• Hi Life
Comodo SSL
Google UK Eat Out Marketing has been developed as a marketing support service of the highly successful on-line restaurant guide Eat Out Cornwall Cornwall Food Finder Taste Southeast Cornwall St Ives Food and Drink Festival Choose Cornish Cornwall Food and Drink Newquay Fish Festival Porthleven Food and Drink Festival

Restaurant Reviews in Bodmin

Send a Review - Win Some Bubbly!

If you'd like the opportunity of winning a Bottle of Polgoon Vineyard Raspberry Aval, then send us your review!

 

Send a review by using the link below!

 

Write a Review

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by gayle hollington wyatt on 13 June 2013
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

Our WI have recently been to the Welcome Stranger as you can imagine we are a rather discerning lot, fish and chips, bread and butter and a cup of tea all for £7.25 and more to the point it was delicious freshly cooked and served with a pleasant smile.
One of the party was a coeliac and,,,, they even have gluten free batter, the first time she had ever had fish with batter on.
good food , dood service , good price oh and the parking is easy

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by M Crow. on 1 June 2013
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We have been to the Welcome Stranger a number of times. The food is great and accommodates children well (though this shouldn't put single people off!)

Lakeview Country Club, Bodmin
Review by Miranda Leslie-Jones on 15 May 2013
Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0Rating: 0

Myself and my partner dined at Lakeview on a Saturday evening. The waiter was very friendly and through out the evening had a laugh and a joke which made it a nice atmosphire.
I had the duck salad which was absolutly delicious, infact the nicest duck salad i have ever tasted! There was a rather large table reserved in the other room and therefore we did have to wait longer than expected for our courses, also beacuse there was only 2 waiters on during the evening.
The main course that i ordered was the Ribeye steak which was cooked just how i liked it. The only thing wich was rather misleading was that on the menu the main courses do not include a choice of potato or veg, and so there was an additional cost of £2.50 for either chips or creamed potato etc, and then on top an additional £2.50 for seasonal vegetables or a salad.
Overall i enjoyed the meal (the two courses i had) And would go back again.
Thank you

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by Peter Bevan on 15 November 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

My wife has had Coeliac Disease 14 years which means she has to have gluten free food and trying to find Good Gluten Free Food is very Hard !!!! If you like Fish & Chips LOOK NO FURTHER The Welcome Stranger in Lanlivet has got the best you can get 15-11-2012 12-30 am

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by Sarah Reed on 14 October 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We were in Cornwall for a holiday and found the Welcome Stranger which serves gluten free fish and chips - as any coeliac will know GF fish and chips are hard to find! The manager takes a very serious approach to GF in his kitchen meaning we felt very safe eating there, plus it was delicious and the portions were a generous size! The staff were also very friendly. We will definitely be back and would recommend either eat in or take out to anyone looking for GF fish and chips as well as regular.

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by frankie zerilli on 13 October 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

the very best gluten free fish and chips in the world!! it was so tasty, not forgetting the amazing gluten free deserts ;) fantastic service all round great evening. will be back with the troops in tow for sure!

Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by Avril Ball on 21 June 2012
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

There is always a great welcome at Welcome Stranger as well as a great choice of foods for those requiring a gluten free menu. Lester, Carol and their staff fully understand the needs of a coeliac. It is such a treat being able to eat proper fish and chips again!

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Debbie Bouckley on 16 December 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

TIP TOP for all Coeliac requirements. We have 2 chippies closer to us (1 also being Gluten Free), but prefer to travel the extra distance for freshly prepared Gluten free FISH & CHIPS, well done to Lester and his friendly staff, for making us feel so Welcome - no longer a stranger!
See you all soon
regards Debs & Nigel (St Columb Rd)

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by john jo pearce on 17 August 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

A superb Fish n Chip restaurant, best we have ever been to. We would love to visit again when in Cornwall. I have not eaten battered fish for a long time due to ceoliac disease, so to find a place that caters for this by using a seperate fryer was amazing!!! Great, friendly staff!!!

Hole In The Wall, Bodmin
Review by Suzanne Squire on 29 June 2011
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

We had the most fantastic fish and chips. The batter was so crisp. The best fish we have ever tasted and the homemade hand cut chips were so crunchy. One of our party tried the Chilli which was amazing. Also I recommend trying the famous Hole In The Wall Chutney. It is out of this world. You can also buy a jar to take away. The landlord is very welcoming and offers you samples of his real ales to try. I would recommend any real ale drinker to drop in to the Hole In The Wall. Try the food and sample the real ales. What an amazing pub and full of memoribilia as it used to be the old debtors prison.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Anne Hassall on 18 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Fantastic! This was the first gluten free fish and chips my partner had eaten in 6 years.The restaurant even battered a banana so he could have a banana fritter! Outstanding service from all the staff, and always with a smile. Five gold stars, we shall definately be visiting again soon.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by The Andrew Family on 8 October 2010
Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5Rating: 5

Having lived only 5 miles from the Welcome Stranger for the last 18 years, we are only sorry we didn't try the food here sooner. We have been here for meals as a family 3 times in the last couple of months, and on each occasion the staff have been very friendly and welcoming, The atmosphere is great, with a good choice on the menu and specials board. Food is usually served quickly and so far we have thoroughly enjoyed every meal we have had here. We are sure we will continue to be regular visitors for a long time!

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by rebecca bowden on 25 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

What a warm friendly place with wonderful helpful staff. My illness requires a gluten and wheat free diet and i was not made to feel like it was incomvenient to fill my needs. In fact i didn't feel as if it was any trouble at all. We are organising to go back and take more of our friends

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by aileen on 24 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

We had occasion to visit Welcome Stranger Fish and Chip Shop in Lanivet on the 23rd Sep for my grandaughters birthday. The staff were very helpful when I told them I was Gluten free. When our meal arrived I was very impressed with the quality of the batter on my fish, for gluten free it was excellent. All of our meals were most enjoyable and my grandaughter was given a free ice cream as well because it was her birthday.. Thank you for a lovely meal and a friendly welcome. The name says it all!

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by David Stacey on 15 September 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

You can't beat going to the Welcome Stranger,for a fantastic Fish & Chip Meal and a joke with the staff.
Look foreward to my next visit.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Steve Conway on 10 April 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

I went to the Welcome Stranger with wife and daughter specifically for their gluten free fish and chips. Being deprived of such a meal for 10 months since being diagnosed with CD I was not disappointed. Lovely thin crispy batter - mmmm! Just call ahead and let them know when you will be arriving so they can fire up the GF frier. Place clean and staff friendly. Wife and daughter also enjoyed their fish and chips.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Malcolm Wilson on 16 March 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere and staff. Good traditional fish and chip meals and other alternatives. The Fish Pie is worth trying. Caters for Coeliacs - separate fryer for chips and lovely alternative batter - ensures that Coeliacs do not miss out on a traditional fish and chip meal. Telephone before arriving and the proprietors will 'fire up' the fryer.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Alan & Nancy Wilkinson on 25 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

The Best Fish and Chip Restaurant in Cornwall.Service with a smile and c'ant do enough to please *****

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Simon Smith on 22 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

My family and myself have been eating Mr & Mrs Bales fish and chips for many years now. We have travelled from Indian Queens to Illogan and now Lanivet to revel in, what we think are the best fish and chips in Cornwall. Always a pleasure to eat here. Thanks Carol, Lester and all the friendly staff.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by A. Walters on 1 February 2010
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great fish and chips. Pleasant service and family friendly.

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by Linda Arlidge on 24 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Great traditional fish and chips served in a friendly altmosphere. Our Halal eating guest was catered for with his meal seperately cooked in vegetable oil. Yummy chocolate and pear desert. Premises is Licensed, so enjoyed a bottle of wine

Welcome Stranger, Bodmin
Review by PETE WALTERS on 22 October 2009
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Fantastic! Lovely building and friendly staff who serve extremely tasty cod & chips. It's refreshing to have a good fish meal and not feel all greasy and bloated afterwards. Everytime I leave I am looking forward to my next excuse to return.

Nineteen Bistro, Bodmin
Review by Caroline Oliver on 19 November 2007
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Had a wonderful meal with excellent attentive service in a superb stteing with serene views accross the golf course. Will definatley return soon !

Old Inn and Restaurant, Bodmin
Review by Tom Muir on 5 June 2006
Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4Rating: 4

Excellent restaurant for families or couples. I would recommend it to anyone. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and professional.

Great stuff.

Find a Restaurant

Eat Out Cornwall
on Twitter

Eat Out Cornwall
on Facebook