• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Cornwall Food and Drink Choose Cornish Porthleven Food and Drink Festival Newquay Fish Festival Cornwall Food Finder Taste Southeast Cornwall

Restaurant Reviews in Bude

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Mirchi Indian Cuisine, Bude
Review by Jane Courtney on 18 July 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Good food expertly prepared and served by friendly, welcoming staff. Pleasant restaurant; reasonable prices.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Richard Ellis on 17 May 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Probably the best value for money restaurant quality lunch I've come across. We first experienced the Castle Restaurant during flying visit to Bude 4 years ago and have been fans since the first meal. Excellent food prepared from finest indignant's by a gifted chef who truly understands flavor,the use of home made breads turns a simple sandwich into a lunchtime treat. As well as lunch the Castle is also a great place to eat at night and again Kit's understanding of flavors comes through in whatever you choose. Only had short visit to Bude this time but have had lunch twice and evening meal once in the castle and cannot wait for our next trip. Finally should mention the friendly atmosphere and attentive staff, thank you and well done to all.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Jodie Gratton on 13 May 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My fiance and I went to The Castle restaurant on Sunday afternoon for lunch. I was amazed at how good the food was. It was gourmet style food at really affordable prices. The roast dinner was the best I have ever had at a restaurant (a big statement as I really am fussy on roasts and usually much prefer home cooked to restaurant one's - I am now converted to Sunday lunch at the Castle!!). The waitresses were really friendly. We booked the table for two in the bay window overlooking the beach. It was such a great spot and a great way to spend our afternoon. I can't wait to go back and try the evening menu!! Such a cute and cosy atmosphere, there wasn't a single thing I could criticize, 5 stars all round!

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Maureen Belcher on 26 March 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

A little gem! The food was first class, presented beautifully and the service was superb. Our waitress was lovely and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Suzanne West on 15 February 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My partner and i went there for valetines day.
We have been there a few times now, we come all the way from Torquay so it shows you how we feel about the place. The food is out of this world, the staff and the chef are very friendly and i can`t wait to go back.

The Falcon Hotel and Tennyson's Restaurant, Bude
Review by Julie Martin on 11 February 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

You can always be sure of a friendly welcome at the Falcon Hotel. There is a good selection of local ales and very knowledgeable bar staff who can suggest a drink to suit your palate.
Sunday roasts are particularly good with an excellent selection of vegetables and the Ploughman's lunches are very good value and very filling!
Thank you Falcon Hotel!

Brendon Arms, Bude
Review by julie martin on 11 February 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The Brendon Arms always offers a wide range of quality food with excellent daily specials. The pub is well tuned in to events such as Burn's Night, Chinese new Year and St Piran's day.
The steaks are the best in the area and the staff are always friendly and attentive.
Well done Brendon Arms!

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Gill Beresford on 21 December 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have just moved to Cornwall and found this restaurant served superb food, the Christmas menu would suit almost any taste. The presentation of dishes was exceptional, the food was well cooked and the staff contributed to make it a most enjoyable experience. If you want good food in superb surroundings - I can recommend the Castle.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Gordon Crouch on 24 August 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Walking into Urchins you are immediately struck by the friendly atmosphere.Children are welcome.The staff are young,amiable and well trained.During the course of the evening Gary and Andrew, the proprietors chat to their guests.The delicious food is very reasonably priced.On the occasion of our visit we started with tempura prawns and calamari, both in the lightest of batters on a bed of mixed leaves....a melt in the mouth moment.This was followed by the catch of the day, fabulously fresh haddock, perfectly fried in a beer based batter.We do like our batter!This was accompanied by flawless, twice fried chips and marvellous mushy peas.Urchin's own Lighthouse beer and a glass of Sauvignon Blanc complemented the meal.There was a good selection of sweets.We were sorely tempted by the home made chocolate fudge cake but, giving our waistlines some consideration, opted for the range of ice creams. A wonderful evening out.

Mirchi Indian Cuisine, Bude
Review by Paul Simpson on 6 July 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Recently visited Bude from and decided to try this Indian instead of the other 2 in the town.....Why ? Because the place was buzzing with customers ! Thats the main reason i chose Mirchi , there must be a good reason for that and there is ! The food is excellent and i have a wealth of curry places near me in London to compare it to. The only gripe i would have was a long wait for my takeaway but then it was a Saturday night so its to be expected and was well worth the wait. I had the Lamb Dhansak and it was easily up there with the best ive ever had. The peshwari naan was perfect and fruity and the onion bhajis were superb , not too oily. I would recommend Mirchi with no hesitation , if you know your Indian then you wont be disappointed.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Kay Young on 18 June 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

The most amazing 'catch of the day'- best fish I have ever tasted, very moist and encased in light crips batter. The fish was so good I almost forgot to eat the rest! Beautifully presented too.

The London Inn, Bude
Review by Jo Lethbridge on 5 June 2012
Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1Rating: 1

Would really be able to like the rate the 'food' at the London Inn, Kilkhampton, Bude, but the service was so bad we never actually got as far as that. We Initially waited over 30 mins for our order to be taken (and even then it was only after I had to go and hunt the waitress down and ask her to do this.)Cutlery was dirty. Other diners were also complaining about appalling service (in fact at least one other group also walked out without being fed - we know this as we saw them in the fish and chip shop!!). When waitress finally came to take our order, 4 items on the menu werent available (in fact it was easier for them to say what we could have). After a further 1 hour 15 mins wait for the food to arrive, the waitress came to tell us that it now transpired that some of the items we ordered were no longer available. Never once did we receive an apology or complimentary drink, etc. Complained to the Manager, who also didnt offer an apology just denied that we had waited for nearly 2 hours. We walked out without being fed. The worst service I think I have ever experienced. Avoid at all costs and walk 50 meters down the road to the New Inn where the food and service is exceptional.

The Old Wainhouse Inn, Bude
Review by John Broom on 22 May 2012
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

Nice setting, but what a rip off when it comes to the food.
I paid £5.25 for a cheese sandwich made with ordinary bread, a half packet of crisp and a salad of green leaves, which would fit into the palm of my hand. My wife had the so called ploughtmans, costing £7.95 which any self respecting ploughman would have though was a joke. One slice of thin ham, a slice of bread, a small portion of salad, two pickled onions and a girkin. I would not recommend your Inn.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Sue Sedgman on 17 April 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Yet again another great meal!

We book our Anniversary meal every year at, Life's a Beach and it always delivers.
Thank you!

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Lisa Foo on 12 December 2011
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

Contary to what others have written, my families experience of Urchins was less pleasent than those of others. The food was less than satisfactory, taking a long while to get out. The toilets are also less than satisfactory. I could hear the head chef disputing a 'bad review' with his collegues. Making light of the experience, the staff seemed happy and the decor was good. However, this was a few months ago, so it may have improved bye now.

Widemouth Manor Hotel and Restaurant, Bude
Review by Mr & Mrs Franklin on 4 November 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A really enjoyable stay with our three children. Good service, great food and a fab setting.

Widemouth Manor Hotel, Bude
Review by Ellie cole on 20 October 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We ate here last weekend and it was exellent, the food was of a very high quality, the staff couldnt do enough for you. We will deffo be going back. Well done to the Widemouth Manor.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Judith Windmill on 6 September 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A little gem of a restaurant. The food is well prepared, delicious and non pretentious and there is a sufficiency on the plate, without being overloaded. The pricing is sensible. A reasonable wine list and local cider & beer are available. The staff are pleasant & attentive even when the restarant is full. While at the Jazz Festival we ate here four times and were not disappointed.

Widemouth Manor Hotel, Bude
Review by Julie Cameron on 31 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

A group of 4 of us went to eat for a sunday lunch. The service was excellent and there was a choice from 5 different meats. We ordered the pork and the beef meals and both came and were excellent with giant yorkshire puddings! We couldn't fault the meal. I think the price was £8.95, which wasn't overpriced. We also had deserts which were all good. Would definitely recommend and would go back again.

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Jo Parker on 13 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Great welcome for both eat in and take away, coming from Leicester and loving curry i was glad when such a high standard opened in Bude. Great menu for both Bangladeshi and the curry we all know and love.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Trevor Smith on 12 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This is a Test Review

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Alan Restaurant on 9 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have visited the Buller's Arms on numerous occasions and whether it is the very popular carvery on Sunday's, or a mid-week lunch the food and service have always been first class. Together with splendid local ales, or the Spring Beer Festival, the Buller's is a good traditional Cornish pub.

Elements Cafe Bar / Italian Restaurant / Hotel, Bu
Review by joan johnson on 3 August 2011
Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2Rating: 2

After complaining of poor quality meat we were offered an alternative meal ,which we declined .the staff became defensive and rude and asked me to pay for one of the burgers. Good location and previously have been ok. but will not return.

The Tree Inn Stratton, Bude
Review by Alice Hodges on 19 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

I have lived in many parts of the country,visited many Inns and I have found the "Tree Inn" to be the finest I have visited.You can always be sure of a warm welcome from the Semples and their staff. The food is superb, cooked to perfection and there is so much to eat that one is hard pressed to get through it!Locally sourced produce that is fresh. I go back there time after time. Their Sunday carveries are to die for! and one has to book to get in unless you are very lucky. I would recommend you try The Tree it's the best by far.

The Tree Inn Stratton, Bude
Review by Jane Moore on 19 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We ate in The Tree on Tuesday 12 July. The food was excellent. i had sardine fillets with herb and lemon butter and they were divine. Friendly staff and cosy atmosphere.Good value.

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Michael Chesterman on 12 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A warm and friendly welcome, reasonable selection of meals, good food - well presented and delicious. We will certainly make this a regular event.

Elements Cafe Bar / Italian Restaurant / Hotel, Bu
Review by Karen Fellows on 10 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Excellent meal on Sunday 3 July with my parents. Great as caters for mum who is in a wheelchair and was able to have a small portion of her favourites meatballs in spaghetti. Took some great photos of a wonderful sunset following wonderful meals including chicken cannelloni and crab in spaghetti. Thanks to staff for everything - a wonderful evening for us all.

The Bay View Inn, Bude
Review by Karen Fellows on 10 July 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Nice meal for my birthday but menu although good was a bit disappointing from when we visited a few years back as was missing a wonderful fillet steak dish. A lot of thought given to extension of the Inn but not given thought to disabled as no disabled toilet as we had a wheelchair person this was an inconvenience. Views from the Inn are fabulous and lots of space to sit outside on a warm day.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Karen Fellows on 10 July 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Wonderful meal on Monday 4 July. Second visit - first being during a weekend in March - and was equally as fabulous. Took my Dad who was delighted with his mussels followed by steak. For me you can't beat the scallops and pork belly starter followed by cod in procetta ham. My husband also thrilled with his meal - we can't wait till our next visit to Cornwall as it will certainly include a visit to Lifes A Beach and the wonderful views. Thank you to all the staff.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Summer Summer on 18 June 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Ppl like you get all the branis. I just get to say thanks for he answer.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Annie Herbert on 13 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had a table for 4 on Saturday night, 11th June 2011 and it was just perfect. The food looked and tasted amazing and the staff were friendly and worked really well as a team. We were a little unsure when we popped in during the day for a coffee but the evening sitting takes on a whole new persona. Would return again and again if only we were local. Well done to the owner
Annie

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Debora Milton on 6 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

absolutely fabulous place to eat in!!!lovely food,top service,very friendly and helpful and very reasonable priced food.lovely choice on the menu,made with love and care!!highly recommended,we will definately be goin back when we visit Bude next time!

The Old Wainhouse Inn, Bude
Review by Kate Pegg on 4 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This is the third time we've eaten here & never been disappointed. Great food, the steaks are fantastic & always cooked as requested. The kids meals are excellent & the staff & service cannot be faulted. We've recommended this pub to friends & will highly recommend it to others.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by John & Margaret Steele on 13 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Have you ever gone into a seaside cafe/bistro and wondered how they survive? I have, but this is certainly not the case with Urchins. As soon as you enter you get the impression that this bistro is cared about. It is clean, light, airy and extremely well and tastefully decorated. Andrew and Gary greet you as if you are old friends and treat you as such; nothing is too much trouble. The food is freshly prepared, well presented and very good value for money. Andrew and Gary are always interested in your opinions of Urchins and if there is any problem, strive to correct it. We will certainly be paying another visit when we return to Bude; it is THE place to eat.

Elements Cafe Bar / Italian Restaurant / Hotel, Bu
Review by Sara Zoeftig on 11 May 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I took my children to eat for my sons 7th Birthday and they loved it! We had such a great evening. The pizzas were lovely and I had the Calamari which were amazing. We'll definitely go again soon

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Richard and Julie Hirons on 9 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Having stayed around Bude a few times we always seem to be atrracted to Urchins Bistro .... This is due to the lovely staff and great food.
The staff are great and the availabilty of daily 'specials' only adds to the predicament of having to choose which meal to order ... all of which have always been a pleasure to eat !

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by john & jan davidge on 6 May 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

as a commercial kitchen installation / repair service manager i get to see and eat at a lot of very nice places. this is up there with the very best for servce and food, a clean charming atmosphere with an exceptional local beer, the service was very helpful and friendly we would highly reccomend this lovely bistro to all who visit Bude John & Jan Davidge Pontypool S.Wales

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Daphne Tappin on 30 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Best place to eat in Bude, whatever your taste. Highly recommended.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Beverley Haywood on 22 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fantastic place. The owners were friendly and helpful, willing to put themselves out for you - made you feel very welcome.
The food easily rated as the best - homemade and very delicious.
We had a great meal and great local beer.

Thanks

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by sharon brewer on 21 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Came down from London to visit family and took a trip to Bude for the day. In-Laws and 2 dogs in tow we were worried about finding somewhere to eat that we could take the dogs to. We found Urchins which served up the most delicious breakfast and Gary & Andrew were the best hosts ever. Doggy chews were provided at no extra cost. Will definitely be visiting Urchins again, excellent ambience, fab food and the best ever owners I have ever met

Hawkers Restaurant, Bude
Review by Kim Stephens on 14 April 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

A friendly restaurant with efficient staff. Very accomodating as to different diet requests.Felt very relaxed and comfortable.

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by JAYNE PARSONS on 16 February 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

went to the Bullers on 14th February 2011 for a valentines meal with my husband. menu choice was great and food and complimentary wine was lovely and to top it all of a musical accompaniment for the evening of romantic songs on the keyboard. would recommend again and again

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Jan Crofton on 27 January 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

visited here last week while on a 2 week training course in Bude. Meal was one of the best I have had, so yummy! There were 4 of us and the service was really good. Definately recommend - well done!

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Lisa Marshall on 23 January 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

It was our friends 50th birthday and 13 of us went to Urchins Bistro on Friday evening. The food was excellent and the service was also excellent, they added that extra personal touch. We all had a lovely evening and will definatly be going back again. Can i just add that they make the best lasagne in Bude.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Kay Bretherick on 22 January 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Absolutely lovely evening spent at Urchins. Food was absolutely fantastic, the service and atmosphere was 2nd to none. Chocolate pudding was 'to die for' everyone in the party thoroughly their food and the evening. Thank you, Andrew & Gary

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by beckie chirgwin on 22 January 2011
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

a group of us went to urchins last night for a 50th b/day party, the food was excellent, and service was good and friendly, i would certainly go back again for food there, i would thoroughly recommend the lamb shank, it was amazing!! thanks for the hospitality.

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Philip Sanderson on 19 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

This must be the best Indian Restaurant in the area. The food is always exceptional, and always very tasty.
The staff make you feel welcome from the moment you approach the door.
Value for money is very good, the prices are on a par with the other restaurants in the area, but the quality is the best.
I cant wait for the next time we go.

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by John Pring on 10 November 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Tasty meal, well served. Friendly helpful staff. Would eat there again.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by JENNY SIMMONS on 1 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Wonderful. I had dinner at the Castle twice, the week before last, when I was staying in Bude. I was on my own as my other half was on a business trip but did not feel at all uncomfortable. The food is exceptional and the set price menu at £19.50 is exceptional value. Can't wait to go again next time I'm in Bude.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by JENNY SIMMONS on 1 November 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

EXCELLENT. Visited Urchins the week before last for coffee and breakfast. Great food and great value. Shame they don't open in the evenings but understand why. Would recommend 100%. Hope to be back next year.

The Bush Inn, Bude
Review by Alison Theaker on 18 October 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Onwe of the best steaks I have ever eaten. The Bush prides itself on its local suppliers and well hung meat and this certainly proved to be the case with the sirloin I ate. Also, good to have it served on the rare side of medium rare, melt in the mouth meat. My partner's beef and ale pie also went down well. The restaurant was calm after the nurly burly in the bar. A bit understaffed so service a little erratic.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by kelly ,glyn and logan on 24 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Urchins is always our first stop on arriving in bude, we have eaten there on a number of occasions and the service is always first class. the staff are friendly and very welcoming. The food is expectional and well priced.The little touches such as childrens cutlery make it a wonderful place to eat for families.We highly recommend a visit and we will definatly be back there next season for breakfast !!!

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Heidi Haversham on 21 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Urchins is the pearl in the crown of Bude. Superb ingredients, well cooked and presented food. A charming ambiance, that included, even the newest of customers. Best bisto for miles and miles

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Rachel Brooks on 20 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

gary and andrew what good hosts ive had excellent food brilliant service what more can i say but im feeling very full an contented good luck for the future you both deserve it xxx

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Colin Heatley on 19 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I eat at the Castle as often as I can being a regular visitor to Bude .The location is magical and the service is superb but it is the food that makes it a must visit venue. The quality of ingredients and the excellent skills of the chef Kit Davis makes every dish a culinary delight. My particular favorites include starters such as scallops on cauliflower mash and deep fried poached egg on wild mushrooms and toast which is enough of a reason in itself to visit the restaurant. But main courses based on fine local produce such as local fish and steak continue the sublime dining experience. Unique desserts such as chili chocolate with lemon grass ice cream not only round off a wonderful meal but provide a never to be forgotten experience. All I can say is if get the chance go you won't regret it.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Angela Dunn on 16 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

They say Bude is out on a limb, but anyone who finds this little gem is in for a real treat. Overlooking the beach and breakwater it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a splended meal. You can see the chefs preparing the meal and everything is fresh and beautifully presented. Such good value 2 courses £10 or 3 courses for £15. Even if you want to pop in for a coffee, which is excellent and comes with wonderful home made caraway seed biscuits. Don't miss The Castle when next visiting Bude and wander round the Museum and gift shop at the same time.

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by caroline Mundy on 25 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic, a lovely warm welcome absolutly wonderful food, my self and the family would all recomend a visit you will not be disappointed, thankyou Gary and andrew keep it up we will definatly be back.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Judith Ann Telfer on 19 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A little gem where delicious food is served in a relaxed friendly atmosphere with a wonderful view over sand dunes to the sea. The produce is local, the menu small and changing daily, the herbs from the little patch outside on the cliff top. We love it!

Urchins Bistro, Bude
Review by Clare Child on 18 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a fantastic find this place was. It's open all day - we went several times in the evening during our holiday. You may want to get there earlish as you can't book and they've stopped serving by 9pm. The menu is varied and daily specials are available. The choice is quite extensive and good for all dietary preferences. The ribs are amazing as is the treacle sponge. We had some lovely meals here. The ambience is lovely, clean, nice and airy, quite a comtemporary feel to it, without being overpriced . The wine is fairly priced and the service is friendly. Food is freshly cooked so don't go expecting to be in and out quickly, it's not likely to happen. The waiting on staff were attentive and helpful and friendly. If you want to drink alcohol, take your ID because you may be asked for it. We are quite choosy and really enjoyed this place. We will definitely go back next year - enjoy!

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Alex Beale on 2 August 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had a fantastic meal with my family on the last day of our holiday in Cornwall, at the Bullers Arms Pub. Good food, excellent service and excellent local beer. Family friendly and very generous portions. I would recommend this pub to families on holiday in the area.

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Luke Wood on 30 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I've ate at this restaurant for the last 3 years while I've been down in Cornwall and the food is always 1st class. It's all homemade from local sources and cooked to perfection. The homemade lamb and pork pie was amazing and the deserts never disappoint. This is a must try!!

Elements Surf Hotel and Restaurant, Bude
Review by Jean Carruthers on 14 July 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Wonderful hotel, best food in North Cornwall and the most friendly and obliging staff.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Geoff King on 30 June 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I'm not normally taken to writing reviews but i felt that the meal we have just had merited a review. We have a small child - 9 months old - and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating towards all of us and couldn't have been more helpful with food for our young one (which believe me isn't always the case). We had the 3 course lunch for £15. This was outstanding value for money and as well as being excellent food. The "assiette of desserts" was incredible and a wise choice as all three were amazing.
The food, the excellent service/hospitality and the location means that this is well and truly on our radar....the only shame is that we live so far away! Thanks again to all there!

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Andy Banks on 7 May 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I booked this from afar knowing nothing about the area or the restaurant for a romantic meal with my partner on our week relaxing in Hartland. We were fortunate to be shown to the window table for 2 and the view and ambiance was second to none. The food was inspirational and we were also given extra sample dishes to taste and comment on - they were first class. Our main dishes were amongst the tastiest we've ever tasted. The sun set beautifully over the bay in front of us and we truly didn't want to leave. This restaurant is a true find and we couldn't praise the service, food, attention to detail and surroundings enough. We will definitely visit again and will encourage others to do so to.

Mirchi Indian Cuisine, Bude
Review by Mac Gunnoo on 12 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My family and I had dinner at the Mirchi Restaurant in Bude on 8th April 2010.
I rated the food from good to excellent. We should have asked for the food to be more spicy, but the taste was there.
I felt the service could improve a little although the waiters were nice and pleasant. We had to ask for a jug of tap water twice but they did not bring any glasses! So we had to ask for these.
The price was reasonable for a tourist area.
Thank you.
Mac Gunnoo
Ex Waiter/Head Waiter In Mauritius

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by steve and donna from luton on 30 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Delicious meal, plenty of it, a warm welcome and friendly service.
Highly recommend

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Ian Saltern on 14 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fine dining with excellent views. The food at The Castle is always fantastic - subtle tastes and wonderful ingredients - it never disappoints. The service is attentive but never overbearing and the range of local food (especially fish) makes The Castle one of the best places to eat in Cornwall. Luxury food at reasonable prices!

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Mrs Daniel on 4 December 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Food was fantastic, prices were reasonable, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room we ate in was clean and cosy, and had a lovely atmosphere.

Mirchi Indian Cuisine, Bude
Review by Rosanne Povewy on 11 November 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have been to this restaurant several times now and can safely say that it is the best Indian restaurant I have ever dined at. The food tastes freshly cooked with good ingredients and is well presented. The furnishings and decor are pleasant and the staff obliging.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by martyn chapman on 30 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

fabulous location and food to match. lovely buzzy atmosphere. good size portions, varied menu with plenty of choice provided you like all things fishy, which we did.

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Shaan Rahman on 22 September 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Humm...i exprenced one of the best night at Bude tandoori,specially the food was delacias its cook by mr khan(the owner)one of the best indian cook i have ever expirenced,the staff are just great,it was excellent and friendly service,i felt like i was in my own place,mr kahn himself came up to table and greed us...finally ooh that place was really gorgous for romantic dining....i wish them all the best,specially mr khan to keep up the excellent taste i loved it!!!

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Mr / mrs Hull on 30 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

One of the best indian curry house in cornwall.Staff are very friendly,excellent food

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Jill Silvester on 20 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent quality food.different variety of vegatables than usual, service was great. Would definately call again and recommend to others

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Vanessa on 1 August 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent pub food and restaurant - we have been returning here for the past 3 years and always had very good food and friendly service. We were in Marhamchurch for a week and ate there three times this year! Always very popular so you need to book.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Karen Darby on 30 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A superb restaurant in a great location. We had a delicious three course meal here in July, the service was great, the place itself calm & relaxing. You can see the food being prepared, and it was certainly worth every penny.

Bullers Arms Hotel, Bude
Review by Matthew Self on 29 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

It was very nice food good quality, on the back of the menu they tell you where they get their supplies from which is good, also recommened for familys


Matthew Self

Bude Tandoori Restaurant, Bude
Review by Margaret Slator on 19 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent new restaurant just opened in Bude. Four of us went there on Saturday, 18th July. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful, offering suggestions regarding the menu. The decor is pleasing and the tables spacious. The food was delicious and plenty of it. Highly recommend.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Anna Forster on 9 July 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have had many michelin star meals and this was quite easily as good as if not better. The food was fresh, excitingly tasty, tongue tingling delicous and very good value for money. A treat to be able to order and taste english wine too! If your within a 20 mile radius of Bude this is an absolute must to visit.

The London Inn, Bude
Review by mrs e breed on 27 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

excellent food and service .very friendly people

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Neil Davies on 25 May 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

looking for a fantastic location, a loveley service, and superb food, look no further than the Castle restaurant. Set in side the imposing castle at bude the restaurant boasts and open kitchen, you can watch the chefs create the works of art they place before you. From the limited but quality menu we selected the grilled ocean trout and the steak and goats cheese sandwich. simply devine, presented beautifully and so fantastically full of flavour. We decided to extend our meal with desserts, again, fab-tastic, chocolate brownie with blackcurrent sorba, and a eton mess, we had to share them both between us, we shall definatley call again.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Nicky Vereker on 23 April 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Pleasant ambience with lovely views over river and beach. Excelllent, often-changing menu features seasonal food with good variety of choice. Fish dishes particularly tasty and different. Last night we had a delicious "cappucino" of roast butternut squash with scallops, served in a coffee cup! Quite unusual, but well-judged flavour. Best quality in the area, and not expensive for the work and quality of ingredients that go into dishes.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Sue Lynn and Malcolm Pearce on 11 January 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have been promising ourselves a meal at The Castle for a while and last week we found time to enjoy the wonderful food and feel of the Castle. Kit and his staff are informative and friendly and the food devine! All at very reasonable prices. Well done folks we will be back!!

Elements Surf Hotel and Restaurant, Bude
Review by Stuart on 24 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever experienced. The menu is varied and changes regularly and usually includes something out of the ordinary. Great lively atmosphere.
How blessed Widemouth Bay is to have both Elements and The Brocksmoor Hotel.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Victoria Gould on 17 November 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have visited The Castle many times for morning coffee, lunch and dinner...I've never been disappointed. Always an exciting menu, delicious food and efficient but relaxed service. I'd fully recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting top quality fresh food, at a very reasonable price. Best restaurant around.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Hilary Preston on 3 October 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We have been here twice once last year to aleaving party for a member of my husbands staff the food was nice....but we came here a few weeks ago to a friends wedding and the food was even better, the staff friendly and attentive to customers needs...most enjoyable time....might consider for a works christmas do

Elements Surf Hotel and Restaurant, Bude
Review by Maralyn Bailey on 22 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent food & surroundings
the local fish dishes a real
triumph - we eat regularly locally
and would rate this venue as the best. Service was top rate too.
This is what eating in the UK should be all about. Congratulations. Would have no hesitation in giving a 5 star rating.

The Tree Inn Stratton, Bude
Review by W.Richards on 5 September 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We where at this hotel and restaurant weekending 16/8/2008 and found mein Host very pleasant polite courties and caring.Emma is the perfect hostes and I would like to thank here for making our weekend so happy .Nothing seems to be to much for this kind lady ,the food was excellent and ample , in fact more then one could eat.Thank you for a lovely weekend and for being such a good hostess I can recommend this Hotel very strongly.
Walter and Peggy Richards
Amesbury Wiltshire

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Pat Furr on 6 August 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We visited Life's a Beach last Wednesday for a family birthday meal. It had been recommended to me by the owner of the house we were all staying in just down the road. We had popped in during the day on the Monday, when it was just a beachside cafe. The transformation into a restaurant on the Wednesday night was incredible. The food, service and general ambience was excellent, and I cannot recommend Life's a Beach highly enough.

The Castle Restaurant, Bude
Review by Nicola Hyman on 25 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

A simply beautiful setting. Elegant room overlooking Summerleaze Beach and the famous Bude Canal. We watched the sun set over the surf while eating in this restaurant, with the chefs calmly and methodically working in the open kitchen behind us. My white bean and porcini mushroom soup was delicious, rich with porcini flavour and velvety smooth. My other starter in place of a main course were the most perfect scallops I have eaten in any restaurant. Still with the seasalt tang, tender as butter. My partner's generous helping of battered courgette flowers stuffed with ricotta was perfect, the batter golden and crisp. Courgettes grow in the restaurant kitchen garden, as near a garden to the sea I have seen. It is worth taking the children to this restaurant to see the amazingly colourful scarecrow to ward off the seagulls. My partner's pork cutlet on the most delicate, potatoey dauphinoisse was exceptional. No need for these Cornish potatoes to be swimming in tons of cream and butter. The roasted asparagus would have worked equally well, I thought, steamed. Following the chef's rosemary bread, and cheese topped Italian bread with the soup, we opted to share the most fragrant, vanilla-ey, custardy comforting creme brulee. A desert usually leaving me disappointed, this was to die for. Always a risk, the decaffinated cappuchino did not disappoint, the beans coming through without the usual decaff aftertaste. We reluctantly left the Castle restaurant with its late evening sea mist view, made more beautiful after sharing a bottle of Merlot, reasonably priced at £12.00, helped down with the restaurant's filtered aqua. Having visited Bude many times over the years, finally it has a restaurant which deserves the stunning seascape backdrop it overlooks. The staff were warm, friendly and efficient, discreet and courteous. It was a busy night but we did not have to wait any time between courses but were able to relax and enjoy the ambience in this restaurant which brings the outside sea air in!

The Tree Inn Stratton, Bude
Review by Glenn on 8 July 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is the place to eat!!! Food is excellent ....just make sure you book....once eaten you will be back for more !!

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by Jo Leedale on 20 April 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Visited the restaurant twice at lunchtime last week. Both times we were impressed with the choice on the menu, the enthusiasm of the staff and the great atmosphere. Simple lunchtime menu and speedy service despite being really busy. The chilli nachos were the best I've ever eaten. Definitely worth a visit and the view is fantastic from the deck seats.

Brendon Arms, Bude
Review by Richard Attenborough on 27 January 2008
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Stayed for a few days lat August on a visit from Spain. Really is a pleasant and welcoming pub. Excellent and varied food including breakfasts. Accommodation again excallent and well priced. Would strongly recommend the Brendon Arms

The Bay View Inn, Bude
Review by Mark Fellows on 4 December 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Dined at the Bay View after finding information via Tourist Board site after searching for recommended resturants in the Bude area. Menu looked fantastic so resturant was found and a table booked after discussions regards one of our party recquiring easy access due to disability, the staff were very amiable and accomodating. On the night the meal did not disappoint, the food was beautifully cooked and fantastically presented. We remarked that the fillet steak was the best we have had in this country. All the staff were very friendly, making the evening a wonderful experience. We can not wait to visit again. Thanks again.

The Bay View Inn, Bude
Review by Jayne Wynne on 9 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Enjoyed a wonderful meal at this restaurant, amazing views, great service and incredible food. Looks like a normal pub from the outside, but the menu is full of wonderful specialities. Will definitely be back when we are next in the area. Great for children, with bouncy castle and climbing frame outside. A real find!

The Bay View Inn, Bude
Review by Jan Taylor on 3 July 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

This is a lovely pub/restaurant to eat in, located in Widemouth Bay. Excellent choice of food, and the atmosphere and service very relaxed and good. We ate out two nights running, so definitely worth a visit!

Beach House Hotel, Bude
Review by Paul Deans on 20 June 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The steak and wine was excellent especially after eating fish all week

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by lewis janes on 29 April 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Spent both friday and saturday evening in LAB, have eaten there before and never been dissatisfied. I am a keen sea fisherman and as such eat fresh fish regularly, LAB is one of the best sea food restaurants ive eaten in in the uk.

Life's a Beach, Bude
Review by simon sims on 14 June 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Spent a week on holiday in Bude - but the meal we ate at Life's a Beach will never be forgotten because it was the best meal i have ever eaten in my entire life!

The Olive Tree, Bude
Review by Margaret Andrews on 25 May 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Being local don't often eat so close to home, but with friends over we walked the canal and ended up here - both ourselves and 'faithful companions' were warmly greeted - the service was good by pleasant staff - and the food tasty, nicely cooked, and NOT overpriced - will certainly visit again, and not afraid to recommend to anyone looking for good food.

The Olive Tree, Bude
Review by Carl Klingberg on 9 December 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I have not been to the restaurant yet, but if it is Lesley Wilkes and her son who runs it, I am sure it is a good one. I am a former visitor to Bude and i spent a wondeful summer there back in the sixties! Send my regards to her and let me know if she runs it or not! PS Her mother, Edna, was a formidable cook!

The Bay View Inn, Bude
Review by Lee Stanner on 28 September 2004
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Absolutely astonished at the quality of the meals. Looked just like any other pub in the area and were surprised to find "Fresh Cornish Mussels" & medallion of Beef Fillet, (along with many other choices) on a specials board. All cooked and presented to perfection. total cost of £16!! for 4 persons and a sea view worth the journey

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook