• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Newquay Fish Festival Cornwall Food Finder St Ives Food and Drink Festival Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Taste Southeast Cornwall Cornwall Food and Drink Choose Cornish

Restaurant Reviews in Helston

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Alan and Gillian Prudhoe on 9 October 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Thank goodness we found Barry and his Wheal Dream team. Our daughter Helen recently got married at St. Mawes Castle and Barry and his team did the catering for us. How on earth they managed to provide an excellent wedding feast at a castle without any kitchen facilities was beyond us. Not only did he provide the food he also arranged the pay bar, flowers and his pastry chef Machin produced a fabulous 'castle cake'. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble fThank goodness we found Barryf and his team as we live in Warwick and they took all the catering wedding strees off us.

Beijing Cuisine Chinese and Thai Restaurant, Helst
Review by Gary Blake on 15 December 2012
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

Excellent service with a smile. Very fast pick up times in quarter of an hour slots if you phone in advance.

Food is lovely and always comes piping hot.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Anthony Woods on 9 December 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I booked a christmas/20th anniversary for my sports association for aprox 80 people. We where accomodated with excellent service, superb food, and helpful staff.Being a group of this number is not a normal booking but the staff accomodate extremely well - the food was stunning ( i personally had 6!! yes 6 slices of meat 3 beef and 3 turkey ) which hid under a mountain of vegetables etc.I canvassed all the tables and had not one complaint - but a whole raft of compliments , one of our members is a professional chef - who has served royalty and worked as a sous chef to a certain mr ramsay said her creme brulee was the finest she has ever tasted - my own roulade was stunning and others who had the crimbo pudding and the cheese board where also as happy.After finishing our celebration i was even given a hand to load my car with all my paraphenalia by 4 staff - we will certainly be back - give them a try _ Anthony Sandokai Karate Association .

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Jo Hancock on 15 August 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We visited Wheal Dream last Saturday evening not really knowing what to expect and were totally blown away by the level of service and fantastic food. On entering what can only be described as a country establishment with a modern contemporary twist, we were given a warm welcome which set the tone for the rest of the evening.
The menu was wide and varied with plenty of choice for vegetarians which made a refreshing change. As a party of four we ate our way through starters (including the most succulent king prawns) and mains including surf and turf (which apparently was delicious) steak and goats cheese and wild mushroom stacks with roasted vegetables and ribbons of courgette. The deserts sounded equally great (Profiterole Roulade to name but one) but sadly, with such generous portion sizes we didn’t have the room to fit one in. We will definitely be going back so maybe next time!

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Gavin Cooper on 24 June 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It has been a while since we last visited Wheal Dream, and in that time it has undergone changes in both decor and menu, which has resulted in a much more contemporary feel.
The welcome was warm and genuine, with very helpful and accommodating waiting staff who understood the menu well. The menu offers a good selection of meals without being too complicated and fussy, and the chef can accommodate clients with dietary requirements.
We ordered 3 courses, including some antipasti to share and individual starters, which were attractively presented, well proportioned and very nicely cooked.
The main courses were again of realistic proportions, and of the same standard as the previous courses. Neither of us had room for a sweet but they had a good selection of Roskilly's ice cream in addition to some very tempting desserts.
The restaurant itself is spacious and well laid with an attached but separate function area. It caters for families without being tacky and is just as comfortable for couples or groups of adults.
To summarise, it is definitely recommended and we will be back, but next time we'll be bringing the kids!!!

Halzephron Inn, Lizard
Review by fiona hunt on 16 June 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The photographs of your food does not do it justice at all. Perhaps a new photographer?

Kota Kai Bar & Kitchen, Helston
Review by Korinna Sjoholm on 10 April 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We just returned from spending 4 days in Porthleven over Easter, and we ate in Kota Kai for 3 of them! The first day we went in for a coffee and decided to stay for some lunch because the view was beautiful from our seats. Coffee was very good, we shared some olives and other small plates and I had a caesar salad which was lovely. We returned the next day with some family and had a full lunch. I had the veggie plate, which was a good mix of choices, my husband had the burger which was well cooked (i.e. not over cooked) and he was very impressed. Between us we also had the thai green curry and the thai mussels which were both described as delicious. I booked again for the following evening as I wanted to try the green curry myself, it smelt amazing. The next evening was horrible weather so I expected the restaurant to be empty, however it was still fully booked and had a good vibe, it’s just as beautiful watching the harbour in sunshine as is it enchanting watching waves break over the gaps. I had my green curry which came with jasmine rice. It was very good; it had a kick to it and was well flavoured. I particularly liked the pea shoots they dressed it with, along with the baby leaf coriander. We also had the fish and chips which wasn’t greasy at all and was a very generous portion and the crab linguini which looked and apparently tasted very good. I would recommend you try the chips, they are really good! Overall I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend, it’s a fantastic addition to Porthleven’s restaurant scene and is helping put the village on the culinary map. Very good value too.

Henlys Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by tony wright on 23 January 2012
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

Four of us visited Henleys 21/01/12.
The decor and ambiance was perfect and the service was first class. We all had starters and main course which were well cooked and the pork belly was to die for, but, there is always a but,I suppose.
The menu was very limited and as my wife is a veggie, really not much at all and my main course was small and only a bit of sea kelp, gravy, apple and pureed potato. I asked for a bottle of house red and received a nice Shiraz at £14.95, a bit steep for down here. The desert menu was very sparse and no one bothered. We lived in St. Ives, Cornwall for many years and were spoilt with excellent restaurants with reasonable prices. On that score, Henley,s has some way to go, but with a bit more imagination spent on the menu,portions and the prices, I am sure that this could be achievable.
I did mention the desert menu to one of the staff.

Amelies at The Smokehouse Cafe Bar and Restaurant,
Review by Ted Strong on 23 January 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Visited Amelies for the first time last week with some friends who have dined here many times, We are so glad they introduced us to Amelies as the food, service and general feel of the place was very good, can't wait to return, we will tell our friends in Falmouth about it.

Amelies at The Smokehouse Cafe Bar and Restaurant,
Review by Shelley Thorpe on 2 January 2012
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Thanks for the recommendation. Our gamble to book a new years event at this small restaurant (we've never visited before) paid off. What a smashing evening we had. Food was very good, entertainment (Slinky Minskies) was brilliant and the staff were very attentive. At £40 a head it was great value for NYE and was very well organised. Coffee was excellent too. Look forward to visiting again soon and will certainly recommend to friends and family. Great start to 2012!

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Sarah Debenham on 6 December 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Having just stayed at The Ivory for 3 nights, we have to say we really feel part of the family. Jackie and Sammy looked after us wonderfully, lovely comfy bed, fantastic luxury bathroom and gorgeous breakfast, what more could you want. Can't wait to go back in Feb.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Sarah Debenham on 6 December 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My husband and I have just stayed at The Ivory for a long weekend, eating twice in the restaurant, and have to say that both nights we were truly spoiled, with excellent attention from staff, fantastic menu and wine list, lovely homely atmosphere, the chips are to die for. We can't wait to go back for Valentines!!

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Silke Schmitt on 27 November 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wir waren eine der ersten Gäste im "Ivory" für Bed & Breakfast. Wir waren überaus angetan von dem liebevoll und geschmackvoll eingerichteten Zimmer und dem luxuriösen Bad. Nach einer 14 tägigen Rundreise war dies für uns mit Abstand die beste Unterkunft. Wir können es nur weiterempfehlen.

Amelies at The Smokehouse Cafe Bar and Restaurant,
Review by melanie wiezel on 27 November 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fabulous food served by enthusiastic and welcoming staff. Will definately go again, and encourage others to visit and enjoy it too!

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Jonathan Knight on 30 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The Ivory is the best restaurant I have eaten at in Cornwall.

The daily menu is indicitive of the attention to detail, exemplary and friendly service and excellence that is evident from the moment you begin the reservation process.

I have visited on a few occasions and never been anything other than extremely impressed. The family run B&B upstiars is modern, well equipped and extremely homely The breakfast is worth waking up for alone!

Evening service is complimented by the lovely atmosphere in the restaurant, the wine list is good but the stand out element is the service and fantastic food. I would love to recommend a certain dish but as the menu changes daily to accomodate the seasonal produce I would just say that whatever you order you wont be disappointed.

I wish I could eat here every night and will be booking in again soon just so I have something to look forward to.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Chris & Jess Elmes on 27 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Stayed for three nights whilst visiting friends who have recently relocated to the area, Sammy looked after us and our two children brilliantly, can't fault the accommodation or the breakfasts that were equally great - nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by robert kemp on 27 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

had a carvery with my family and we all enjoyed it we would all return to have restaurant meal in the week

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Rick Marshall on 25 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent: very tasty food, generous portions, served hot (surprising how many resturants cannot seem to manage this!) by unobtrusive yet effective staff.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Suzanne Chaney on 20 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Well, we went for our aniversary,thoroughly enjoyed our selves then and kept saying we must come and try the Sunday lunch, however Sundays were quite busy, but after our first visit, we are now booked in for this coming Sunday, I recommend to book early. We have really started to explor all of the exciting options on the menu, the apetisers we have not yet sampled, as we always go straight into the starters, which are a very good choice and are high on flavour, which keep you satisfied, until the mains arrive, now for someone who has never eaten patte, the pheasent patte, was deliciouse, we try to go every other week, its execptional value for money. We have the beef fillet everytime, the sur charge of £4 is tiny compared to the quality of the meal. You can have one, two or a three course meal, all are very clearly priced. The beef is actually cooked to the specific requirments of the customer, I have proceeded up the ladder,to medium/rare,which is very tasty, as I only ever use to eat well done!!! The standard of service is excellent, from the warm welcome, to the little details, of changing the cuttlery after the orders have been taken, nothing is too much trouble, the decor is fresh and modern, I like the fact you can see the cheffs happily cooking, they constantly have smiles on their faces. The wine is also selected for the food, I highly recommend the Pino gritio,(6)on the wine list, oh and the desserts. I had my very first creme brule, I loved it, but it was agony which to then choose, but you must try the brioche, infact we are naughtily working our way through the selection. We took my relations who were down for a few days and they went for the beef on our recommendation, in fact they had the same as us from the starters to the desserts and the wine, they were highly impressesd, they are down again in April and there was talk of going again.In fact we are this week taking more family, as we have raved about the Ivory for a long time, we will continue to keep sampling the other dishes. Every relative or friend that we go to lunch with or an evening meal gets taken to the Ivory as the evening meal selection is just as percfect, also mainting a very high value service and just the perfect place to visit.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by terri and John Jee on 25 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We recently stayed at the Ivory and it exceeded all our expectations. The accommodation, food and hospitality were all 5star! Jackie and her family made us feel extremely welcome and provided us with a very personal service. The Ivory has outstanding accommodation, with pleasant views of the countryside and stunning gardens. Look no further if you want 5star accommodation and service, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Jackie we will be coming back. :)x

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Pamela Chapman on 25 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We ate from the carvery at a private function this week and the food was fantastic! My husband had beef which looked pink and juicy, I had the pork which was absolutely succulent. There was an excellent vegetable selection. I certainly have never cooked roast potatoes as well as these. If Sunday lunches are of the same quality this venue is unbeatable. We hope to return to Cornwall soon!

The Atlantic Inn, Porthleven
Review by Carol Ewan on 10 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We visited this pub/reataurant for an evening meal whilst on holiday August 2011. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable about the food and gave great service. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would particularly recommend the scallops.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Debbie Greenwood on 10 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

WOW! what can I say, this has got to be one of the best places that I have EVER stayed. The accommodation was delightful, the breakfast - wonderful and Jackie and her daughter were a complete delight. Now I need to find some time to visit Helston again soon, just so that I can go and stay at the Ivory again. Superb!!!!

Debbie

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Glyn and Emma Meredith on 5 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Myself and my wife were looking for somewhere a bit special to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and after a search of local b&b's decided that the Ivory with it's accomodation and bistro would be an ideal place. As it turned out it was perfect. The bedroom was beautifully furnished with lovely matching solid wood wardrobe, bedside tables and table also a kingsize bed to get lost in and a big flat screen tv with all sky chanels. The room was great but the main event was the bathroom, just across the hall was our private bathroom which was the same size as the room with a large shower in the corner with side jets of water and a shower head the size of a dustbin lid, a really refreshing wake up shower for the morning after over indulging in the bistro down stairs. But the real star of the show is the stunning deep free standing bath at the far end of the room where before the beautiful meal downstairs a hot relaxing bath and a glass of something fizzy is a must. The staff and owner couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and accomendating I concluded similarly with my review of the bistro but I can't recomend The Ivory enough, we had a perfect anniversary, thank you.

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Glyn and Emma Meredith on 5 September 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Myself and my wife recently celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and were looking for somewhere a bit special to spend the evening. After searching local eateries we decided that the Ivory with it's accomodation would be an ideal venue. It turned out to be the perfect venue, i'll leave the details of the accomodation to a minimum but suffice to say the standard matched the bistro and food. On to the food which is served in a lovely intimate dining room by very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. We stared with Cajun calamari which was beautifully cooked and melted like butter, and tampura battered king prawns with the most refreshing lemongrass and chilli dressing both were supurb. Belly pork with wasabi coleslaw and soy dip which was simply delicious the belly had near perfect crackling with soft succulent meat underneath benifitting from being slow roasted for what must have been hours but the suprise was the coleslaw which had the merest hint of wasabi and in no way over powered any other flavours a brilliant plate of food. Line caught Hake with salmon mousse and a sauce vierge which again was beautiful the hake was perfectly cooked and the salmon mousse was delicately flavoured and melted in the mouth and everything tied together with a lovely buttery and herby sauce. The deserts capped a stunning meal with an Eton Mess and a rich chocolate and hazelnut cake with rum and orange creme fraiche, both lived up to the previous courses with the chocolate cake being almost like a fondont in the middle soft and gooy with the creme fraiche cutting through the richness of the chocolate and hazelnut perfectly, the Eton mess was the best either of us have had with the freshly made meringues marshmellow like in the middle and the fruit as fresh as can be all held together with lovely whipped cream. I can't reccomend The Ivory highly enough all round perfect anniversary thank you

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Annie Eagle on 30 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

For a special meal the Ivory is a fantastic venue. The menu is always exciting and the food is beautifully cooked. The service is amazing and we never tire of going there. Highly recommended but book first or you may be disappointed!

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Enid and Gerald Johns on 17 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We regularly dine at the Wheal Dream where facilities for the disabled, particularly those confined to a powered wheel chair is excellent
Make contact prior to a visit to enable ones car to be parked by the back door for entry. This is excellent in wet weather
Have dined here almost 13 years under varying ownerships, speaks for the Wheal Dream. Excellent waiting staff and most helpful Polish chef. Thank you

The Ivory Bistro, Helston
Review by Sarah Vaughn on 6 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I ate at this beautiful little restaurant when I was on Holiday in Penzance in May and was reccomended it's previous incarnation The Grange by the couple we were accompanied by.

We were initially disappointed to hear it had changed hands after hearing such wonderful reviews but our fears were soon put to rest on arrival with a warm welcome from all the staff.

The wine list while not the largest, had more than enough choice and although I cannot remember the bottle, it was a Chardonnay and very drinkable.



I opted for the Scallops with a Pea and Mint Puree and Crisp Parma Ham which was delicious, the Scallops were plump and seared to perfection.



For a Main I had Cod which came with mouth watering Cajun King Tiger Prawn's. The Cod was beautifully thick and flakey and cooked to perfection. My husband had Belly Pork which he still won't stop talking about! The crackling was golden brown and crisp and dry as a biscuit and the pork melted in your mouth!



For desert we had Pavalova which we were told was a favourite of the previous ownership (The Grange) and we could see why! The Meringue were dry and crisp on the outside and beautifully soft and spongy on the inside, the whipped cream was just sweet enough with a hint of vanilla and the raspberry sauce just tart enough to cut through it all! My mouth is watering thinking about it!



We're back visiting our friends in November and cannot wait to go back! Lovely to see they have their own page on here now and going by the pictures the garden has really taken off now! It's just a shame we won't be able to appreciate it in November!

Kota Restaurant, Porthleven
Review by Bill North on 12 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Jane & Jude run an excellent, happy, successful restaurant with choice of imaginative dishes using fresh locally produced supplies & cooked to perfection.Service is friendly & efficient with just the right touch of informality which makes for a relaxed and superb meal.
This is a really good restaurant - must be the best in W Cornwall

Halzephron Inn, Lizard
Review by Leah Metters on 23 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Catch this pub on a sunny evening and you couldn't find a better spot in the county. It's peaceful, friendly and welcoming, with a real local feel. The food was of a high standard for pub grub - the fish and chips were delicious. This gem of a pub was as nice inside as it was out.

Halzephron Inn, Lizard
Review by Neville Turner on 17 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Really nice, peaceful location with a decent view of the sea from the tables outside. Typical pub-food really excellent and extremely friendly and accommodating staff. Thoroughly recommend, but do get there early as it seems, justifiably, very popular and, therefore, very busy.

Halzephron Inn, Lizard
Review by Joan Stembridge on 11 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We also visited on Tuesday April 5th when the staff had a coach party to cope with as well as everyone else in the pub. Excellent service. Excellent food. It will be top of our list next time we're on the Lizard. We both had scallops, perfectly cooked. Excellent flavour to dressings as well. Dessert to die for. Shame I had to share it!

Halzephron Inn, Lizard
Review by Susan Best on 8 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We visited the Halzephron Inn last Tuesday lunchtime. The staff were coping with a coach load of visitors all having lunch and were doing so admirably. They were still very polite and efficient despite having to go back and forwards to the galley. We all enjoyed our lunches but mine was the best seafood chowder I have ever had. It was full of fish and crab claws just the way it should be. Thank you for a memorable lunch and we shall definitely be back.
Sue and Howard Best

Henlys Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Hannah Hough on 24 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Food was of a very high standard, staff were friendly and efficient, overall a very enjoyable evening!

Henlys Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by lee blundell on 12 November 2010
Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3Rating: 3

Visited the restaurant a few weeks ago to find it was closed due to lack of trade was told to return wednesday onwards which I did with my family and enjoyed our meal, a bit pricey mind but tastey. I must admit we did raid the fridge on our return as the portions are quite small. But if its preety looking and tastey food your after henleys your place.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Drew Barton on 12 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This place has a very nice setting and nice, relaxed atmosphere. We were greeted with some very tasty smells and welcomed at the front desk and quickly dealt with by one of the waitresses. We had a few questions as we had young children with us and a vegetarian but all questions were well handled and quickly answered by the staff there. As our young children could not finish a full meal they suggested getting a medium meal and splitting it between two of the children, a very good idea and an adequate amount of food for them. The food itself was very good. The meat was well cooked and a good variety of vegetables and sauces were on offer. We were well taken care of by the staff during the meal and really enjoyed the food.

However when settling up our bill a few problem arose. We were seriously overcharged and when we tried to correct this were met with a less than co-operative attitude from the owner. Where we come from carveries allow you to have unlimited vegetables and we, wrongly, assumed this was the case here as there was no information to lead us to believe the contrary. We had taken a couple of our kids up for some extra potatoes and carrots and were charged for two extra medium meals because of this. A compromise was reached but the owner's attitude was very disappointing and did spoil what had been up till then a very enjoyable family afternoon.

Maybe with a bit more information for customers this kind of situation could have been avoided and we would have done things differently. I would recommend going here as the food and waitress service is very good, just make sure you know all the facts before you put any food in your mouth.

The Atlantic Inn, Helston
Review by Judy Harris on 14 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

An excellent family friendly pub and restaurant with varied menu suitable for all tastes, great 'specials' including locally caught fish and all very reasonably priced. Our first choice for a meal out.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Bob Moncion on 3 January 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

LOOKING FOR AN EXPERIANCE IN FINE DINNING, WITH THE BEST MEALS IN THE AREA, DONE TO PERFECTION BY ONE OF THE FINNEST EUROPEAN TRAINNED CHEF’S, AND THE FRIENDLIEST OF STAFF???WELL LOOK NO FARTHER THAN JUST 3 MILES OUTSIDE HELSTON ON THE RED RUTH ROAD TO THE> WHEAL DREAM CARVERY BAR AND RESTAURA WHERE FINE DINNING IS A FAMILY EXPERIANCE.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by gary and marie on 9 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

went here for our anniversary on 2nd oct this year, had a great meal and so well cooked, with great service. they did all we wanted to see it was a good evening and have booked a 21st birthday meal here in the new year! have told eveyone to go and try it.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Debra Tolley on 22 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Recently held our wedding reception at Wheal Dream. Absolutely excellent food(carvery -reasonably priced)and service. Well organised and cannot do enough to help you. We would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a reception for less than 50 people.
Debbie and Steve from Staffordshire

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Jenna Southern on 31 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Last weekend i went to the halzephron inn, and the food was to die for my husband, mother in law and i all agreed that it was the best meal out that we have had in a long time. i strongly suggest to anyone thinking of dining out to try the halzephron inn. it is worth every penny and i gaurantee you will not be disappionted. p.s the chicken and pesto rissoto is not to be missed!

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Audrey Carson on 22 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic food, excellent service. Thoroughly recommended.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Audrey Carson on 22 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic food, excellent service. Thoroughly recommended.

The Atlantic Inn, Helston
Review by amanda Barry on 18 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went to this pub/resturaunt on the 8/8/09. there were 4 adults and 5 children including a baby. The staff were lovely and accommodating to our needs. They made us all feel welcome and the children were relaxed and happy because the staff gave them crayons, joked with them and they were warm and really friendly with all. We ordered starters and main courses and the kids had pudding. the food was excellent, well presented and plentiful, everyone cleared their plates. the crab claws were fresh and had a sublime flavour. The childrens meals were free with the adults 2 courses, For around £90 it was absolute value for money. The quality of the food was great and We would thoroughly recommend this as a definate meal out to anyone who visits cornwall.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Alan O'Nions on 3 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We recently visited Kota in July whilst holidaying in Cornwall.

Over the past five years we have been fortunate to eat in over 10 Michelin starred restaurants. We have eaten at The Ivy in London, The Ritz in Madrid and at Claridges to name a few. We have also eaten at the the restaraunt of Glyn Purnell who has appeared many times on T.V including Great British Menu in which he reached the final of both series. Glyn is also Michelin starred and has his own supurb restaurant in Birmingham.

Eating at Kota was a delight and I can honestly say that it was the finest meal I (and we) have ever eaten. The eclectic mix of flavours and dishes meant that all four of us ordered differing dishes at each course just to taste the new and exciting dishes.

Kota should be very proud of what they do, sadly so many restaurants in holiday destinations seem to become lazy in the knowledge that there is a large transient customer base where return business isn’t always needed. Kota really stood out. We cant wait to be in the area again so we can eat at your place again. We recommend anybody visiting Cornwall to seek it out!


Guiseppe's Italian Restaurant, Helston
Review by Val Lloyd on 24 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have been holidaying in Mawnan Smith for about six years now, and have to admit that this restaurant is one of the main reasons. Despite the fact that you have to pay, you do indeed feel like a guest in the relaxed atmosphere. The food is exquisite,the fish especially is a treat as we live in the Midlands, about as far away from fresh fish as possible. Guiseppe is a marvellous chef (how does he cook those potatoes?) and we dread going to Mawnan Smith and find he has retired.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by jane goddard on 28 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

ate at this resturant whilst on holiday at easter 17th April 2009
The food was superb and the contemporary feel of the resturant and pictures. I would like to have met the chef/owner to thank him for such lovely food. Beautifully presented and flavourful. like being in a top london eatery!!!!
keep it up!
thanks
jane goddard Kent

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Jenny Stewart on 28 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fab fab fab - what a wonderful wonderful meal - everything was just spot on - the service, the food, the wine - just wish you were closer to the Cotswolds ! - but we will be back !

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by trish young on 13 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

just been to kota restaurant for an exellent meal lovely & tasty & served by a lovely waitress (stephanie)i am lookin forward to going again.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Brian Terry on 4 May 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We went down to Kota at Porthleven for a leisurely lunch and that is exactly what we got. My wife had the trio of vegetarian dishes. Not because she is vegetarian, but because the selection was so good. I had tubot on a local crab and asparagas rissotto. The desert of creme brulee with a plum and star anise ice cream was equally magnificent. Kota is very busy in the evening, so be like us and have wonderful and unhurried lunch.

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Finn Asow on 3 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have only been to the inn once but I can tell you I had a whale of a time. The food was great and the seating and restrooms were clean and comfortable. I must say that it is quite expensive but worthwhile. I would definatley go again!!!

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Mel and Ann on 15 May 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Just to say that the Sunday roast here was lovely, very fresh and beef not crucified. Lots of very tempting puds so save room. Worth the drive.


Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Beki Anderson on 12 December 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

No visit to Cornwall is complete without at least one meal at Kota! Not only is it set in a beautiful harbourside village, but the food is fantastic with some original touches; the black pepper ice cream is a must! The friendly and efficient service adds to the warm and friendly atmosphere and makes it ideal for either a romantic night out or a celebratory group of friends. Add Kota to your list of 'must-dos' while it Cornwall, it should be right up there with the Eden Project.

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Larkins on 6 November 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Lovely Sunday lunch. Best roast beef in Cornwall. Wonderful attentive staff. very enjoyable meal with good friends

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Lee on 11 September 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Our meal at the Halzephron was the highlight of our holiday. Wonderful relaxed atmosphere, good wine list and simply excellent food. The menu was well-balanced and the food absolutely delicious - traditional fare but with a twist so it felt like a really special meal. Be warned - the specials use fresh ingredients and two of the dishes were already finished when we sat down at 7.30! Cannot recommend this place too highly.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Kate Herbert on 10 August 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Simply the best food I've ever eaten outside London. Daily seafood specials are amazing and main menu offers a wide range of delicious organic local produce. If you like an Asian twist this is a must. We ate there 4 times in a week's visit!

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Jim Rintoul on 17 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

After a week in Cornwall we ended our holiday with dinner at Kota. The children were made welcome, the atmosphere relaxed and the food sensational. The fabulous seafood platter for two was magnificent and the starters delicious. Highly recommended

Anglo Asia, Helston
Review by Matt on 4 July 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

On the outside the Anglo-Asia looks like a third rate converted house but thats where the bad comments end! The staff are fantastic and will do their level best to help, the food is divine, space inside is limited but doesnt detract from the positives. An absolute diamond amongst the rough, I would highly reccomend any of the Balti or Jalfrezi dishes.

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by Hannabeth Johnson on 16 June 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic restaurant. We ordered the Seafood platter for two - it was a work of art and worth every penny - the best meal we have ever had. Highly recommended.

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Frank Crouch & Sally Markham on 18 December 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We were made very welcome,it was difficult to choose from the excellent menu.We really enjoyed our choice of starter and main course along with some refreshing white wine.Angela is a wonderful host, we were very relaxed and we
love going there.Great atmosphere too!

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Luke on 22 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wheal Dream combines friendly staff with a large, affordable menu. Anyone who is visiting Cornwall must try the local real ales on offer as well!

Kota Restaurant, Helston
Review by MARGARET AND GRAHAM JOHNSON on 7 July 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A good selection. I chose cuttlefish and for a non-fish loving person that was quite raunchy! Their home-made ice cream is a must. They also stock Cornish Camel wines.

Halzephron Inn, Helston
Review by Barry Wethers on 18 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Halzephron is a wonderful place, the warm welcome from such freindly and attentive staff really makes Halzephron a special place and a reason in itself to holiday.

Wheal Dream Carvery Bar and Restaurant, Helston
Review by Alistair Ferguson on 18 February 2005
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Wheel Dream combines nice staff, with well priced meals and good quality food.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook