• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall Newquay Fish Festival Choose Cornish Cornwall Food and Drink Cornwall Food Finder Porthleven Food and Drink Festival

Restaurant Reviews in Looe

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Linda Walters on 4 April 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent food. Scallops were well cooked and tender. Good service and nice atmosphere. Will go back again next time I am in Looe.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Tom Culverhouse on 13 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

a good sellection of fish and sea food dishes. well prepared and well presented to please the eye as well as excellents flavours and taste.You will not be disapointed. good value for money. attentive staff but not intrusive.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Keith Thatcher on 1 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My wife, daughter and I ate at the Smugglers Cott on Saturday 28th May 2011. The seafood was exceptional, the staff were attentive and not pushy and the price was very good value for money. We would recommend this excellent restaurant without reservation.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Deborah Edwards on 16 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This is our second visit for lunch. On each visit the fish dishes have been of a high quality in both the freshness of the fish and in the preparation and presentation of the dish. My husband is of the opinion that the Duck with black pudding was one of the finest meals he has ever eaten. It is certainly overall one of the best restaurants in Cornwall but not one of the most expensive. Unfortunately for us it is a once a year experience because of the distance from us on the North Coast.
Superb food and atmosphere, excellent service mke this a must restaurant if you are in Looe.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Linda Venn on 26 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband booked this restaurant as a special treat on our mini holiday. Absolutely gorgeous meal, I've never tasted fish like it. We left this restaurant feeling on top of the world! The atmosphere is lovely and we had the window seat overlooking the harbour. Would definately go there again when we are next in Looe. If you want a special meal and you enjoy fish, please book you will not be disappointed!

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Matthew Harries on 22 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Hi,we turned up at the door of this unexpecting restaurant at 7pm on Thurs 16Th September.We had no reservation,The friendly and receptive staff quickly rearranged a table to cater for my wife and I and our 3 month old child and large pram.We fealt very comfortable in this busy restaurant instantly.To round it all off,the food was exceptional,as was the service and the surroundings.I would recommend and dine there again

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by ROGER EMMERSON on 16 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It was the first week in September when the weather wasnt so good, but what a delight it was as we stepped down the stairs to the lower resturant area to recieve a warm and friendly greeting for the staf. Thier attention seemed just right and suited our relaxed mood. Food was quick and beautifully cooked at a price that met our pockets. If only we had one of these in Kent !!!! Will definatley visit again when we return to lovley cornwall

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Clare Pearson on 30 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My family thoroughly enjoyed a meal at this restaurant on a Sunday evening. We booked earlier in the day and glad we did, there were a couple of tables free, but not for 5. Everything about the experience was excellent, the service was informed and not rushed, they gave us plenty of time to decide and time in between courses. The food was amazing, we enjoyed some of the best fish we've ever had. There was a wide variety of drinks, from beers, to lovely wines, all served in a wonderful surrounding with a view of the harbour, what more could you ask?! Considering the amount of food and drink we consumed, the bill was very reasonable. I would recommend this to anyone in the Looe area and would definately go back if I return to the area.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Marie White on 5 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A party of eleven went for a meal on bank holiday saturday night, we had not booked a table, and the restaurant happily seated us all, although we were on separate tables it did not spoil the evening. The food was fantastic and the service was the same.
Many thanks for a great evening.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Marie White on 5 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A party of eleven went for a meal on bank holiday saturday night, we had not booked a table, and the restaurant happily seated us all, although we were on separate tables it did not spoil the evening. The food was fantastic and the service was the same.
Many thanks for a great evening.

Papa Nino, Looe
Review by Sarah Santon on 2 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I really enjoyed this meal. Both myself and my partner went to Papa Nino and found the restaurant to have both reasonable prices and excellent quality. We both chose the Lasagne from the menu and the Customer Service was excellent from the waitress - we were both made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Papa Nino's is a small restaurant, but with a nice atmosphere. The Lasagne tasted very nice - one of the best I've had since I travelled to Italy. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by John Coates on 25 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An excellent lunchtime venue. We had a superb table upstairs, overlooking the harbour. All staff were friendly and courteous, and the menu was a delight.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Andrew Robinson on 8 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My partner and i visited the Smugglers Cott Restaurant on Easter sunday.And was amazed with the service and lovely food we recieved.We had the sunday carvery the turkey and veg was wonderfull,and the puddings were just heaven.We would highly reccomend a visit to this inn ten out of ten ,and hope to visit there again later on in the year.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Grace Lewis on 1 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have never written a review like this before, but after eating at this exquisite resturant i felt the need to share my views. The service absolutly top notch, i never had to wait around for anyone to notice that my plate was empty, nor that my glass was not full. The staff were incredibly friendly and bubbly, making the atmosphere very homely without losing the profession feel. The food was just devine, i don't think i have ever tasted fish that good before in my life. I highly reconmend this resturant as i know that i myself will be returning on every visit i make to cornwall :)

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Julie Robinson on 22 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

One of my absolute favourite restaurants. A visit here is a real treat. The food is consistently excellent and the service is friendly and good and not overbearing. The table overlooking the harbour is wonderful for a special night out. The fish is excellent and I have to say I have been to this restaurant many times and never had a bad meal. A shame that they have removed their sunset menu though, I would like to see that brought back please!

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Anne Lane on 21 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have eaten at the Smuggler's Cott several times now, the Carvery is the best we have ever had, the seafood is excellent and the desserts are sublime. The service and atmosphere are faultless-book early for Carvery nights as they are booked up in advance.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Ian Jackson on 25 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fed up with standard pub grub on holiday? Look no further than the Smugglers for a superb carvery on fridays and sundays - no more need said than that we always book in advance and go every friday whilst on holiday and have for the last 7 years!

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Jean Branscombe on 25 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I have recently spent a week in East Looe and on our final night we went to the Smugglers Cottage Restaurant, it was packed, and we asked if there was any chance of getting a table for two. The response was great we were asked if we could just wait a couple of minutes and they found us a table downstairs. The staff were very accommodating and the food was excellent. They do a carvery but we went for the a la carte and the fish is just out of this world, it was freshly brought in that morning. The desserts are to die for.
We would highly recommend it but it would be advisable to book.
We can't wait to go back again and try something else on the menu

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Antonia Barlow on 7 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We ate out here on Saturday night and it was absolutely fabulous. We were rather underdressed, the other customers being smartly attired- but the two floor managers (owners?) made us feel really comfortable and relaxed. It's a tiny place, only about 8 tables, and we sat in the window with a view of the river and the setting sun over the hill. Gorgeous. My beloved had the monkfish and risotto- wonderful, and I had the trio of the day fish- what ever has been caught earlier at the fish market, only yards away. You couldn't get fresher. On this occasion it was John Dory, Brill and Sea Bass- all wonderful, but the Brill took first place. The seasonal vegetables were cooked to perfection and beloved was moaning in quiet ecstasy over the risotto. Somehow I always expect desserts to let the main course down but once again my taste buds were treated to a rapture of delight with the trio (why change the trend?) of creme caramel, chocolate amaretto and lemon posset. My tongue thought it had died and gone to heaven. Not cheap- but for what you get it would beat hands down any London retaurant who would charge twice the price. Wonderful. Go there!

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Kevin Clifford, Coventry on 12 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I was introduced to Looe and Cornwall in 2008 when some close friends took over a bb in the town and invited me down, it was nice to discover such a nice place as for many years I have only taken holydays in Spain or Mallorca, During my first stay i tried two or three of the main street restaurants/cafes and found the food good but the establishments lacking any atmosphere, having passed by the Smugglers Cott a couple of times and glanced at the menu, i felt i had to give it a try if just for the caught today lemon sole, one of my favorites, anyway I was not dissapointed it was excellent and so was everything else, I visted Looe again in the autumn, well if your friends have a B&B, [its called the Moorings] why not and as a thank you to them, [Sam and Sharon]I booked a table at Smugglers Cottage,unfortunately the Lemon sole had all been eaten, so i opted for the fillet steak and again it was perfect served with fresh vegatables and a smile, I plan to visit looe again shortly [May09] and shall definitely be eating at The Smugglers Cott

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Alice Martins on 24 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having walked around Looe on my first visit to Cornwall my partner and I came across this delightful restaurant situated in the heart of the town. We were instantly drawn by the warm and friendly atmosphere and were even more pleased to be sat in a cosy corner of the restaurant by an old antique ship. The staff were most friendly and helpful and the range of food was fantastic. I had the cornish ling whilst my partner tucked into the famous "carpetbag" steak - each cooked to perfection. The value and quality of the meal was superb that we didnt hesitate to return and eat at the restaurant several more times on our stay. Finally, before leaving we had our final meal here which was the Sunday carvey - definitly the best we have ever had - the choice of meats, vegetables and potatoes was once again superb. This retaurant definitly made our trip ten times more worthwhile! Highly recommended to everyone!

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Ian Crews on 15 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a gorgeous valentines evening dinner at the Old Sail Loft in Looe. The ambience of the restaurant is perfect, warm, and steeped in its 450 year history. The flavours are beautifully balanced, the starters were just divine. Just perfect sized portions for a diner who enjoys their tastes. The range of food was perfect, all tastes were catered for from dreamy beautifully cooked fish dishes to delightful quality cornish beef. But it was the way that the food is prepared that so sets this restaurant above a lot of others, perfectly cooked to your taste with just the right amount of gorgeous local vegetables. The pricing is exactly right, infact is quite low for the high quality of service and cuisine.
Would we go again, well read the above again and what do you think!!

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Mr T Sampson on 23 December 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My Wife & I recently had our daughters wedding reception at this location and the meal was perfect. All the staff put their hearts and souls into their work and when I told Michelle the owner how perfect they had made our day she shed a tear because she was so pleased. Genuine people and beautiful food

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Shane Churchill on 17 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What can I say? Mawgan's Restaurant could very well be the best restaurant I have ever been to. My partner and myself booked up for a quiet, relaxing weekend away and decided to go out for a meal. We were not sure of where to go so asked a local shop keeper and they suggested Mawgan's straight away. We walked in, were greeted very politely and it just felt like home but with someone else cooking which in my eyes is a good thing. The service was of the highest standard with a fantastic selection of meals ranging from fish based meals, more general meals and some with a hint of asian background. The wine selection was really good as well. The meal itself in our eyes was perfect, we rarely get to go out for a meal alone and so to find somewhere with such a warm welcome was a dream come true. I've just found out that Mawgan's is also a B&B so I think we'll definately stay there instead of on a holiday site.

I would like to thank Mawgan's for a very memorable evening. Great service, wonderful food, very relaxing atmosphere, it all contributed to our own celebration and we will definately be back at some point hopefully soon.

Golden Guinea Restaurant, Looe
Review by paul drew on 11 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

a lunchtime special of rump steak and all the trimmings for a bargain price of £4.95 beautifully cooked on a cold november day was the best meal of our cornish holiday. first rate service with a charming waitress

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Linda Rigler on 9 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The last w/e in October saw my husband and I take a quick w/e break in Looe. Our guide book (The Rough Guide) suggested three restaurants and as we were looking to eat local fish we started off in the Trawlers. It was easy to find and although dark by the time we arrived, it was easy to see how close to the water's edge it was. The restaurant was lively and friendly. We were greeted warmly and seated straight away. The fresh baked breads were absolutely delicious and I think I could have dined on just these with the bowl of olives! There were three different types of bread and each was gently warm and extremely palatable. We continued with both starter and main course - both of which were delicious. I would recommend the bream which was tender and very tasty (unlike my meal the following evening in another fish restaurant where the bream was overcooked and tough!) The service was unrushed, calm and attentive. We loved the evening and the place was fully occupied which is always a plus to us as we both like the hum of people around us enjoying their meals and having a good time ..... as indeed we did. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone planning to visit Looe.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Rodger Kent on 15 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had a very meal service was friedly but efficent surroundings very condusive to making a great evening welldone we recomend the sail loft to any one looking for a fine dinning experience in looe

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Fran Moore on 1 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Last Thursday, 26th June, Dave & I went to Trawlers to celebrate my birthday - too many to mention - & we had a superb meal, as usual. We love the ambience & the view, & the olives & the medley of warm bread on arrival. Our scallops for starters & the monkfish for main course, accompanied by the Camel Valley Atlantic Dry, couldn't be faulted [we don't often choose exactly the same but on this occasion we did]. My trio of desserts & Dave's bread & butter pudding were smooth & delicious. We also loved the chocolate coffee beans served with the coffee. We might have even persuaded our expat friends who will soon be visiting from France to join us on our next visit. Thank you for another scrumptious evening.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Ben on 28 June 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An excellent place to eat. We have eaten here 3 times over the past 12 months and each time the food has been some of the best we have ever had. The service is friendly, unhurried and welcoming. Steaks perfectly cooked and the cornish ling is a favourite. So good that we made a 200 mile round trip to have an anniversary dinner here.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Bernard Love on 28 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A really excellent venue for a meal out, with a comfortable, informal atmosphere. My personal favourite - Fish Chowdha (spelling!) is really good if a little 'filling' and can be ordered as a 'main'. Follow this with the shank of lamb on mash and you have an excellent combination. All the fish dishes are really good and obviously made with really fresh, local ingredients. I alway visit this restaurant when I come to Looe, it's one of the best in town. A bonus is Peroni on draught.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Mitch Hawkins on 16 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I had an excellent meal here as did my 3 companions. The atmosphere was really nice and cosy, the staff friendly and food gorgeous. All in all 9 out of 10!!! If it had been a tad cheaper it would be 10 out of 10!! (but I understand the cost of quality these days!!)

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Kerri-Anne A'lee on 11 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The staff were very accomodating the setting was cosy and the food was fantastic, the steaks were cooked to perfection and we really loved the hand made chips and vegtables.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by mrs caroline fern on 27 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

each year we spend two weeks in looe and this is our favourite place to eat. we have two boys aged 13 and 9 and they are both made very welcome even though our youngest is a bit choosy. the food is locally sourced and cooked to perfection as requested.i wish we had a restaurant of this standard in stockport, there again it would not be a treat on holliday!

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Ian Bruce on 17 February 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went for the Valentines special dinner at the Old Sail Loft and it was a superb evening. From the moment we arrived we were put at our ease with a glass of bubbly and had plenty of time to make our selections from the menu before being shown to our table. We had a superb view of the harbour and this was complemented by fine food and excellent service. There was also plenty of time to savour each course and we spent a very happy three hours at the restaurant for what was a very special evening.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Steve Bradley on 14 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have been a frequent visiter to looe over the last ten years, its my favorite cornish town simply because of the many great restaurants in one small town.One of the very best is the Smugglers Cott, its hard to know where to start but the ambience of this place takes some beating and the staff just float around the restaurant putting absolutly no pressure on the patrons and fading into the background even when busy. The food is wonderful, especially the john dory, panfried scallops, bass its all good, the seafood is the freshest its possible to find.there's also a good variety meat dishes to choose from and the steaks are always cooked perfectly to order. On Sundays the Smugglers Cott also puts on THE BEST carvery i've ever experienced, eating is believing!!Go to looe and fill your boots its gastronome heaven, not one or two but loads of GREAT places to eat out.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Joanne Duncton on 29 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Mawgans is the best restaurant i have ever been to. I have coeliac disease meaning i am unable to eat foods containing gluten this can be difficult to avoid when eating out.
Mawgans accomadated my diet really well and made me feel it was no extra hassle.For example, they made a gluten free roll especially for my visit.
The seafood was amazing especially the crab.
I would quite happily visit cornwall again just to go back to Mawgans

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by maureen yates on 6 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It was our last day in beautiful cornwall. We had done a lightning tour and were looking for a nice painting to take home with us. We found our ideal piece and returned to East Looe to buy it. It was raining very hard and we ran into a semi sheltered alley. We happened to see a sign for a restaurant and to get out of the rain went in to look at the menu... we were bowled over by the warm welcome, the gorgeous chesterfield collection, the unusual decor and the fact that these people were obvious foodies!. The menu was a delicious mix of and local seafood, local farmed produce and comfort food, a fusion if you like of yummy and quality. The price would be a reason to return in itself. We took the plunge and as it was (unfairly) quiet, we got the best table in the house (upstairs by the riverside) We were not disappointed. The whole experience left us sad for one reason, we live in Kent and the restaurant is in Cornwall...life is unfair... dont be unfair to this restaurant, put it on your "must do" list

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Malcolm and Elizabeth Butler on 5 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Shame on us! We've lived in Looe for 2 years and have only just discovered this gem of a restaurant. Superb food includes, in no particular order, Seafood chowder, melt in the mouth venison, an excellent choice of fish and proper Puds! All served with enthusiasm and genuine pride from top notch staff. AND, they serve draught Peroni.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by mr i kelly on 3 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent food and service, highly recommended.

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by natalie hurst on 2 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic meal and excellent staff, would highly recomend to anyone.

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by Rai and Carole Turk on 30 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have been visiting this wonderful restaurant for a couple of years and have never been disappointed. The food is out of this world, as a keen cook myself I usually leave restaurants thinking I could have done better myself, but not here. Dominic is a fantastic cook and the ingredients are the best. Michelle runs 'front of house' and is one of the most jolliest and friendliest restraunteurs you could wish to meet. The place itself is wonderful, old and steeped in history. The girls (and lads) who wait on tables are chatty, friendly, attentive and helpful. It is obvious they enjoy their work. Give it a try - it is impossible to be disappointed!

Old Sail Loft Restaurant, Looe
Review by carol coole on 22 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fab Food exciting menu enthusiastic and oh so slightly cheeky staff with excellent service in authentic surroundings

Papa Nino, Looe
Review by Andy Taylor on 6 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Just returned from a weeks holiday in looe, and having eaten at a lot of the restaurants around the town, I just have to rave about Papa Neno's. To say that this is a good restaurant is to say George Best was just a good footballer!. We returned twice, and the food was out of this world. Try the steak Pepe, and the Lobster Thermidor, fantastic.The staff are so friendly and attentive. A big thanks to Dee who looked after us great both times and thanks to Derek for letting me try his different types of Grappa, which may I add he thinks tastes like old diesel oil. I think this is the best place to eat in Looe, try it, see what you think.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Keith Sampson on 3 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A dining experience not to be missed! It was an absolute delight to savour the atmoshere, the superb food and the relaxed manner of mine hosts. Recommended? - Most definitely top of my list of restaurants to visit!

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by HaPe on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I spent a super holiday with the inlwas in that area last year and were lucky to find such a great place. The african dishes combined with an english wine - up to than totally alien to me - made that week.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Emma on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We havehad three wonderful meals at Mawgans and everytime the experience is even more wonderful. We Recommmend anyone visting Looe goes in and visits Eddie & Jeanne

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Rosie on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

In the 13 years that both my husband and I have visited Cornwall this is the best restaurant we have visited. The food is superb! The highlight of our holidays to the South West is to visit Mawgans. Rosie & Paul Placzek

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Stuart on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

everything about this restaurant is just great. Excellent menu choice which is changed on a regular basis using all local fresh produce. Fantastic hospitality and very warm welcome is always given. Certainly a must for all true foodies!!

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by PugZ on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I had our honeymoon in September 2005 cycling around cornwall and stayed at Mawgans and ate their wonderful food and slept in a lovely room upstairs. Very friendly and welcoming. We intend to return!

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Cookie666 on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My wife and I went for a night out on our holiday and went back every night after that, local produce cooked to a 5* standard in an imaginative way whilst being looked after by the friendly owners no rushing, the table is yours all night, long live the slow food movement!

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by KF London on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The best home-made bread and butter in the world! And such hospitable people too!

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Cockeak on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food and beautiful restaurant. Eddie's descriptions of the food make your mouth water and make it an unforgettable experience.Would always visit when in the area.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by 1234 on 10 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent and friendly service, outstanding cuisine, especially the South African dishes. Love to return.

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Ian Cheeseman on 17 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great meal with good, locally sourced and fresh, food. The service was very friendly and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal here - I would recommend it to anyone and look forward to our next visit.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Ian Cheeseman on 17 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Enjoyed a fantastic meal at Mawgan's last week. It was the first time we had eaten here but we were made to feel so at ease it was just eating with old friends. The food, all locally sourced and cooked fresh, was excellent. All meals are cooked to order and they advise you to expect a wait but it was nothing we haven't experienced elsewhere. The portions were plentiful and fish very good indeed. We were told that the menu normally offers a few South African dishes (the owners lived there for many years) and my wife enjoyed one of their chicken dishes. Jeanne has responsibility for desserts and is attempting to revive old receipts through the ‘Old Pudding Club’ – a regular dish which changes on the menu. On the evening we visited Sticky Toffee Pudding was available and it was superb. I can't recommend this restaurant enough and very much look forward to returning.

Smugglers Cott Restaurant, Looe
Review by Jonathan Boakes on 27 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Easily the most atmospheric restaurant in Looe, The Smugglers Cott Restaurant is a 'must try' eating establishment with plenty to offer the food lover or wine connoisseur. Tucked away in the rambling back streets, the environment is sure to impress those you choose to dine with. No winter holiday to Looe is complete without trying the legendary Yard Arm Mixed grill (reasonably priced for two), which is without doubt the most impressively presented mixed grill I have tried and tasted. Wash the great quality meats down with a rich, gorgeous red wine form the extensive wine list. If looking for daytime eats, the Sunday Carvery is a guaranteed success. Along with the traditional roast beef (choose from well done to fabulously rare) there's roast pork and turkey. Trimmings are mixed, and plentiful. I've been eating at the Smuggler's Cott for over three years now, and have yet to be disappointed by either the food, the service or the delightful Lucia, the charismatic owner of the restaurant. The 'Smugglers' is one of those precious restaurants that, once discovered, you'll return to for many years.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Kate on 10 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I can quite easily say this is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. All the food it cooked freshly to order and nearly all the ingredients are locally produced. I really can’t put into words how tasty the food is. Eddie and Jeanne are fantastic hosts and they really make you feel welcome. It’s so nice to go to a restaurant and not be rushed in and out the door. If you go to one restaurant in Looe make it Mawgans.

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Paul & Carol Jones on 24 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

we would return to Cornwall just to eat again at this first class restaurant, the finest lemon sole I have ever eaten, and the pixey's kiss hit the spot,and served by to two charming chef's

Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by Liz on 21 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited Mawgan's for the first time on a cold, windy Monday evening in
March 2006. Whilst the weather was unwelcoming, the opposite could be said
of the warm greeting that met us at Mawgan's.
Eddie & Jeanne, owners of Mawgan's, are a husband and wife team that have
created a unique atmosphere and wholesome approach to dining. Mawgan's has
two discrete kitchens, Jeanne's is open to the dining area and Eddie's
kitchen is directly through & behind Jeanne's.
Eddie & Jeanne invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy your evening - which
is exactly what we did. After welcome drinks, Eddie came to the table to
tell us about the 'specials' and to explain any dishes on the menu that we
may not be familiar with. I was intrigued by the Huku Maputo dish and Eddie'
s explanation left me convinced that it was a dish I must try. I was very
pleased that I did.
Having ordered, we received a delicious home made loaf with poppy and
caraway seed. For starters, I chose the Looe Bay Fish Soup, which was
deliciously fresh and warming. My partner had scallops, four plump whole
scallops, pan fried and served with leaves, avocado, strawberry and kiwi
salad and a lemon basil dressing and our friend chose Prawn Cocktail which
he said was gorgeous and was full of nice big tiger prawns, again served
with a leaves and fruit salad.
Everyone was equally pleased with their main courses - Liz chose King
Prawns which were served with rice and vegetables - Dauphinois Potatoes and
a dish of Roasted Butternut Squash, Carrots, Parsnip and Courgette. The St
Mawgan's Pork was superb, fillet of pork rolled and stuffed with apples and
herbs and dressed with a David stow cheddar and Cornish cider sauce. The
Huku Maputo was absolutely delicious - the quality of the free range chicken
was excellent and the Mozambique sauce exciting and interesting.
For desert, Liz had Crepe Suzette, flambéed at the table, Tris had an apple
sponge pudding and I had a delicious selection of fruit with a warm
chocolate dip.
With drinks (water and beer) the bill came to just under £100 and I would
say it represented excellent value for money and a very enjoyable and
fulfilling dining experience which I look forward to repeating.


Mawgans Restaurant, Looe
Review by susan williams on 6 March 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We were extremely fortunate to stay at Mawgans last year and also ate in the restaurant. The food and the service were outstanding. Eddie and Jeanne are extremely friendly and totally passionate about food. The menu has something for everyone on there, the african influence provides the opportunity to sample the different flavours of another continent. Each item on the menu is explained in great detail at the start and only the freshest ingredients are used. As for the bed and breakfast, the rooms are superb and the breakfasts divine. In fact there was only one fault - it is 400 miles from where we live!

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Clive and Yvonne Edmonds on 24 October 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Just found your very useful site and would like to add our favourite Cornish restaurant Trawlers on the Quay in Looe - we have visited many times - well worth the drive from Gloucestershire. Small intimate atmosphere - fabulous location watching the catch being landed. The food is quite amazing and we can heartily recommend all the fish dishes especially the scallops and of course the trio of pots for put must also mention the quite unique and delicious homemade bred. All local produce - food miles obviously work here!
Can't wait for our next visit.

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by Mr Steve Dock on 21 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic discovery. The service was faultless and the food was fantastic. My wife and I have eaten at Rick Steins in Padstow and I would certainly say the food here is as good as, if not better and at a quarter of the price. I strongly recommend Trawlers and a visit to East Looe would not be complete without a meal in this restaurant.

Trawlers on the Quay, Looe
Review by ALAN JONES on 23 May 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

MY WIFE & I ATE AT TRAWLERS ON MAY 7th 2005. WE HAVE DINED AT MANY OF THE UKs TOP EATERYS & THIS PLACE IS A MICHELIN STARRED ESTABLISHMENT IN WAITING! ATTENTATIVE SERVICE,FRESHLY BAKED WALNUT BREAD,OLIVES & CHORIZO TO NIBBLE WHILST BROWSING THE INTERESTING MENU OF MAINLY LOCAL FISH, CORNISH LAMB & BEEF.I HAD MUSSELS FROM FOWEY TO START, MY WIFE,A DISH OF SCALLOPS WITH PANCETTA & ASPARAGUS FANTASTIC COMBINATION.MY MAIN COURSE A PERFECTLY COOKED & PRESENTED TURBOT,MY WIFE HAD JOHN DORY IT TOO WAS SPOT-ON.WE WERE TOO FULL TO TACKLE PUDS.WISH WE HAD SUCH A FANTASTIC FISH RESTAURANT HERE IN STRATFORD ON AVON!!

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook