• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Choose Cornish Newquay Fish Festival Cornwall Food Finder Cornwall Food and Drink Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall

Restaurant Reviews in Liskeard

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by Gary Edwards on 7 April 2012
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

Lunch 17/04/12, food good, tables not laid, cold, no ambience or atmosphere, would not go again.

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by john procter on 31 December 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

If you want some real quality food at a local Inn this is the place to go. There is a specials board to tempt you and lots of options for the Rocks if you haven't had the Rock experience I reccomend you give it a go it is fabulous there are also lots of other options on the lovely menu The chef at the Manor has got alot of experience and it certainly shows in the food he presents you with.

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by Chris Healey on 3 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Had a meal there 2/2/11 food was delicious, well cooked and menu had plenty of choice. Service was excellent, the person serving us was friendly, helpful but not obtrusive. Will be going there again soon.

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by peter corkhill on 9 January 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Ate at this hostelry on 08/01/11 and can thourally reccomend it ,Good food well presented and reasonably priced a first class menu and staff

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Kirsty Weitz on 28 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband & I recently had the pleasure of holding our wedding breakfast at The Hayloft & were absolutely delighted with all that they did for us. Lynda really went out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful time. The food was delicious as always and the staff were very helpful & unobtrusive! We love the Hayloft & will definitely be back again and again and again!

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by David and Fiona Pike on 11 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wow what a wonderful restaurant, well presented, with extremely attentive staff and exquisite food. I started with the scallops which were cooked to perfection, followed by a gorgeous piece of venison in a rich, deep port and chocolate sauce, I finished with the trio of summer puddings, pavlova, pimms jelly and the best trifle I have ever tasted. I would recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family. Our whole dining experience was excellent! Would definately go again and again!

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Julie Hunter on 31 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Having celebrated my daughters 21st Birthday at The Hayloft. I can only thoroughly recommend its lovely food & friendly,efficient staff. We had a wonderful evening & are looking forward to the next opportunity to visit again.{ First class}

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Linda Mingay on 19 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is of a quality that would stand up in any big city, yet it's tucked away in a small market town in Cornwall. All of the key elements for success are perfectly executed. The menu promises a treat no matter what your tastes and, once ordered, the delivered food meets expectations every time. Add to that attentive yet discreet service, intimate setting and a strong emphasis on local ingredients and you have a real winner. The owners know their business well and deliver a dining experience that is second to none in Cornwall.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Norman Morton on 26 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My Wife & Myself have Visited Tapenades Half a Dozen times now, We have never been Disapointed. The service you recieve is Top Notch, very friendly & the staff can't do enough for you & all with real Smiles.
You feel they want you to have a rememorable & very enjoyable Time.
The Menus are fantastic & cater for just about all tastes, The food is truely cooked to perfection (I say this as we have eaten in some of the finest Resturants up & down the country as well as Cunard QM2 & the QE)Produce is sorced pretty much all from local suppliers, so is very fresh & this comes across in the quality of the finnished dishes.. I have never written a review for any resturant before, but really wanted to express Just how special this reaturant is & the staff there-in...... Book a meal here & I promise you will not be dissapointed.. :-P

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by Alan on 13 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had lunch here today and enjoyed excellent steak and ale pie at a very reasonable price. Good selection of Cornish real ales. Friendly staff. Worth a visit

The Well House Hotel, Liskeard
Review by Jan Brewer on 25 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Have enjoyed this restaurant on many occassions in the past with its style and good food. The menu is reasonably priced for what you get but the drinks are a bit pricey which is fairly typical of this sort of place. The last time I visited, the service/food was not up to the usual standard but hopefully this was just a one off and will be back to normal next time. Overall very good.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Mark Fairchild on 16 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

One of the best meals I have had this year. The dessert was particularly good. Service was excellent - if only I lived closer !

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Diane Young on 15 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is the ultimate in eating out. Sue is chef and Mike front-of-house. The food is of the highest quality and locally sourced. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes. Meals are beautifully cooked and presented with attention to detail. Sue's willingness to adapt menus (given notice) is commendable. Mike's ever warm welcome and personality is a much appreciated. Also, the waiting staff are always highly professional All in all Tapenades is a real gem.

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Daniel Hobbs on 28 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A truly excellent restaurant - excellent choice on the menu, good flavours, ingrediants and reasonably priced. Will be back.

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Julie Comber on 8 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My husband and I decided to spend our 35th wedding anniversary here and we were NOT disappointed. There were five of us in all and we had great food beautifully cooked and presented. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly which made an enjoyable evening. This was not our first visit and it certainly wont be our last. We would highly recommend Hayloft Ristorante.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Andy O'Neill on 18 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic food, great service, might just be the best restaurant in Cornwall.

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Heather Evans on 16 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited the Hayloft whilst on holiday . Enjoyed a lovely meal from the main menu ,food was excellent . The staff were very friendly and helpful as were the owners . Glad that my husband and I decided to stop at the Hayloft for an evening meal and would certainly visit again if we get the chance .

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Lesley and Allan Wolhuter on 29 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Tapenades is a gem of a restaurant tucked away in Liskeard in South East Cornwall. Owned by Sue and Mike Hicks, Sue is the stunning West-Country trained chef who conjures up a magnificent menu from locally sourced produce. Mike fronts the restaurant and is always there to guide one through the lovely menu. We held our wedding reception at Tapenades last year and last Saturday celebrated our retirement there with friends. As always we had a wonderful evening with splendid food and a lovely choice of wines and soft beverages. Well done and thank you both so much!

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Sheila on 18 June 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It's not often I have anything good to say about anything as generally I find that you don't get what you pay for. Having recently had a meal at the Hayloft I was pleasantly surprised that the food was perfect, the prices were reasonable and the service was good. All in all, well worth a visit. Will go back again for sure!!

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Derville O'Neill on 27 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food and friendly service in an intimate environment. Flexible menu with lots of choice. Super Camel Valley wine.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Julia Harris on 13 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Simply the best!! A warm welcome every time, flexible and varied menu, high quality cuisine in a classy and yet relaxing environment. Thanks again. Freddie and Annie!!! xx

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Kirstie Martin on 28 March 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is just my favourite restaurant and so fortunate it is on my doorstep. The food is outstanding, menus are changed regularly, nothing is too much trouble, service is outstanding, wine is fantastic too. You must try it

Hayloft Restaurant, Liskeard
Review by Gavin Hancock on 13 February 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic meal and service from start to finish – reasonable prices and the mix grill is to die for (if you can finish it). Chef Vito is a fantastic host who comes out and meets his guest which add the finishing touch to a perfect evening – would recommend to any person and any budget. Will be eating here again.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Paula Blamey on 25 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have eaten here twice in as many weeks. The first time was for a party of 30 and a special occasion for myself. I was given a very friendly welcome along with a compliment drink. The service was first class and the food excellent. My second visit was with two good friends, again a warm and friendly greeting awaited us. There was wide choice of dishes on the menu and meals adapted, where possible, to accommodate specific likes and dislikes. The food was outstanding and of a very high standard, as was the service. This is somewhere I shall return to again and again. I also liked the cosy seating area where I could enjoy a drink before and after my meal.


Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by adelaide mae osborn on 3 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I am a great english critic and i thought tapenades reastraunt was the best reastrant that I have ever been to.My favourite thing was the apple sobet that I loved very artistic.Therefore I am proud to present that you,sue and all the other workers in tapenades
have been awarded a mitchells award thank you for making my plain holiday an exiting one
Adelaide mae osborn x x x

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by sue/paul Brougham on 11 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The whole dining experience was fantastic, from start to finish, the owner of Tapenades was very friendly, and his wife who was the chef came out to see whether we had enjoyed our meal, it was a lovely place and well worth going to visit.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Jim Pearce on 8 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have several excellent meals at Tapenades. The food is always great and they are prepared to make starters into main courses and vice versa. The atmoshere is relaxed and very friendly

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Pippa Toulouse on 9 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Without a doubt the best sevice and fantastic food. Wish we could visit more often . The quality of service matches the quality of food. Abi always has a pleasant and warming smile who wants to please no matter how difficult the request! Hope to visit again very soon .

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Malcolm and Adele Doney on 8 March 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

jUST LOVE THIS PLACE
If you want a real treat then Tapenades is the place to go.We have dined here on many occasions with friends and family, and on special occasions have taken over the whole restaurant. The food is excellent,with locally sourced ingredients throughout-delicious.A warm atmosphere and friendly greeting is always at hand thanks to the owners Mike and Sue,they always make you feel so welcome.
Anyone in the area don't pass it by, be assured you won't be disappointed.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Pat Madgewick on 10 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We manage to secure a table at very short notice on 2 Nov 2007 for our wedding anniversary. I was down in Liskeard for the weekend. My husband is working down there at the moment. The restaurant was recommended to us. We weren't let down. The service was second to none. The food was wonderful. Thank you for the never ending pot of coffee. We will certainly eat there again if we are in the area. Certainly to be recommended

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by Angie & Bob on 9 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a great pub with superb food, it was so enjoyable we went back a second time within the month ( quite a few miles from us) everyone is so friendly and courteous, and the food is good value for money. We recommend the 'Pie of the day'..you'll need an empty belly for that one! We shall certainly be going back again.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Nick & Nan Palmer on 30 September 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Tapenades is where we always head for when we, or our friends, are celebrating as we know we will have a brilliant evening. We have been there many times, once taking over the whole restaurant, and never been disappointed.
Run by husband and wife Mike and Sue the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly but totally professional. The food is always excellent with a good choice on the menu and wine list with daily seasonal specials. Everything is freshly prepared using local ingredients and it is possible to have starters as main courses and vice versa, which is an unusual option. There is even a choice of differently flavoured breads and butters. The vegetables are served separately and we have never managed to finish them all, no trendy little towers here that leave you starving!
Nothing is too much trouble and Sue, when she escapes the kitchen, takes the trouble to chat to all the diners to make sure that everything was to their satisfaction.
If you want good food, efficient service in a lovely relaxed atmosphere, that won't cost you the earth, head for Liskeard and hope you are lucky enough to get a table!

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Dr Andrew Thomas on 15 August 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

As vegetarians it is often difficult to find a high quality meat / fish restaurant that not only caters for us but provides a reasonable selection of options. Tapenades were excellent in this respect - and without even us asking offerred to provide any main meal as a starter, or vice versa. I dined with my 16 year old son and 10 year old daughter (also vegetarian). The food was excuisite and clearly freshly prepared. Everything from the entree to the home made chocolates served with coffee exuded not only 'quality' but preparation with care and passion. Service was fast, friendly but not intrusive. The environment was very pleasant - even down to the hand towels in the loos! Thank you for an excellent evening meal. Thoroughy recommended.

Great Trethew Manor, Liskeard
Review by janet price on 17 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent and varied menu, with some very unusual steaks from Zebra, Bison, Kanagroo, Ostrich something to entice everybody with.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Tony Rolt on 8 January 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A real gem in East Cornwalls crown of excellent quality places to dine out. Food beautifully cooked and presented with vast choice of local produce on a broad, thoughtful and imaginative menu. Service attentive without being too over the top and extremely friendly. Book in advance as Tapanades is quite rightly very popular within the locality. Have no fear---we shall return!!!!

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Ian McDermott on 2 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Superb as always. The atmosphere is good, mainly due to the staff but also the people who eat there as they really do appreciate the good food. The range of dishes, all of which use local produce, is excellent and probably without equal in this part of Cornwall. The way they can adapt dishes acording to the customers whim proves that everything is cooked fresh and to order exactly as you ask for it. Worth travelling down from Essex for.

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by jamie chilvers on 13 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

superb food and wonderful ambience. You have not mentioned in your review that they are included in the michelin guide for 2006 - and very well deserved too! Fabulous wine list. Truly excellent.

The Manor House Country Inn and Restaurant, Callin
Review by jamie chilvers on 13 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

superb food and wonderful ambience. You have not mentioned in your review that they are included in the michelin guide for 2006 - and very well deserved too! Fabulous wine list. Truly excellent.

Tapenades, Liskeard
Review by Mrs Andrea Robertson on 5 April 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ate there 2 April with 5 friends and we were all absolutely delighted and completely overwhelmed with both the food and hospitality of Tapenades. We came upon it by chance and have now made a mental note to return there any time we are in the area. The only suggestion I have is if you are intending to visit the area make sure you book well in advance because the only disappointment you will have is not getting in!!

Fat Frog, Liskeard
Review by Steve on 14 November 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This restaurant is awesome! Lovely, very colourful and friendly vibe to the place. Great food and very reasonable prices.
Riiibit!!!

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook