightly embarassing but I was rather chuffed! Throughout the rest of our holiday we experienced other restaurants but decided to return to The Salamander for our last evening and again we were not let down, the Cornish Brie was heavenly and the duck cooked to prefection. Our two evenings at this restaurant were definite highlights of our holiday, thank you!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Theresa Wood on 8 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We were delighted to have booked this restaurant. I run a 5tar B+B and know what hard work it is to create great food and atmosphere. It was relaxed, we arrived late due to the carnival. We had difficulty choosing from the menu and totally appreciated the local produce available from lamb and duck to a range of fish.

We all had 3 courses and we all loved everyting, so did our two discerning teenagers!!!. We tasted the local white wine and had two bottles! It was crisp and light and complemeted the fish. Fab restaurant, unpretentious good humoured restauranteurs and staff. Food to be proud of ...long live British Food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!A great start to a long weekend..we will return!




Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Sue & Chris Leedham on 6 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a lovely meal at the Salamander on Sunday evening 5th July 2009. It was busy, friendly and the staff were efficient. The food was home cooked from locally sorced produce and it was outstanding. My husbands crab chowder was wonderful. we found ourselves talking about what we would have on our next visit before we head home from our holiday.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Rebecca Clark on 29 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The best restaurant in Cornwall in our opinion. We dined twice last week and last year and the standard is always perfect. Lovely fresh fish (from someone who's a meat lover) and gorgeous puddings.
Book to avoid being disappointed and try the fish cakes, lovely.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Barry Chester on 28 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great little restaurant with nice smiling staff and good service. The food however, is even better! We had wonderful lamb rack that was beatifully subtle in its range of flavours and the accompanying veg were superbly put together as well. Highly recommended

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Ruth weeks on 26 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fantastic food,all locally sourced,staff were so friendly,my partner finished off with a white chocolate homemade cheesecake with a wafer thin biscuit shaped like a salamander sat on the top of it,freshly baked by Mark the chef,my irish coffee was expertly formed with iced cream sitting neatly on the top,we were not rushed at any stage of our meal,although well travelled i can honestly say this meal would be on my top five best meals ever as the food was so fresh.candles on the tables however would have completed the perfect ambience.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Vicki Coventry on 25 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very friendly welcome, suggest you book because it was packed. The food was very well cooked with a comprehensive selection available, served in a pleasant environment.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Michelle Allen on 24 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wonderful restaurant, friendly staff, delicious food, very welcoming atmosphere. We dined twice during a one week holiday with an 18 month old and we had no complaints at all. It was wonderful.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Mrs Julie Doman on 15 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

wonderful food, staff and views - will definately go again.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Paul Smith on 9 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I had dinner at Roovray's on Saturday night and were very impressed with the hospitality that we received.We opted for the special two course menu and I had scallops for a starter whilst my wife had poached egg and asparagus wrapped in parma ham with hollandaise sauce-both were excellent,I had mature cornish sirloin for main course and my wife had the pork loin,both were very individually prepared with mouthwatering sauces and vegetables.The wine list was extensive and we enjoyed properly made Irish Coffees,we would highly recommend the food as it is so obviously prepared fresh using great imagination and ingredients.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by George Phillips on 19 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Salamander restuarant in Mevagissey is tucked away at the bottom of Tregoney Hill, slighly off the tourist route of shops and restaurants in the village.
Run by husband and wife team Mark and Hazel Crook, the restaurant has an unprepossessing frontage but a warm welcome is assured from Hazel when you step inside.
Tables can be arranged to suit the number in the party, from a cosy table for two to parties of ten or more.
An open stove adds a homely - and warm - touch to the already friendly ambience of the dining area which is set on two levels with a maximum seating of thirty.
And now the food! Mt wife and I rounded off our 45th wedding anniversary witn an evening meal at the Salamander recently and were delighted with the choice and ultimatley our selection of menu items, including freshly caught fish and locally sourced lamb, duck and pork plus a good choice of wines, including Cornish, and - of course - sweets to die for.
We settled on a bottle of Champagne (first things first!)and for my part crab chowder, whilst my wife couldn't resist the scallops. The chowder was superb. A thick, wholesome, spicy starter with and ecxellent balance of crab,vegetables and chilli. Just the thing for a windswept, rainy evening. My wife's scallops (with a garlic based sauce) were accompanied by - apart from the Champagne - a non-stop "Mmmmm!" which I guess says it all.
Mark cooks all dishes to order so a short amd welcome break occurs naturally between courses, no rushing you through. My choice of main course was Sea Bass. I'm always slightly wary of fish dishes as I hate fiddling with bones. I need not have worried. The fish was superbly filleted and cooked to perfection. My wife opted for lemon sole. Although not filleted the flesh fell easily of the bone and was ideally complemented by a piquant lemon and dill sauce. We forewent the salad accompaniment in favour of the vegetable selection - new potatoes, carrots (slighly crunchy - excellent), red cabbage and cauliflower.
I have no reason to doubt that the sweet selection would have been as good as our first two courses but our tummies got the better of us and we called a regretful halt.
A first class meal, at a reasonable price, had rounded off our special day. We would both be happy to take any of our friends to the Salamander - especially those who enjoy good food, good wine and (dare I say it) good company!

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by mary feeney on 12 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a truly authentic taste of cornwall. A restaurant and cafe where you can have the full english breakfast (Cornish style!) of local ingredients while rubbing shoulders with some of Meva's fishermen or a knockout lunch of fresh fish cakes or locally caught scallops while watching the boats unload their catch onto the quay. The place buzzes all day long with friendly faces and good humoured banter and EXCELLENT food. You could eat here 3 times a day and not get bored. Great location, great food, cheerful and friendly staff - what more do you need? Can't wait to go back.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Faye Bowden on 11 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Meal Saturday 9th May 2009
Fourth visit to Salamander. Perfect evening once again (Even though my partner nearly spilt our wine). Wonderful friendly service despite being the busiest we have ever seen it. Great food and wine, good value for money.
We will be visiting again shortly!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Jeff Ford on 8 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Salamander is an oasis in a desert. Excellent Scallops followed by John Dory served with good fresh vegetables cooked just right. Reasonably priced wines.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by carol rendell on 30 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Just had 2nd excellent meal at this restaurant three courses for 22 pounds excellent value. Sure we will return many more times in the future and would reccommend it to anyone both for good food and great personal service.

Roovray's Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Matt and Clare on 28 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited the resturant on Saturday 25th April. We ate from the 'Early Bird' menu, £32 for both of us. Having eaten in some great places before, we found the food to be absolutely fantastic and worth even more money than we paid!!! Can't wait to go to Mevagissy again - just to eat!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Roger White on 22 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Surprised - good atmosphere, very good food, good friendly service and fairly priced - first time there and will return!

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Will Spencer on 17 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I walked round Mevagissey looking at the restaurants recommended by our guest house. The Salamander looked both welcoming and had the most diners sitting down to eat inside.
We chose from both the set menu and the day's specials, going for the 2 course fixed price offer. Both the single starter, two main courses and single desert were excellent with good taste and well cooked. The wines available complimented the food. The bread, butter and olive oil/balsamic vinegar dip which came at the beginning were nicely done.
The restaurant has a soft well lit, intimate interior, with a log stove fire at one end for a cool wet night. The welcome on arrival, offer of tables for us to choose from, timing of service throughout the meal, and attention to our needs were both warm and friendly.
Altogether a good modestly priced experience, which we repeated a second time, when we were equally satisfied.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by norma head on 9 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

On our recent holiday in Cornwall we dined at Salamander and from the moment we were greeted at the door by Hazel we felt welcome at this tastfully decorated restaurant.
The starter of Salmon & Pumpkin Cakes was light and delicious and a combination I had not come across before.
I chose the Rack of Lamb,as my main course and it again was cooked to perfection and was nicely presented.
The only disappointment was the fact that the local Cornish wine had run out and we were looking forward to trying it as we were, up until then, unaware that Cornwall had it's own wine.
When we come back to Cornwall we shall certainly dine at Salamander and have no hesitation in recommending it as an excellent place to eat.
Well done Hazel & Mark on a super little restaurant.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Charlotte Ward on 7 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ate here using the Cornish Guardian Dine in style offer and were able to choose from the full menu rather than being offered restricted choices. The food was absolutely delicious and cooked perfectly. Will be returning with friends.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Suzanne Roynon on 26 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a place! We chanced upon Salamander in February 2009 and had the most incredible meal on Friday evening. The seafood was sublime, fresh, cooked to perfection. The rest of the meal was absolutely delicious. The wine list wide and well matched to the menu.
We were impressed with the prix fixe menu and enjoyed our evening so much that we returned the following day - Valentines Day - to find the place buzzing, full to capacity, and yet the standards of service and food matched the night before. I wouldn't hesitate to return to Salamander and plan to do so on my next visit to Cornwall.

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Suzanne Roynon on 26 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a place! We chanced upon Salamander in February 2009 and had the most incredible meal on Friday evening. The seafood was sublime, fresh, cooked to perfection. The rest of the meal was absolutely delicious. The wine list wide and well matched to the menu.
We were impressed with the prix fixe menu and enjoyed our evening so much that we returned the following day - Valentines Day - to find the place buzzing, full to capacity, and yet the standards of service and food matched the night before. I wouldn't hesitate to return to Salamander and plan to do so on my next visit to Cornwall.

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by S williams on 10 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

the service was exellent staff very frendly and had good experience the food was excellent and tasted sooo good !!!!!! DEFINETLY go again one of the best restaraunts in cornwall one of the few id recomend

Salamander Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by albert barker on 5 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fantastic food ,well presented mark & hazel did a great job see my review on mevagisseys read & review page

Wheelhouse Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Pauline Stenhouse on 18 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic prawn starter, beautiful seabass cooked to perfection with fresh crispy green vegetables. A delight to the eye as well as the taste buds. Ths is our third trip to the restaurant and it never fails to provide fresh food at reasonable prices. The service is excellent and you can enjoy lovely views of Mevagissey as you dine.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by Brian Terry on 16 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Alvorado offers good home cooked Portugese food in a friendly atmosphere. the experience is like being welcomed in to someone's home for a family meal (except you have to pay). Our three courses with drinks cost a reasonable £70 for two.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by June Ellerby on 25 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate here on a wet Sunday night in June. We were made to feel like part of the family. We started with clams in a garlic and olive oil sauce. Simple, delicious, and as good as anything at Rick Steins. The fish stew that followed was superb. All ingredients fresh, beautifully cooked, and mopped up by excellent and copious quantities of bread. An excellent dinner. We would not hesitate to recommend this small, but outstanding restaurant to anyone. Thank you Antonio and Sue for a fine finish to our very wet stay in Cornwall.

Alvorada Portuguese Restaurant, Mevagissey
Review by janet condren on 4 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

beautifully cooked, nicely presented, very friendly atmosphere.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook